Eligibility Criteria

Component A: Ending the HIV Epidemic Initiative (EHE) – Required Core Component

Eligible applicants include state, local, and territorial health departments or their Bona Fide Agents identified in Phase 1 of the Ending the HIV Epidemic (EHE) Initiative and that have a current direct funding relationship with CDC. Eligibility for funding to implement the above described program is contingent upon the existence of a comprehensive EHE plan.

The Ending the HIV Epidemic: A Plan for America is a new initiative announced by the President in February 2019. The Phase 1 jurisdictions represent more than 50% of new HIV diagnoses in only 48 counties, Washington, DC, and San Juan Puerto Rico. In addition, seven (7) states have a substantial rural burden with over 75 cases and 10% or more of the diagnoses in rural areas.

Eligible Phase I jurisdictions and corresponding CDC funded health department
Eligible Phase I jurisdictions and corresponding CDC funded health department
Phase 1 State or County Eligible Entity
Alabama Alabama Health Department
Arkansas Arkansas Health Department
Maricopa County Arizona Health Department
Los Angeles County Los Angeles County Health Department
San Francisco County San Francisco Health Department
Alameda County California Health Department
Orange County California Health Department
Riverside County California Health Department
Sacramento County California Health Department
San Bernardino County California Health Department
San Diego County California Health Department
Broward County Florida Health Department
Duval County Florida Health Department
Hillsborough County Florida Health Department
Miami-Dade County Florida Health Department
Orange County Florida Health Department
Palm Beach County Florida Health Department
Pinellas County Florida Health Department
Cobb County Georgia Health Department
DeKalb County Georgia Health Department
Fulton County Georgia Health Department
Gwinnett County Georgia Health Department
Cook County City of Chicago Health Department
Marion County Indiana Health Department
Kentucky Kentucky Health Department
East Baton Rouge Parish Louisiana Health Department
Orleans Parish Louisiana Health Department
Baltimore City Baltimore City Health Department
Montgomery County Maryland Health Department
Prince George’s County Maryland Health Department
Suffolk County Massachusetts Health Department
Wayne County Michigan Health Department
Mississippi Mississippi Health Department
Missouri Missouri Health Department
Clark County Nevada Health Department
New Jersey
Essex County New Jersey Health Department
Hudson County New Jersey Health Department
New York
Bronx County New York City Health Department
Kings County New York City Health Department
New York County New York City Health Department
Queens County New York City Health Department
North Carolina
Mecklenburg County North Carolina Health Department
Cuyahoga County Ohio Health Department
Franklin County Ohio Health Department
Hamilton County Ohio Health Department
Oklahoma Oklahoma Department of Health
Philadelphia County City of Philadelphia Health Department
South Carolina South Carolina Health Department
Shelby County Tennessee Health Department
Harris County Houston Health Department
Bexar County Texas Health Department
Dallas County Texas Health Department
Tarrant County Texas Health Department
Travis County Texas Health Department
King County Washington State Health Department
Washington, DC District of Columbia Health Department
Puerto Rico
San Juan Municipio Puerto Rico Territorial Health Department

Jurisdictions with both eligible state and local (city or county) health departments listed in the table above must collaborate on and discuss: (1) the proposed program approach being implemented by the state and local health departments, (2) how the state and local area will collaborate during the project period to ensure appropriate provision of services and document any agreements reached in a letter of agreement/letter of concurrence (LOA/LOC), which must be submitted by both parties as part of their application; and (3) ensure that fiduciary arrangements specify that the funding resources are directed towards the Phase 1 local county, as appropriate.

Component B: HIV Incidence Surveillance (Optional)- Beginning in Year 2

Eligible recipients have to meet the following criteria:

  • Ending the HIV Epidemic geographic focus area with > 300 new HIV diagnoses annually
  • Reliable incidence estimates from the CD4-based model
  • Previous success in implementing recency assay-based HIV Incidence Surveillance
  • Based on the above criteria, the following eight recipients are eligible for voluntary participation:
Eligible Phase 1 Health Department Jurisdictions
Eligible Phase 1 Health Department Jurisdictions
Alabama Florida Michigan South Carolina
District of Columbia Houston New York City Texas

Component C: Scaling Up HIV Prevention Services in STD Clinics (Optional)

Only jurisdictions eligible for Component A of this NOFO, PS20-2010, can apply for Component C. Applicants must demonstrate that the proposed STD specialty clinic has the following services available onsite: STAT syphilis test, microscope for STAT Gram stain/Methylene Blue/Gentian Violet and wet mount, gonorrhea culture capacity, and medications on site including Benzathine Penicillin LA and ceftriaxone.