Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

CDC Recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

In February 1996, the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), was commissioned by President Bill Clinton to create an award program that would honor and support the achievements of young professionals at the outset of their independent research careers in the fields of science and technology. The Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) embodies the high priority placed by the government on maintaining the leadership position of the United States in science by producing outstanding scientists and engineers and nurturing their continued development. The Awards identify a cadre of outstanding scientists and engineers who will broadly advance science and the missions important to the participating agencies.

The PECASE Awards are intended to recognize some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the twenty-first century. The Awards foster innovative and far-reaching developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of participating agencies, enhance connections between research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the nation's future.

The PECASE Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. The awards are conferred annually at the White House following recommendations from participating agencies. To be eligible for a PECASE Award, an individual must be a U.S. citizen, national or permanent resident. Individuals can receive only one PECASE award in their careers. CDC has participated in the Award since 2011.

The participating agencies are:

  • National Science Foundation
  • National Science and Technology Council
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Smithsonian Institution
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Veterans Affairs

Press Releases

2011 CDC Awardees

Commander Lauren Zapata, Ph.D., M.S.P.H., Senior Research Scientist Officer, Women’s Health and Fertility Branch, Division of Reproductive Health, the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

  • For dedicated application of the science of public health to change clinical and public health systems and improve the reproductive health of women, infants and their families

Commander Jennifer Rabke Verani, M.D., M.P.H., M.A, Medical Epidemiologist, Respiratory Diseases Branch, Division of Bacterial Diseases, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases

  • For innovative public health research to improve child survival worldwide through enhanced perinatal disease prevention and advances in the prevention of parasitic diseases and pneumonia in the world’s poorest countries.

Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    1600 Clifton Rd
    Atlanta, GA 30333
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
  • Contact CDC–INFO
  • Page last reviewed: January 6, 2014
  • Page last updated: July 23, 2012
  • Content source: Office of the Associate Director for Science The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #