Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Graduated Driver Licensing

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) systems help new drivers gain skills under lower-risk conditions. As drivers move through the three stages of GDL, they are given more driving privileges. These privileges may include driving at night or with passengers. GDL systems are proven to reduce teen crashes and deaths.

All states have three-stage GDL systems, though laws vary.

  • Stage 1: learner’s permit
  • Stage 2: intermediate license (sometimes called a provisional license)
  • Stage 3: unrestricted license

For more information about Graduated Driver Licensing systems in your state, please visit Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: Graduated Driver Licensing or your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles web site.

Graduated Driver Licensing System Planning Guide

Graduated Driver Licensing System Planning Guide cover image

CDC’s GDL Planning Guide is designed to assist states to assess, develop, and implement actionable plans to strengthen graduated driver licensing practices.

2016 CDC Graduated Driver Licensing System Planning Guide [PDF – 3MB]