Adult Learning Theories

Domains of Learning

The three domains of learning are cognitive, affective, and psychomotor, often attributed to Benjamin Bloom and referred to as Bloom's Taxonomy.

Video Transcript [PDF - 133 KB]

Adult Learning Styles

The three learning styles are visual, auditory, and kinesthetic, also referred to as the VAK Model. This theory was advanced by Walter Barbe and Michael Milone.

Video Transcript [PDF - 105 KB]

Adult Learning Assumptions

Malcolm Knowles developed basic assumptions about how adult learners differ from child learners. These assumptions include self-concept, experience, orientation to learning, and readiness to learn.

Video Transcript [PDF - 133 KB]

Page last reviewed: September 25, 2018
Content source:Error processing SSI file