BSC Member Roster


James Wayne Le Duc, PhD, MSPH
Galveston National Laboratory
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX

Designated Federal Officer

Sarah Wiley, MPH
Senior Advisor
National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Virginia A. Caine, MD
Director and Chief Medical Officer
Marion County Public Health Department
Indianapolis, IN

Jeffrey S. Duchin, MD
Chief, Communicable Disease Epidemiology and Immunization Section Public Health – Seattle and King County
Professor of Medicine, Division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
University of Washington School of Medicine Seattle, WA

Ilhem Messaoudi, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics
College of Medicine
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY

Lauren A. Meyers, PhD
Professor – Departments of Integrative Biology and Statistics & Data Sciences
Director – UT COVID-19 Modeling Consortium
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX

Susan Sarah Philip, MD, MPH
Health Officer
City and County of San Francisco
San Francisco Department of Public Health
San Francisco CA

Jennifer L. Rakeman, PhD
Senior Director
Medical Affairs, Public Health Programs
Sunnyvale, CA

Emily R.M. Sydnor Spivak, MD, MHS
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Utah School of Medicine
Salt Lake City, UT

Tina Quanbee Tan, MD
Attending Physician
Division of Infectious Diseases
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Ex Officio Members

Debra Birnkrant, MD
Division of Antivirals
Office of Infectious Diseases
Center for Drug Evaluations and Research
Food and Drug Administration
Washington, DC

Emily Erbelding, MD, MPH
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Rockville, MD

Liaison Representatives

Christine Markham, PhD
CDC/HRSA Advisory Committee on HIV, Viral Hepatitis and STD Prevention and Treatment (CHAC)
Professor of Health Promotion and Behavioral Sciences
Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Research
The University of Texas School of Public Health
Houston, TX

Erica Shenoy, MD, PhD
Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee (HICPAC)
Associate Professor Harvard Medical School
Chief of Infection Control, Mass General Brigham
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Lynn Sosa-Bergeron, MD
Advisory Committee for the Elimination of Tuberculosis (ACET)
Medical Director, Tuberculosis and Sexually Transmitted Diseases Programs
Connecticut Department of Public Health
Hartford, CT

Appointment Pending
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices

Hugo López-Gatell Ramírez, MD, PhD
Secretariat of Health of Mexico
Deputy Secretary for Prevention and Health Promotion
Ciudad de México, MX

Donald Sheppard, MD
Public Health Agency of Canada
Vice President Infectious Diseases and Vaccination Programs Branch
Government of Canada
Ottawa, ON