High Obesity Program (2014 – 2018)

CDC funded 11 land grant universities to work with community extension services to increase access to healthier foods and safe and accessible places for physical activity in counties that have more than 40% of adults with obesity.

Infographic: Programs to Reduce Obesity in High Obesity Areas pdf icon[PDF-4.65MB]

List of High Obesity awardees by state, includes grantee profiles, fiscal year 2017 funding amounts, principal investigator names, and email addresses.
State Awardee Grantee Profiles FY2017 Funding Amount Principal Investigator Email Address
Alabama Auburn University pdf icon[PDF-683KB] $1,329,767 Barb Struempler struebj@aces.edu
Arkansas University of Arkansas, Fayetteville pdf icon[PDF-753KB] $880,928 Lisa Washburn lwashburn@uaex.edu
Georgia University of Georgia pdf icon[PDF-2.48MB] $615,543 Marsha Davis davism@uga.edu
Indiana Purdue University pdf icon[PDF-2.55MB] $573,672 Timothy Gavin gavin1@purdue.edu
Kentucky University of Kentucky pdf icon[PDF-628KB] $786,256 Ann Vail ann.vail@uky.edu
Louisiana Louisiana State University pdf icon[PDF-749KB] $1,013,567 Denise Holston DHolston@agcenter.lsu.edu
North Carolina North Carolina State University pdf icon[PDF-2.69MB]  $773,677 Anne Hardison-Moody amhardis@ncsu.edu
South Dakota South Dakota State University pdf icon[PDF-897KB] $1,072,400 Suzanne Stluka Suzanne.Stluka@sdstate.edu
Tennessee University of Tennessee pdf icon[PDF-655KB] $1,048,000 Laura Stephenson lsteph18@tennessee.edu
Texas Texas A&M University pdf icon[PDF-1.1MB] $1,005,477 Carol Rice crice@ag.tamu.edu
West Virginia West Virginia University pdf icon[PDF-689KB] $506,830 Cindy Fitch cindy.fitch@mail.wvu.edu