Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Anderson - Leadership

Photo: Nancy L. Anderson, MMSc, MT(ASCP)

Nancy L. Anderson, MMSc, MT(ASCP)

Chief, Laboratory Practice and Standards Branch

Division of Laboratory Systems (DLS)

Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services

Office of Public Health Scientific Services

Nancy Anderson obtained her BS degree in biology from Houghton College and her Master of Medical Science (MMSc) degree in clinical microbiology from Emory University. After working as a Medical Technologist in several hospital laboratories and serving as the Coordinator for Emory University’s MMSc programs in the clinical laboratory sciences, she joined CDC and served for one year as a microbiologist in the Special Bacteriology Reference Laboratory at the CDC National Center for Infectious Diseases. In 1993, she moved to the CDC Division of Laboratory Systems, Laboratory Practice Standards Branch (LPSB), as a Health Scientist and in 2008, she became Chief of LPSB, which is now part of the Division of Laboratory Programs, Standards, and Services. In this capacity, she works closely with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and the Food and Drug Administration on CDC’s responsibilities related to the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) and the development of voluntary standards for laboratory quality.

Ms. Anderson is certified as a Medical Technologist by the American Society for Clinical Pathology and is a member of the American Society for Microbiology. She is active in the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute, where she is a member of the Consensus Committee on Microbiology and has participated on several Document Development committees, chairing the development of M50-A “Quality Control for Commercial Microbial Identification Systems.” She is a liaison to the CDC Infectious Diseases Laboratories CLIA Subcommittee and the Association for Public Health Laboratories’ Laboratory Science and Standards Committee.