Skip directly to local search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Office of Extramural Programs (OEP)

male and female researcher performing an experiment

Training Programs

Training Project Grant Directors

The following is a list of Training Projects Grants supported by NIOSH at academic institutions that primarily provide single-discipline graduate training in the industrial hygiene, occupational medicine, occupational safety, and closely related occupational safety and health fields.

Industrial Hygiene Project Grants

University of Arizona
Jeffrey L. Burgess, MD
College of Public Health
1295 N. Martin Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85724
Phone: (520) 626-4918
Fax: (520) 626-8009
Email: jburgess@u.arizona.edu

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Fax: (978) 452-5711
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Julie Hart, PhD
Safety, Health and Industrial Hygiene
1300 W. Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
Phone: (406) 496-4792
Fax: (406) 496-4650
Email: JHart@mtech.edu

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Margaret L. Phillips, PhD
Occupational & Environmental Health
801 N.E. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73190
Phone: (405) 271-2070
Fax: (405) 271-1971
Email: margaret-phillips@ouhsc.edu

Purdue University
Frank S. Rosenthal, PhD
School of Health Sciences
Civil Engineering Bldg.
550 Stadium Mall Dr.
West Lafayette, IN 47907
Phone: (765) 494-0812
Fax: (317) 765-1377
Email: frank@purdue.edu                 

University of Puerto Rico
Sergio Caporali, PhD
School of Public Health
Medical Sciences Campus
P.O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936
Phone: (787) 758-2525, ext. 1438
Fax: (787) 758-6719
Email:  sergoi.caporali@upr.edu   

University of Toledo
Farhang Akbar, PhD
Department of Public Health
3015 Arlington Avenue
Toledo, OH 43614
Phone: (419) 383-4543
Fax: (419) 383-5880
Email: farhang.akbar@utoledo.edu

Tulane University
Roy Rando, PhD
Environmental Health Sciences
1440 Canal St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 988-3870
Fax: (504) 584-1726
Email: rando@tulane.edu

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-3693
Fax: (304) 293-2629
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Occupational Medicine Project Grants

Meharry Medical College
Sangita Chakrabarty, MD
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37208
Phone: (615) 321-2976
Fax: (615) 321-2979
Email: schakrabarty@mmc.edu

University of Pennsylvania
Judith McKenzie, MD
Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine
Ground Ravdin
3400 Spruce St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 662-2354
Fax: (215) 662-4430
Email: jmckenzi@mail.med.upenn.edu

University of Texas Health Center at Tyler
Jeffrey L. Levin, MD
Occupational Health Sciences
11937 U.S. Hwy. 271
Tyler, TX 75708
Phone: (903) 877-5900
Fax: (903) 877-7982
Email: jeffrey.levin@uthct.edu  

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-3693
Fax: (304) 293-2629
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Yale University
Carrie Redlich, MD
Occup. & Environ. Medicine Program
135 College St., 3rd Floor, Rm. 366
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: (203) 737-3495
Fax: (203) 785-7391
Email: carrie.redlich@yale.edu

Occupational Safety Project Grants

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Fax: (978) 452-5711
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

State University of New York at Buffalo
Victor L. Paquet, ScD
Dept. of Industrial Engineering
Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: (716) 645-2357
Fax: (716) 645-3302
Email: vpaquet@eng.buffalo.edu

Ohio State University
Carolyn M. Sommerich, PhD
Department of Industrial, Welding and Systems Engineering
1971 Neil Ave., 210 Baker Systems
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-9965
Fax: (614) 292-7852
Email: sommerich.1@osu.edu

Ohio University - Athens
Diana Schwerha, PhD
Industrial and Systems Engineering
278 Stocker Center
Athens, OH 45701
Phone: (740) 593-1577
Fax:  (740) 593-0778
Email: schwerha@ohio.edu

Texas A&M University
Mark Benden, PhD
School of Rural Public Health
1266 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 845-8773
Fax: (979) 845-0885
Email:   mbenden@srph.tamhsc.edu

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Maury Nussbaum, PhD
Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
250 Durham Hall (0118)
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0118
Phone: (540) 231-6053
Fax: (540) 231-3322
Email: nussbaum@vt.edu

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone:  (304)  293-3693
Fax: (304) 293-2629
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

University of Wisconsin-Stout
Elbert Sorrell, EdD
College of Tech., Engineering & Mgmt.
712 S. Broadway
P.O. Box 790
Menomonie, WI 54751
Phone: (715) 232-2630
Fax: (715) 232-5236
Email: sorrelle@uwstout.edu

Allied Occupational Safety and Health Project Grants

Alaska Marine Safety Educ. Assoc. (AMSEA)
Jerry Dzugan, MS
2924 Halibut Point Rd.
Sitka, AK 99835
Phone: (907) 747-3287
Fax: (907) 747-3259
Email: director@amsea.org

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)
Robert J. Harrison, MD
1010 Vermont Ave.
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (510) 620-5769
Fax: (510) 620-5743
Email: Robert.Harrison@CDPH.ca.gov

University of Connecticut
Vicki J. Magley, PhD
Department of Psychology
406 Babbidge Road
Storrs, CT 06030
Phone (860) 486-9010
Fax: (860) 486-2760
Email: vicki.magley@uconn.edu

Emory University
Paige Tolbert, PhD
Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: (404) 727-3801
Fax: (404) 727-8744
Email: ptolbert@sph.emory.edu

International Association of Firefighters (IAFF)
Elizabeth Harman, Program Director
1750 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 737-8484
Fax: (202) 783-4570
Email: eharman@iaff.org

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Fax: (978) 452-5711
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

Millersville University
Paul Specht, PhD
Occupational Safety and Environmental Health Program
40 E. Frederick St.
Osborne Hall
P.O. Box 1002
Millersville, PA 17551
Phone: (717) 872-3981
Fax: (717) 872-3318
Email: Paul.Specht@millersville.edu

Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Julie Hart, PhD
Safety, Health and Industrial Hygiene
1300 W. Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
Phone: (406) 496-4792
Fax: (406) 496-4650
Email: JHart@mtech.edu

Murray State University
Garry Morris, PhD
Dept. of Occupational Safety & Health
157 Industry & Technology Center
Murray, KY 42071
Phone: (270) 809-6654
Fax: (270) 809-3630
Email: gmorris1@murraystate.edu

University of North Alabama
Crescente E. Figueroa, PhD
Faculty Box 5211
Florence, Alabama 35632
Phone: (256) 765-4236
Fax: (256) 765-4958
Email: cefigueroa@una.edu

Portland State University
Leslie B. Hammer, PhD
Psychology Department
317 Cramer Hall
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
Phone: (503) 725-3971
Fax: (503) 725-3904
Email: hammerl@pdx.edu

Western Kentucky University
Emmanuel A. Iyiegbuniwe, PhD
Department of Public Health
1906 College Heights Blvd.
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101
Phone: (270) 745-5088
Fax: (270) 745-4211
Email: emmanuel.iyiegbuniwe@wku.edu

 

 

 
Contact Us:
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO