Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

TB Notes Newsletter

(PDF - 1 MB)

No. 3, 2013

DTBE Winners of 2013 NCHHSTP Honor Awards

On Friday, July 19, 2013, CDC's NCHHSTP recognized the employees in its divisions for their valuable contributions. DTBE was well represented at the ceremony. Following are the DTBE recipients of these awards. (Please note: in several categories, the recipients included staff of other divisions as well; we have only included DTBE staff).

Excellence in Frontline Public Health Service - Domestic
Donato Ruggiero
For exemplary leadership to DTBE by filling multiple significant gaps during numerous staff reductions.

Excellence in Laboratory Research
Laboratory Branch and CDC Global Laboratory Activity
Lauren Cowan
Lois Diem
Denise Hartline
Dorothy Kaminski
Kim McCarthy
Beverly Metchock
Glenn Morlock
Bonnie Plikaytis
Jamie Posey
David Sikes
David Temporado
Sean Toney
For traveling to domestic and international laboratories affiliated with the Tuberculosis Trials Consortium sites, assessing procedures, and sharing knowledge and expertise to strengthen public health research collaboration.

Excellence in Program Delivery
NCHHSTP U.S.-Affiliated Pacific Islands Workgroup
Alstead Forbes
Andrew Heetderks
Angela Starks
For exemplary leadership and support to the U.S.-affiliated Pacific Islands through Program Collaboration and Service Integration.

Excellence in Public Health Protection Award
Sundari Mase
In the face of repeat shortages and other problems that hinder access to second-line drugs (SLD), Dr. Mase has led the medical operations team in DTBE in responding to the SLD shortages.

CDC Director’s Award for Efficiency
TB Outbreak Response Group
Sandy Althomsons
Lori Armstrong
Christopher Etchells
Tracie Gardner
Juliana Grant
Anne Marie France
Maryam Haddad
Carla Jeffries
Lauren Lambert
Lilia Manangan
Kiren Mitruka
Sapna Morris
Melissa Pagoa
Krista Powell
Courtney Yuen
For collaborative spirit and creation of an efficient outbreak response workforce.

Excellence in Human Capital Management – Employee Development (James Virgil Peavy Award)
NCHHSTP Workforce Development Champions Workgroup
Kathryn Koski
Linda Leary
For exceptional leadership and innovation in developing key workforce development and work-life balance initiatives.

Excellence in Information Technology
NCHHSTP ATLAS Steering Committee
Carla Jeffries
For exemplary leadership and innovation of NCHHSTP’s Atlas through Program Collaboration & Service Integration.

Excellence in Volunteer Service Award
Lee Ann Ramsey
For exemplary leadership and support of inclusion-based Girl Scouting.

CDC Director’s Award for Efficiency
NCHHSTP Policy Award for Center and Division Policy Leadership
Ann Cronin
For exemplary critical thinking and thoughtful analyses, vital to the successful implementation of NCHHSTP's programs.