Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

TB Notes Newsletter

(PDF - 1MB)

No. 1, 2012

2012 National TB Controllers Association Awards Open for Nominations!

This is the third year the National Tuberculosis Controllers Association (NTCA) will be honoring individuals or organizations for their dedication and distinguished service in the field of tuberculosis.  Nominations can be submitted by anyone and nominees do not need to be members of NTCA. The award categories are described below. Nomination forms must be submitted by April 2, 2012. The awards will be presented at the 2012 National TB Workshop, being held in Atlanta June 12–14. Submit nominations by e-mail to either of the NTCA Awards Committee Co-Chairs: Shea Rabley,, or Peter Davidson,

NTCA Award Categories:

TB Controller of the Year – This is the National Tuberculosis Controllers Association’s highest award.  It recognizes an outstanding contribution and impact on tuberculosis prevention and control at the local, state, regional, or national level. The award recognizes what TB controllers are all about.

NTCA Presidential Award – The current NTCA President selects the recipient of this award to acknowledge special accomplishments of an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the NTCA or the TB community.

Carol Pozsik Nursing Award – This award honors exemplary care, service, dedication, or leadership in the field of TB nursing.

William Stead Clinician Award – This award recognizes outstanding commitment and performance by a clinician providing tuberculosis care, leadership, or mentoring. 

Ed Desmond Award – This award honors exemplary service, dedication, or leadership to a tuberculosis laboratory professional.    

Robert Koch Award – This award recognizes an outstanding contribution with a clinical, epidemiological or academic focus by a tuberculosis researcher in the quest for eliminating tuberculosis. 

Dixie Snider Award – This award recognizes a CDC employee who has provided outstanding support, through partnership with a state or local tuberculosis community, in the interest of tuberculosis control and prevention.

Charles DeGraw Advocacy Award – This award recognizes an individual that has made an outstanding effort or achievement in advocating for increased support and recognition of tuberculosis control and prevention efforts.

Joe Ware Partner Service Award – This award recognizes an organization that has made a significant effort and/or contribution to the mission of tuberculosis control and prevention through advocacy and partner activities.

This form can be copied and used for nomination write-ups.

—Reported by Shea Rabley and Peter Davidson
NTCA Awards Committee Co-Chairs

Top of Page


Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Division of Tuberculosis Elimination (DTBE)
    1600 Clifton Rd., NE
    MS E10
    Atlanta, GA 30333
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
  • Contact CDC–INFO The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #