Poliovirus Containment Partners

National Authority for Containment (NAC):

The NAC is responsible for ensuring the requirements established in the Global Action Plan (GAP) are effectively implemented and maintained in facilities retaining poliovirus materials.

Global Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis (GCC):

Defines the parameters and processes by which polio eradication will be certified, Confirms the global containment of polioviruses has been met, Receives annual reports from the RCCs.

Containment Working Group (CWG):

Reviews and approves PEF applications and audits received from NACs for national containment certification and makes recommendations to the GCC.

Containment Advisory Group (CAG):

Advisory body to the Director-General of WHO; makes recommendations on technical issues related to the implementation of containment requirements.

Regional Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis (RCC):

Independent global experts who review national survey reports.

National Certification Committee for Polio Eradication (NCC):

Independent experts who review, verify, and submit country documentation to RCC.

Poliovirus-Essential Facility (PEF):

A facility designated by the NAC as serving critical national/international functions involving handling and storage of poliovirus infectious materials under Global Action Plan (GAP) containment standards.