Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

TB Notes Newsletter

(PDF - 1MB)

No. 2, 2012


News from the TB PEN Steering Committee

The TB Program Evaluation Network (TB PEN) Steering Committee (SC) is a diverse group of TB and evaluation professionals who represent the TB PEN membership. The group includes a representative sample from membership categories. The SC serves as a liaison between CDC’s DTBE and the program evaluation focal points in the federally funded TB jurisdictions.  The group 1) advises DTBE on national evaluation focus, 2) aids in building program evaluation capacity among focal points, and 3) assists in meeting focal point needs for evaluation tools, training, and technical assistance.

The 2012 TB PEN SC is composed of 19 members. Jason Cummins, TB Program Epidemiologist from Tennessee, serves as the chair for the committee and Marcee Mortensen, TB Health Educator and Refugee Health Program Representative from Utah, serves as the co-chair. In addition to the chair and co-chair, the following membership categories and members are represented:

Voting Membership
High-incidence state: Cheryl Kearns (New York; 2012–2013)
Medium-incidence state:  Sharon Sharnprapai (Massachusetts; 2011–2012)
Low-incidence state: Marcee Mortensen (Utah; 2012–2013)
Big city: Michelle Macaraig (New York City; 2011–2012)

The four members above were nominated and elected by voting members of the TB PEN, which include the program evaluation focal points, to serve as TB program representatives.

Organizational Membership
NTCA: Mary Goggin (Colorado; 2012–2013)
RTMCC: James Sederberg (Curry International TB Center; 2012)
TBESC/TRIP: Melissa Pagaoa (2012–2013)
TBTC: Beverly DeVoe Peyton (2012)
TB ETN: Peri Hopkins (2012–2013)
CDC/FSEB: Brandy Peterson (2011–2012)
Greg Andrews (2012–2013)
Regina Gore (2012-2013)

Organizational members are appointed to SC positions from within their respective agencies.

TB PEN Teams (Chair/Co-chair)
Technical Assistance: Leonard Mukasa (Arkansas; 2010–2012)
Tools: Ann Tyree (Texas; 2010–2012)
Communications: Phil Griffin (Kansas; 2010–2012)
Training: Jason Cummins (Tennessee; 2010–2012)
Implementation:  Vacant

The SC works to serve as the voice of the TB PEN and program evaluation focal points to DTBE. Members of the SC actively coordinate and facilitate the monthly TB PEN Focal Point Open Forum calls and routinely discuss the value of these calls during the monthly SC meetings.

Recently the group evaluated the efficacy of having defined teams. As a result, the SC approved a motion to dissolve the teams, and instead adopt the strategy of soliciting volunteers to work on clearly defined projects as the need arises. The motion and proposed changes to the TB PEN bylaws have been sent to the program evaluation focal points for a formal vote. Should the focal points approve the motion, the current SC structure will remain in place until January 2013.

The SC has also provided input to the National TB Indicators Project (NTIP) Workgroup on revisions to the indicators based on concerns raised by the program evaluation focal points. This is an important task and issue for the SC, as the focal points are the primary users of NTIP and the role of the SC is to ensure that their voices are heard.

The SC encourages all TB PEN members and program evaluation focal points to become involved in activities by volunteering to assist with a special project, serving on the TB ETN/TB PEN Conference Planning Committee, participating or presenting on the monthly Open Forum Calls, and/or attending the annual TB ETN/TB PEN Conference.

If you would like more information about the TB PEN SC or would like to get connected with the TB PEN, please email:
Jason Cummins or Marcee Mortensen or the TB PEN Mailbox.

—Submitted by Jason Cummins, MPH, TB PEN Chair, Tennessee Dept. of Health;
Marcee Mortensen, MPH, CHES, TB PEN Co-Chair, Utah Dept. of Health; and
Brandy L. Peterson, MPH, MCHES, Div. of TB Elimination

Top of Page


Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Division of Tuberculosis Elimination (DTBE)
    1600 Clifton Rd., NE
    MS E10
    Atlanta, GA 30333
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
  • Contact CDC–INFO The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #