Skip directly to local search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Injury Data and Resources

International Collaborative Effort on Injury Statistics  

Renaissance M Street Hotel, Washington, DC
Sunday, October 19, 2008

 

PowerPoints are available from each of the presenters. Please e-mail them directly.

 

8:30

Welcome, Introductions and the Future of the ICE
Lois Fingerhut, Chair LaFingerhut@gmail.com ; lafingerhut@gmail.com

 

9:15-3:30

 

Session 1  International Injury Indicators

Moderator: Yvette Holder, yvetteholder@bellsouth.net

 

Panel 1:

Lee Annest, jla1@cdc.gov

John Langley, john.langley@ipru.otago.ac.nz

Ronan Lyons, r.a.lyons@swansea.ac.uk

Goal: to develop of cross-national indicators that meet agreed upon criteria of indicators as put forth in previous ICE Meetings

 

10:15

Discussion

 

11:00

How does the Global Burden of Disease (GBD) project fit with our international agenda for indicators?

James Harrison, James.Harrison@flinders.edu.au

Kavi Bawa-Bhalla, kavi_bhalla@harvard.edu

 

Panel 2

Moderator: Lois Fingerhut

Goal- to examine “real world data” used for development of indicators

 

11:30

Experience from injury surveillance systems in Ethiopia and Mozambique
Kidist Bartolomeos, bartolomeosk@who.int

 

11:40

Injury surveillance: data from Kenya and Uganda
Wilson Odero, wodero@africaonline.co.ke

 

11:50

Real world data from Australia: The Victorian experience
Belinda Gabbe, Belinda.Gabbe@med.monash.edu.au

 

12:00

Real world data - Quebec, Canada: Comparison of two indicators for surveillance of falls among older adults
Yvonne Robatille, yvonne.robitaille@inspq.qc.ca

 

12:40-1:40

Lunch

 

Panel 3

Moderator: Lois Fingerhut

 

11:40

Data quality
James Harrison, James.Harrison@flinders.edu.au

 

1:50

Challenges in developing and validating injury indicators for Canadian children and youth
Alison Macpherson, alison3@yorku.ca
Ian Pike, ipike@cw.bc.ca

 

2:10

Questions/discussion for Panel 3

 

Panel 4:

Merida Indicators Discussion
Moderator: Colin Cryer, colin.cryer@ipru.otago.ac.nz
Goal: to follow-up on indicators developed in Merida, Mexico (March 2008)

 

2:25

Merida indicators presentations
Colin Cryer, colin.cryer@ipru.otago.ac.nz
Lois Fingerhut, LaFingerhut@gmail.com; lafingerhut@gmail.com

 

3:10

Probability of admission to hospital
Colin Cryer, colin.cryer@ipru.otago.ac.nz

 

3:55

 

Session II: Threat of disability

Moderator: James Harrison

 

4:05

Injury as a cause of Disability: a social model approach
Mitch Loeb, gze1@cdc.gov
Li-Hui Chen, eyx5@cdc.gov

 

4:15

The development of impairment-related injury outcome indicators
Pauline Gulliver,  Pauline.gulliver@ipru.otago.ac.nz

 

4:25

Combining disability and incidence data: experience from UK Burden of Injuries Study
Ronan Lyons, r.a.lyons@swansea.ac.uk

 

4:35

Alternative approaches to derive disability weights in injuries: do they make a difference?
Juanita Haagsma, Juanita.Haagsma@rivm.nl

 

Monday, October 20, 2008

 

8:30

Future of ICE- continuing discussion Lois Fingerhut

 

Session III: Severity measurement

Moderator: Lois Fingerhut

 

8:45

GBD and severity
Kavi Bawa-Bhalla, kavi_bhalla@harvard.edu
James Harrison, James.Harrison@flinders.edu.au

 

9:00

Steps needed to finalize the ICE-MRG severity rankings for selecting a main injury
Margaret Warner, mmw9@cdc.gov
Li-Hui Chen, eyx5@cdc.gov

 

9:10

Towards international scaling of severity stability of ICISS scores between New Zealand, Australia and Denmark
Jens Lauritsen, Jens.Lauritsen@ouh.regionsyddanmark.dk

 

9:20

Impact of pre-hospital deaths on ICISS measurement
Rolf Gedeborg, rolf.gedeborg@surgsci.uu.se

 

9:30

Discussion of severity measurement issues

 

10:30

Workgroup Breakout Sessions

  1. Fatal and nonfatal injury indicators
  2. Disability indicator's
  3. Severity measurement

 

12:30

Lunch

 

1:30

Reports of recommendations back to group and discussion

Indicators, Disability, Severity

 

3:30

Final Recommendations

 

4:15

Other project updates
ICD-11 James Harrison, James.Harrison@flinders.edu.au

 

4:45

Future of ICE Lois Fingerhut

 

5:15

Close

 

 

 

ICE map image

Contact Us:
  • Office of Analysis and Epidemiology
    National Center for Health Statistics
    3311 Toledo Rd
    Hyattsville, MD 20782
  • 1 (800) 232-4636
  • nchsinjury@cdc.gov
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #