Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Renouvellement d’un programme de prévention de l'ostéoporose pour l'adapter aux populations à faible revenu : un guide pratique de la santé osseuse


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Denise Cyzman, Norma Bour, Rachel McLaury, Judith Lyles

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Cyzman D, Bour N, McLaury R, Lyles J. Renouvellement d’un programme de prévention de l'ostéoporose pour l'adapter aux populations à faible revenu : un guide pratique de la santé osseuse [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142s_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Partenariats

Nous avons modifié un programme de prévention de l'ostéoporose déjà en place pour l'adapter aux besoins des consommateurs à faible revenu du Michigan et nous avons effectué un test pilote pour évaluer l'efficacité du programme.

Tout en nous servant de données déjà recueillies auprès de groupes de discussion composés de consommateurs et d'éducateurs, nous avons sondé huit éducateurs de la Michigan State University Extension (MSUE) pour essayer d'identifier les obstacles rencontrés au cours d'un programme éducatif de prévention de l'ostéoporose destiné aux personnes à faible revenu. Les éducateurs recommandèrent d'apporter certaines modifications au contenu du programme pour mettre davantage l'accent sur des informations pratiques concernant les choix diététiques, la nutrition et les activités physiques. Des diététiciens agréés et des personnes représentant le Michigan Nutrition Network (Réseau nutritionnel du Michigan), l’United Dairy Industry (Industrie laitière unifiée) et le Michigan Department of Community Health (Service de la santé des communautés du Michigan) mirent au point de nouveaux matériaux. Le programme qui en résulta, A Practical Guide to Bone Health (Un guide pratique de la santé osseuse), consistait en une présentation de 45 minutes, disponible sous forme de tableau à feuilles ou de diapositives PowerPoint. Cette présentation mettait l'accent sur les activités physiques, la qualité du régime alimentaire et l'importance du calcium et de la vitamine D. Une section réservée aux achats indiquait les bons choix nutritionnels. Le programme recommandait également des modifications quant aux activités physiques et au régime alimentaire. Un comité de direction, au niveau de l'État, examina le programme avant d'effectuer un dernier test sur le terrain.

Nous avons appliqué le programme dans quatre centres (un centre urbain et trois centres ruraux) sélectionnés par les éducateurs de la MSUE qui étaient en contact avec des populations à faible revenu. Les participants ont eu à faire des pré-tests et des post-tests, destinés à évaluer leurs connaissances de base et leur intention de modifier leurs attitudes. Les éducateurs ont consigné l'emplacement des centres du programme, le nombre de participants et le niveau de revenu de l'audience.

En tout, 46 personnes ont pris part au programme. Les participants étaient pour la plupart âgés de 18 à 44 ans (75 %), blancs (93 %) et du sexe féminin (79 %) ; dans trois des quatre centres, les participants appartenaient principalement à des catégories à faible revenu. En tout, 43 participants firent le pré-test et le post-test (93 %). Parmi ceux qui n'avaient pas de résultats parfaits au pré-test sur les connaissances, 73 % obtinrent de meilleurs résultats après la session. Avant le programme, 28 % notèrent un apport calcique inadéquat et 30 % notèrent un niveau inadéquat d'activités physiques. Lors du post-test, 50 % de ceux qui avaient noté un apport calcique faible indiquèrent leur intention de manger au moins trois portions d'aliments riches en calcium. De même, 62 % de ceux ayant noté de faibles niveaux d'activités physiques indiquèrent leur intention d'augmenter leur niveau d'activités physiques à au moins 30 minutes trois fois par semaine. 13 % indiquèrent également leur intention d'aller jusqu'à 30 minutes cinq fois par semaine.

Une collaboration entre les praticiens de la santé publique donna naissance à un programme de prévention de l'ostéoporose, convivial et efficace, adapté aux besoins des populations à faible revenu.

Auteur-correspondant : Denise R. Cyzman, MS, RD, Directrice de service, Diabetes, Kidney, and Other Chronic Diseases, Michigan Department of Community Health, 3423 N Martin Luther King Blvd, PO Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, United States. Téléphone : 517-335-8369. Courriel : CyzmanD@michigan.gov.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Retooling an Osteoporosis Prevention Program to Serve Low-Income Populations: A Practical Guide to Bone Health


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (114K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Denise Cyzman, Norma Bour, Rachel McLaury, Judith Lyles

Suggested citation for this article: Cyzman D, Bour N, McLaury R, Lyles J. Retooling an osteoporosis prevention program to serve low-income populations: A Practical Guide to Bone Health [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142s.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Partnerships

We modified an existing osteoporosis prevention program to address the needs of low-income consumers in Michigan and conducted a pilot test to assess the program’s effectiveness.

Building on previously collected focus group data from consumers and educators, we surveyed eight educators with the Michigan State University Extension (MSUE) to help identify barriers encountered delivering an educational osteoporosis prevention program to low-income constituents. The educators recommended program content changes that placed more emphasis on practical information relating to food choices, nutrition, and physical activity. Registered dietitians and staff representing the Michigan Nutrition Network, United Dairy Industry, and the Michigan Department of Community Health developed new material. The resulting program, A Practical Guide to Bone Health, was designed as a 45-minute presentation available in either a flip-chart or PowerPoint format. The content emphasized physical activity, diet quality, and the importance of calcium and vitamin D. A shopping section guided consumers to better food choices. The program also encouraged change in diet and physical activities. A statewide steering committee reviewed the program before a final field test.

We conducted the program at four sites, one urban and three rural, selected by MSUE educators who reach low-income populations. Participants completed pre-tests and post-tests assessing basic knowledge and intent to change behavior. Educators documented program location, number of participants, and audience income level.

A total of 46 people participated in the program. Participants were primarily between the ages of 18 and 44 years (75%), white (93%), and female (79%); at three of four sites, participants were predominantly low-income. A total of 43 participants completed both the pre-test and the post-test (93%). Of those who did not have perfect scores on the knowledge pretest, 73% increased their scores following the session. Prior to the program, 28% reported inadequate calcium intake and 30% reported inadequate physical activity. At post-test, 50% of those with low calcium intake indicated intent to eat three or more servings of calcium-rich foods. Likewise, 62% of those with low activity levels reported intent to increase physical activity to at least 30 minutes three times a week. An additional 13% indicated intent to increase activity to 30 minutes five times a week.

Collaboration among public health practitioners resulted in an easy-to-use and effective osteoporosis prevention program directed toward the needs of low-income populations.

Corresponding Author: Denise R. Cyzman, MS, RD, Section Manager, Diabetes, Kidney, and Other Chronic Diseases, Michigan Department of Community Health, 3423 N Martin Luther King Blvd, PO Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909. Telephone: 517-335-8369. E-mail: CyzmanD@michigan.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services