Skip directly to local search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Office of Extramural Programs (OEP)

male and female researcher performing an experiment

Training Programs

ERC Training Project Grant Directors

The following is a list of Training Projects Grants supported by NIOSH at academic institutions that primarily provide single-discipline graduate training in the industrial hygiene, occupational health nursing, occupational medicine, occupational safety, and closely related occupational safety and health fields.

Jerry Dzugan, MS
Alaska Marine Safety Educ. Assoc. (AMSEA) [OT-Marine Safety]
2924 Halibut Point Rd.
Sitka, AK 99835
(907) 747-3287
Fax: (907) 747-3259
Email: director@amsea.org

Jefferey L. Burgess, MD, MPH
College of Public Health
University of Arizona [IH]
1295 N. Martin Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85724
(520) 626-4918
Fax: (520) 626-8009
Email: jburgess@u.arizona.edu

Robert J. Harrison, MD, MPH
Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics [OSH}
1010 Vermont Ave.
Washington, DC 20005
(510) 620-5769
Fax: (510) 620-5743
Email: rharriso.dhs.ca.gov

Vicki J. Magley, PhD
Department of Psychology
University of Connecticut School [OT-OPSY]
406 Babbidge Road
Storrs, CT 06030
(860) 486-9010
Fax: 860) 486-2760
Email: vicki.magley@uconn.edu

Robert A. Henning, PhD
Dept. of Psychology
University of Connecticut [OT-OPSY]
406 Babbidge Road
Storrs, CT 06269
(860) 486-5918
Fax: (860) 486-2760
Email: robert.henning@uconn.edu

Paige Tolbert, PHD
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University [OEPI]
1518 Clifton Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-3801
Fax: (404) 727-8744
Email: ptolbert@sph.emory.edu

Patrick J. Morrison, Program Director
International Association of Firefighters
1750 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 737-8484
Fax: (202) 747-3259
Email: pmorrison@iaff.org

Robert H. McKnight, MPH, ScD
College of Public Health
University of Kentucky [OT-AGR]
1141 Red Mile Road
Lexington, KY 40504
(859) 323-6836
Fax: (859) 254-3760
Email: rmcknig@uky.edu

Rafael Moure-Eraso, PhD, CIH
Dept. of Work Environment
University of Massachusetts, Lowell [IH/OS/OEPI/WEP]
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
(978) 934-3271
Fax: (978) 452-5711
Email: Rafael_MoureEraso@uml.edu

Sangita Chakrabarty, MD
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine
Meharry Medical College [OM]
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37208
(615) 321-2976
Fax: (615) 321-2979
Email: schakrabarty@mmc.edu

Daniel H. Anna, PhD
Occupational Safety and Environmental Health Program
Millersville University [OSH]
40 E. Frederick St.
Osborne Hall
P.O. Box 1002
Millersville, PA 17551
(717) 872-3334
Fax: (717) 872-3318
Email: dan.anna@millersville.edu

Roger C. Jensen, PhD
Safety, Health and Industrial Hygiene
Montana Tech of the University of Montana [OSH/IH]
1300 W. Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
(406) 496-4111
Fax: (406) 496-4650
Email: rjensen@mtech.edu

David G. Kraemer, PhD
Dept. of Occupational Safety & Health
Murray State University [OSH]
157 Industry & Technology Center
Murray, KY 42071
(270) 809-6654
Fax: (270) 809-3630
Email: david.kraemer@murraystate.edu

Crescente E. Figueroa, PhD
University of North Alabama [IH]
Faculty Box 5211
Florence. Alabama 35632
(256) 765-4236
Fax: (256) 765-4958
Email: cefigueroa@una.edu

Carolyn M. Sommerich, PhD
Department of Industrial, Welding and Systems Engineering
Ohio State University [OS]
1971 Neil Ave., 210 Baker Systems
Columbus, OH 43210
phone: 614-292-9965
Fax: 614-292-7852
Email: sommerich.1@osu.edu

Margaret L. Phillips, PhD
Occupational & Environmental Health
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center [IH]
801 N.E. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73190
(405) 271-2070
Fax: (405) 271-1971
Email: margaret-phillips@ouhsc.edu

JOSEPH I BOULLATA, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Biobehavioral & Health Sciences (Faculty)
School of Nursing
University of Pennsylvania [OHN]
Room 141 Fagin Hall
418 Curie Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4217
215-573-7387
Fax: (215) 573-7507
Email: boullata@nursing.upenn.edu

Edward A. Emmett, MB, BS
Occupational Medicine, School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania [OM]
3400 Spruce St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
(215) 349-5708
Fax: (215) 662-4430
Email: emmetted@mail.med.upenn.edu

Leslie B. Hammer, PhD
Psychology Department
Portland State University [OT/OPSY]
317 Cramer Hall
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
(503) 725-3971
Fax: (503) 725-3904
Email: hammerl@pdx.edu

Jesus Gonzalez, PhD
School of Public Health
University of Puerto Rico [IH]
Medical Sciences Campus
P.O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936
(787) 758-2525, ext. 1437
Fax: (787) 758-6719
Email: jesus.gonzalez9@upr.edu

Frank S. Rosenthal, PhD
School of Health Sciences
Purdue University [IH]
Civil Engineering Bldg.
550 Stadium Mall Dr.
West Lafayette, IN 47907
(765) 494-0812
Fax: (317) 765-1377
Email: frank@purdue.edu

Victor L. Paquet, ScD
Dept. of Industrial Engineering
SUNY Buffalo [OSH]
Buffalo, NY 14260
(716) 645-2357
Fax: (716) 645-3302
Email: vpaquet@eng.buffalo.edu

Jerome J. Congleton, PhD, PE, CPE
School of Rural Public Health
Texas A&M University [OSH] 1266 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
(979) 845-5574
Fax: (979) 690-0022
Email: jjcongleton@srph.tamhsc.edu

Jeffrey L. Levin, MD, MSPH
Occupational Health Sciences
University of Texas Health Center at Tyler [OM]
11937 U.S. Hwy. 271
Tyler, TX 75708
(903) 877-5900
Fax: (903) 877-7982
Email: jeffrey.levin@uthct.edu

Farhang Akbar, PhD, CIH, CSP
Department of Public Health
University of Toledo [IH]
3015 Arlington Avenue
Toledo, OH 43614
(419) 383-4543
Fax: (419) 383-5880
Email: farhang.akbar@utoledo.edu

Faye Grimsley, PhD
Environmental Health Sciences
Tulane Univ. Health Sciences Center [IH]
1440 Canal St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 988-8262
Fax: (504) 584-1726
Email: grimsley@tulane.edu

Maury Nussbaum, PhD
Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [OS]
250 Durham Hall (0118)
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0118
(540) 231-6053
Fax: (540) 231-3322
Email: nussbaum@vt.edu

Chris Martin, MD, MS
Institute for Occup. & Envir. Health
West Virginia University [OM/OS/IH]
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
(304) 293-3693
Fax: (304) 293-2629
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Elbert Sorrell, EdD
College of Tech., Engineering & Mgmt.
University of Wisconsin-Stout [OS]
712 S. Broadway
P.O. Box 790
Menomonie, WI 54751
(715) 232-2630
Fax: (715) 232-5236
Email: sorrelle@uwstout.edu

Oyebode A. Taiwo, MD
Occup. & Environ. Medicine Program
Yale University [OM]
135 College St., 3rd Floor, Rm. 366
New Haven, CT 06510
(203) 785-7231
Fax: (203) 785-7391
Email: oyebode.taiwo@yale.edu

 
Contact Us:
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO