Summary of Recommendations for Children with Confirmed Blood Lead Levels APPENDIX G

Screening, Diagnosis and Management of Lead Toxicity in Children*,**
ALL CHILDREN LIVING IN PENNSYLVANIA SHOULD HAVE BLOOD LEAD LEVEL
TESTING AT ONE AND TWO YEARS OF AGE, AT THE MINIMUM (1)(2)
Blood Lead Level

(BLL) (pg/dL) Medical Intervention Other Actions
« Parent education about exposure pre-
0-9 » Recheck BLL at age 2 years vention
(Class I) ¢ Discuss & assess the possible sources
of lead

s Nutritional counseling for adequate iron
and calcium intake
Labs required to report (4)

10-14 . Confirm capillary with venous; Re- * As above AND labs required to report (4)
(Class IIA) check venous BLL within 3 months
(1, 3) :
s ' Recheck venous BLL within 1-3 e As above AND labs and health care pro-
15 -19 " _months (1, 3) - , viders required to report to local and
i : Pennsylvania departments of health (4)

-+ (Class IIB)

R N it : for case management, lead hazard re- -
3 : : * duction, and follow-up " .~~~

: Sym;iibniatic With or Without Acute Proceed as Class V patients, regardiess of BLL
Lead Encephalopathy

1. All elevated capillary BLLs should be confirmed by a venous sample.

2. Older children up to age 6 who were never screened for BLL should be screened.

3. Frequency of further testing depends on the recheck results and the upward or downward trend in BLL results. Fairly fre-
quent follow-up testing is recommended by CDC for cases under clinical management until the exposure to lead hazards is
resolved, and BLL have stabilized; at which point less frequent testing is recommended.

4, For state reporting, all laboratories are required to: report electronically through NEDSS all lead levels in Pennsylvania chil-
dren up to age 16 years and venous lead levels of 25 ug/dL or higher in persons 16 years and older. Health care providers
are required to: report electronically through NEDSS all cases they treat for lead poisoning (a lead level of 20 ug/dL or higher
or 2 or more venous levels of 15-19 ;g/dL drawn at least 3 months apart) in persons under age 16 years and pregnant
women. To register for NEDSS reporting call 717-772-8797 or email PA-NEDSS@state.pa.us. Check local statutes for local
reporting requirements in your county or city.

5. Succimer (Chemet) is FDA approved for BLLs of 45 and higher. Although not routinely recommended for BLL of 25-44, pro-
viders may consider its use, particularly at the higher end of the range. Consult AAP & CDC recommendations.10mg/
kg/dose (350 mg/m2/dose) g. 8 hours x 5 days and then q. 12 hrs for 14 days. Foul smell may compromise compliance.

6. CaNa2EDTA (Versenate), 1000 mg/m2/day (or 25mg/kg/day) x 5 days < 0.5% in D5W or NS, continuous infusion or, in
divided doses. Allow 5 to 7 medication free days if additional treatment is required (BLL staying > 45)

7. Start with BAL (Dimercaprol) 75 mg/m2/dose q. 4 hrs IM (450mg/m2/day) (or 25mag/ka/day). After 4 hours and when a
good urine flow is established, start CaNa2EDTA, 1500mg/m2/day (or
50mg/kg/day) < 0.5% solution in D5W or NS X 5 days. BAL should be given for a 3-5 day course.

8. Another course of BAL-EDTA if BLL rebounds to > 70. CaNa2EDTA or succimer only if > 45 and <70.

* Prepared by the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (CLPPP) of the Pennsylvania Department of Health, based on the recommen-

dations of CDC, AAP & the Pennsylvania Lead Elimination Plan Workgroup. Consult these reports (CDC and AAP) and the manufacturers’

.information about the precautions required in administration of specific medications listed in this chart. Local health jurisdictions may issue

more stringent recommendations, which should be followed. The above are recommendations only; a health care provider may choose to do

lead screening more frequently than recommended.

** For information and con:*iltation, call Pennsylvania Lead Information Line (LIL) at 1-800-440-LEAD & for after hours emergencies call the

Poison Control Center at (215) 590-2100 (Philadelphia area) or 1-800-222-1222 (Pittsburgh area).




