Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Meningococcal Vaccination

Pronounced (muh-nin-jo-cok-ul)

Meningococcal vaccination

Meningococcal vaccines are now available that help protect against all three serogroups of meningococcal disease that are most commonly seen in the United States (serogroups B, C and Y), but they will not prevent all cases. There are three kinds of meningococcal vaccines available in the United States:

  • Meningococcal conjugate vaccines (Menactra®, MenHibrix® and Menveo®)
  • Meningococcal polysaccharide vaccine (Menomune®)
  • Serogroup B meningococcal vaccines (Bexsero® and Trumenba®)

View the table below to learn which meningococcal serogroups are covered by each vaccine.

Trade name Type of Vaccine Meningococcal Serogroups Covered
Bexsero® Recombinant B
Menactra® Conjugate A, C, W, Y
MenHibrix® Conjugate C, Y (and Haemophilus influenzae type b [Hib])
Menomune® Polysaccharide A, C, W, Y
Menveo® Conjugate A, C, W, Y
Trumenba® Recombinant B