Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Members of the Advisory Committee on Breast Cancer in Young Women

  • Chair: Ann H. Partridge, M.D., M.P.H.
    Dr. Partridge serves as Director of the Adult Survivorship Program and founder and director of the Program for Young Women with Breast Cancer at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. She is a medical oncologist focusing on the care of women with breast cancer, and has a particular interest in the psychosocial, behavioral, and communication issues in breast cancer care and treatment. Her research has, in part, focused on the care and treatment of young women living with breast cancer.
  • Raquel D. Arias, M.D.
    Dr. Arias is an Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Keck School of Medicine and Clinical Associate Professor of Gerontology at the University of Southern California (USC). She also serves as Associate Dean for Educational Affairs and for Admissions at the Keck School of Medicine, Santa Cruz, and completed course work for her M.P.H. at the University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Arias served in the National Health Service Corps in Merced, California. She has been both Associate Director and Director of the Breast Diagnostic Center at LAC/USC Medical Center.
  • Ulrike Boehmer, Ph.D.
    Dr. Ulrike Boehmer is currently an Associate Professor in the Community Health Sciences Department at Boston University School of Public Health. Her research focuses on cancer survivorship and sexual orientation disparities among underserved women. Dr. Boehmer also serves as a member of the Technical Advisory Council for Mautner Project: The National Lesbian Health Organization, Washington, DC.
  • Otis W. Brawley, M.D., FACP
    Dr. Brawley is the Chief Medical Officer for the American Cancer Society, and a practicing oncologist. He served as the Professor of Hematology and Oncology and Epidemiology at Emory University, as Medical Director of the Georgia Cancer Center for Excellence at Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, and as Deputy Director for Cancer Control at Winship Cancer Institute at Emory University.
  • Sue Friedman, D.V.M.
    After being diagnosed with breast cancer at age 33 and subsequently learning that she carried a BRCA gene mutation, Dr. Friedman founded the national organization Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered (FORCE) to address the need for credible information, support, resources, and advocacy for people and families affected by hereditary breast and ovarian cancer. In 2002, she left her veterinary career to focus full-time on FORCE. Dr. Friedman developed and directs all FORCE educational, support, and advocacy programs. Dr. Friedman has over a decade of experience addressing the unique needs of these women.
  • Generosa Grana, M.D., FACP
    Dr. Grana is Director of the Cooper Cancer Institute, Head of the Division of Hematology/Medical Oncology at Cooper University Hospital, and an associate professor of medicine at the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. She focuses her clinical practice, community education efforts, and research on breast cancer, cancer and genetics, and cancer prevention.
  • Susan E. Kutner, M.D.
    Dr. Kutner has been a general surgeon with a subspecialty practice in breast surgery at the Kaiser Permanente San Jose Medical Center since 1984. From 1996 to 2001, she was Chief of the Department of Surgery. Since 1995, Dr. Kutner has served as Chair of the Kaiser Permanente Northern California Breast Care Task Force. She is also Chair of the Kaiser Permanente Interregional Breast Care Leaders Group. She works as a clinical consultant with the Northern California Kaiser Division of Research on a number of breast cancer-related projects.
  • Brandon Hayes-Lattin, M.D.
    Dr. Hayes-Lattin is the Medical Director of the Knight Cancer Institute Adolescent and Young Adult Oncology Program at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU). Dr. Hayes-Lattin is a leader in developing the new discipline of adolescent and young adult (AYA) oncology. He is the first medical co-chair of the Lance Armstrong Foundation’s LIVESTRONG Young Adult Alliance and a member of the National Cancer Institute’s Adolescent and Young Adult Oncology Progress Review Group.
  • Karen Kelly Thomas, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN
    Dr. Kelly Thomas is CEO of Kelly Thomas Associates. She is an experienced nurse executive and immediate past CEO of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP), a professional society of almost 7,500 professionals dedicated to promoting optimal health for children through leadership, practice, advocacy, education, and research.
  • Karen Meneses, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN
    Dr. Meneses is Professor and Associate Dean for Research in the School of Nursing at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), and Co-Leader of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program at UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center. Her research focus is cancer survivorship and interventions to improve quality of life in cancer survivors and their families including young women with breast cancer. She was director of the Fertility and Cancer Project, a Web-based support and education program aimed at young breast cancer survivors having fertility concerns after treatment.
  • Lisa A. Newman, M.D., M.P.H., FACS
    Dr. Newman is a surgical oncologist, associate professor of surgery, and the Director of the Breast Care Center for the University of Michigan. Prior to assuming her position at the University of Michigan, Dr. Newman served as Assistant Professor of Surgery at the MD Anderson Cancer Center with a full-time commitment to research and clinical practice in the surgical breast section, and was Associate Director for the Walt Breast Center at Wayne State University for two years.
  • Rochelle L. Shoretz, J.D.
    Ms. Shoretz is the founder and Executive Director of Sharsheret, a national organization of cancer survivors dedicated to addressing the unique concerns of young Jewish women facing breast cancer. Ms. Shoretz, a two-time breast cancer survivor, founded Sharsheret in 2001 to connect young Jewish women fighting breast cancer, following her own diagnosis at age 28.
  • Jeanne L. Steiner, D.O.
    Dr. Steiner is an associate professor at Yale University School of Medicine. She serves as the Medical Director of the Connecticut Mental Health Center (CMHC), where she oversees programs in quality improvement, clinical risk management, and medical staff affairs. She is involved in initiatives to improve the health of individuals with serious mental illness who are served by the center and throughout the public system in Connecticut.
  • Donald Warne, M.D., M.P.H.
    Dr. Warne is the Associate Professor and Director of the Master of Public Health Program at North Dakota State University and the Senior Policy Advisor to the Great Plains Tribal Chairmen’s Health Board. In addition, he is an adjunct clinical professor at the Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law where he teaches American Indian Health Policy. He is a former President of the Board of the Native American Community Health Center, Inc., and President and CEO of the American Indian Health Management and Policy, Inc. (AIHMP).

Liaison Representative Organizations