Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Une autre solution pour identifier et attirer l'attention de la population défavorisée, sans accès aux soins et à risque élevé pour le VIH


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Erum Khan Hadi, Sabrina Jaar-Marzouka, Trina Hiemke, Lisa Cardinale

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Khan Hadi E, Jaar-Marzouka S, Hiemke T, Cardinale L. Une autre solution pour identifier et attirer l'attention de la population défavorisée, sans accès aux soins et à risque élevé pour le VIH [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142y_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Changement du système de soins médicaux

L'objectif de ce projet était de fournir un programme mobile de dépistage et d'orientation de la population à risque élevé, ne bénéficiant guère de soins médicaux et difficile à joindre, du comté de Dutchess (Dutchess County, New York), et d'évaluer l'efficacité de ce programme. D'après les estimations du  recensement des États-Unis de 2000, 80 % de la population du comté de Dutchess est blanche, 9,3 % est noire et 6,4 % est hispanique. Cependant, les Noirs ont 15 fois plus de chances, et les Hispaniques presque 11 fois plus de chances, que les Blancs d'être infectés par le VIH. Nous avons utilisé un minibus équipé pour les services de dépistage du VIH et d'orientation, offerts en dehors des heures de travail habituelles dans des zones à risque élevé, dans deux quartiers à faible revenu, particulièrement touchés par l'infection au VIH.

Le personnel des services d’approche travaillant dans le minibus a interrogé chaque individu testé, et les résultats de ces enquêtes ont été examinés, afin d'évaluer les besoins des individus séropositifs pour le VIH, sans accès aux soins. Les formulaires des services d’approche et les formulaires de dépistage ont été analysés en vue de quantifier le nombre de patients desservis. Finalement, on a contacté par téléphone les prestataires des services de soins de santé désignés, afin de vérifier si les patients s'étaient rendus aux visites médicales prescrites.

En 2003, le personnel du minibus spécialisé testa 179 individus dont 35 (19,5 %) furent identifiés comme étant séropositifs pour le VIH. Parmi ces 35 individus séropositifs, les travailleurs des services d’approche ont orienté 22 personnes (62,8 %) vers un médecin de premier recours. Parmi ces 22 personnes, 17 (77,3 %) étaient noires et 5 (22,7 %) étaient hispaniques. On estime à 657 environ le nombre d’individus séropositifs pour le VIH/SIDA et sans accès aux soins dans le comté de Dutchess ; le minibus spécialisé identifia et fournit des services à 5,3 % (35/657) de cette population.

Deux des principaux problèmes auxquels se heurte ce programme sont la nécessité de contacter un grand nombre de personnes pour identifier les individus infectés au VIH et la sécurité du personnel des services d’approche et du minibus dans ces quartiers à risque élevé. Le succès du programme de dépistage mobile peut être attribué aux facteurs suivants : 1) des services élémentaires de soins de premier recours sont amenés au patient ; 2) le personnel du minibus spécialisé est constitué de pairs des différentes races, de travailleurs des services d’approche et d'une infirmière ; 3) le programme n'identifie pas le minibus comme fournissant uniquement des soins pour le VIH ; il fournit d’autres services à bas seuil de dépistage, de sensibilisation et de soutien et 4) avec le temps, les leaders de la communauté auxquels les gens font confiance ont recommandé les services offerts par le minibus à d'autres personnes de la communauté.

Cette évaluation initiale indique que le programme d’action communautaire assuré par le minibus spécialisé a réussi à amener des soins de premier recours à la population minoritaire, autrefois sans soins, des quartiers mal desservis. En outre, le minibus spécialisé permet de surveiller les infections au VIH et l'état de santé général des communautés à risque élevé ; il accroît également l'accès aux soins de premier recours par l'intermédiaire de partenariats uniques parmi les prestataires de services.  

Auteur-correspondant : Erum Khan Hadi, BSc, MPH, Épidémiologiste, Dutchess County Department of Health, 387 Main St, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601, United States. Téléphone : 845-486-3750. Courriel : ehadi@co.dutchess.ny.us.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
An Alternative to Identifying and Engaging the Underserved, Out-of-Care, HIV High-Risk Population


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (113K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Erum Khan Hadi, Sabrina Jaar-Marzouka, Trina Hiemke, Lisa Cardinale

Suggested citation for this article: Khan Hadi E, Jaar-Marzouka S, Hiemke T, Cardinale L. An alternative to identifying and engaging the underserved, out-of-care, HIV high-risk population [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142y.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Health System Change

The objective of this project was to provide and assess the effectiveness of a mobile screening and referral program for the medically underserved, high-risk, and difficult-to-reach population of Dutchess County, New York. By U.S. Census 2000 population estimates, 80% of the population of Dutchess County is white, 9.3% is African American, and 6.4% is Hispanic. However, African Americans are 15 times more likely and Hispanics almost 11 times more likely than whites to have HIV. We used an outreach van for HIV screening and referrals at nontraditional service hours and at high-risk venues in two low-income neighborhoods with the greatest burden of HIV disease.

Mobile van outreach workers surveyed each individual screened, and results were reviewed to assess the needs of the HIV-positive out-of-care clients. Outreach service forms and screening forms were analyzed to quantify the number of clients served. Lastly, follow-up phone calls to designated service providers verified whether clients referred made medical visits.

In 2003, the outreach van screened 179 individuals and identified 35 (19.5%) HIV-positive individuals. Of the 35 HIV-positive individuals, outreach workers linked 22 (62.8%) to primary care. Of these 22, 17 (77.3%) were African American and 5 (22.7%) were Hispanic. Dutchess County has an estimated 657 HIV/AIDS-positive individuals out of care; the outreach van identified and provided services to 5.3% (35/657) of this population.

Two of the biggest challenges the program faces are the need to contact high volumes of people to identify the individuals with HIV infection and the issue of safety of the outreach staff and security of the van in high-risk neighborhoods. The success of the mobile screening program can be attributed to the following factors: 1) basic primary care services are brought to the client; 2) the outreach van is staffed with racially diverse peers, outreach workers, and a nurse; 3) the program does not label the van as an HIV-care provider only but provides various other low-threshold screenings, education, and support services; and 4) over time, trusted community leaders referred others in the community to use the van services.

This initial evaluation indicates that the mobile van outreach program is successful in keeping the minority, out-of-care population in underserved neighborhoods engaged in primary care. In addition, the outreach van provides an opportunity for surveillance of HIV and the general health status of high-risk communities; it also increases access to primary care through unique partnerships among service providers.

Corresponding Author: Erum Khan Hadi, BSc, MPH, Epidemiologist, Dutchess County Department of Health, 387 Main St, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601. Telephone: 845-486-3750. E-mail: ehadi@co.dutchess.ny.us.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services