About the Division of HIV Prevention

Most of CDC’s HIV prevention efforts are the responsibility of the Office of Infectious Diseases National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP). Within this Center is the Division of HIV Prevention (DHP), charged with the mission of preventing HIV infection and reducing HIV-related illness and death.

On October 1, 2021, the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention (DHAP) became the Division of HIV Prevention (DHP). This updated title reflects the division’s focus on high impact prevention of HIV—by preventing new HIV infections, improving health outcomes for persons with HIV, and reducing HIV-related disparities and health inequities. In addition to the title change, October 1, 2021 marks DHP’s shift into a refreshed organizational structure. As part of the process, the division considered its existing strengths and opportunities to enhance how it is organized to optimally deliver its core scientific and programmatic activities. The resulting organizational structure aims to foster enhanced collaboration between scientific and programmatic activities to drive meaningful, lasting change in communities affected by HIV. With its new structure, DHP is positioned to adapt to innovations in HIV prevention and continue to accelerate progress towards achieving the goals of the Ending the HIV Epidemic in the U.S. Initiative.

Office of the Director

  • Division Director: Robyn Neblett Fanfair, MD, MPH (Captain, USPHS)
  • Principal Deputy Director: Vacant
  • Deputy Director for Program Management and Operations: Renáta Ellington, PhD
  • Chief Medical Officer: John Brooks, MD
  • Associate Director, Office of Health Equity: Kirk D. Henny, PhD, MA
  • Associate Director, Office of Informatics and Data Management: Ninad Mishra, MD, MSHI
  • Associate Director, Office of Performance Improvement: Stacy Cohen, MPH (Acting)
  • Associate Director, Office of Policy, Planning, Partnerships, and Communications: Vacant
  • Associate Director, Office of Science: Cari Courtenay-Quirk, PhD


  • Branch Chief, Behavioral and Clinical Surveillance Branch: Buzz Prejean, PhD
  • Branch Chief, Detection and Response Branch: Alexa Oster, MD
  • Branch Chief, HIV Prevention Capacity Development Branch: Rhondette Jones Nickson, MPH (Acting)
  • Branch Chief, HIV Research Branch: Athena Kourtis, MD, PhD
  • Branch Chief, HIV Surveillance Branch: Angela Hernandez, MD, MPH
  • Branch Chief, Laboratory Branch: Walid Heneine, PhD
  • Branch Chief, Prevention Communication Branch: Jo Stryker, PhD
  • Branch Chief, Program Development and Implementation Branch: Stanley Phillip, DHA
  • Branch Chief, Quantitative Sciences Branch: Cindy Lyles, PhD
  • Branch Chief, Translation and Evaluation Branch: Shubha Rao, MBBS, MPH