Workgroup to Improve Clinical Care of Youth with Mild TBI

Appropriate diagnosis and management of children and teens with mild traumatic brain injury (TBI), including concussion, can help safeguard the health of young Americans. While clinical guidelines are available for adults with mild TBI, there is no current U.S. guideline to help clinicians care for children and teens with mild TBI. And with the numbers of children and teens in the U.S. seeking care for mild TBI continuing to increase markedly, this guideline is needed.

To provide leadership in this area, CDC Injury Center’s Board of Scientific Counselors established the Pediatric Mild Traumatic Brain Injury Guideline Workgroup. Comprised of leading experts in the field of TBI, the workgroup will create a clinical guideline for use in doctor’s offices and emergency departments.

Clinical guidelines, such as this, help CDC’s Injury Center put science into action to help improve the care of children and teens with mild TBI that occur both on and off the sports field.


Workgroup Members and Ad-hoc Experts

  • Andrew Gregory, MD
  • Angela Lumba-Brown, MD
  • Anne Mucha, PT, DPT, MS, NCS
  • Barbara Holshouser, PhD
  • Barbara Weissman, MD
  • Catherine Broomand, PhD, ABPP-CN
  • Christopher Giza, MD
  • Cindy W. Christian, MD
  • David Paulk, EdD, PA-C
  • David Wright, MD
  • Deena Brecher, RN
  • Ed Benzel, MD
  • Gerard A. Gioia, PhD
  • H. Gerry Taylor, PhD
  • Heather Keenan, MDCM, PhD
  • James M. Callahan, MD
  • John DeWitt PT, DPT, SCS, ATC
  • John Ragheb, MD
  • Karen McAvoy, PhD
  • Katrina Altenhofen, MPH, PS
  • Kevin Guskiewicz, PhD, ATC
  • Keith Yeates, PhD
  • Linda Ewing-Cobbs, PhD
  • Madeline Joseph, MD
  • Margot Putukian, MD
  • Marilyn Noettl, MS, RN
  • Mark Halstead, MD
  • Meeryo Choe, MD
  • Michael Collins, MD
  • Michael Kirkwood, PhD, ABBPP/Cn
  • Michael Turner, MD
  • Patricia Raksin, MD
  • Richard G. Ellenbogen, MD
  • Rosemarie Scolaro Moser, PhD, ABN, ABPP-RP
  • Shari Wade, PhD
  • Shelly Timmons, MD
  • Stacy Suskauer, MD
  • Stanley A. Herring, MD
  • T.J. Spinks, MD
  • Theodore Ganiats, MD
  • Tina Duhaime, MD
  • Wayne A. Gordon, PhD, ABPP/Cn

Federal representatives: