Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Tentatives de cesser de fumer : l'accès aux programmes de cessation tabagique dans un environnement de gestion des soins pour les fumeurs à faible revenu


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Millicent Fleming-Moran, Kaigang Li, Joseph Gibson, Miriam Garland

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Fleming-Moran M, Li K, Gibson J, Garland M. Tentatives de cesser de fumer : l'accès aux programmes de cessation tabagique dans un environnement de gestion des soins pour les fumeurs à faible revenu [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142dd_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Méthodes et surveillance

Cette étude décrit l’expérience de 295 fumeurs inscrits à un programme d'assurance de gestion des soins du type « filet de sécurité » (safety-net), et dans le cadre duquel 63 % des patients reçurent des conseils de cessation à l’occasion d’au moins une visite au cours de l'année passée. Notre étude pose la question suivante : l’inscription à des programmes de plus longue durée augmente-t-elle les chances d'un fumeur de recevoir des conseils de cessation ?

La population étudiée fait partie des clients du programme Advantage (Avantage) qui sont surtout des travailleurs à faible revenu de groupes minoritaires, bénéficiant de l'assurance Medicaid/Medicare, ou des résidents du comté qui sont sous-assurés et dont les revenus atteignent au maximum 200 % du seuil de pauvreté fixé par les directives fédérales. Les praticiens des écoles publiques de médecine assurent la coordination du programme dans sept cliniques de soins primaires d'un comté urbain du Midwest des États-Unis.

Des enquêtes par téléphone ont été menées à l'aide du logiciel de sondage Bellview CATI (Pulse Train Software, Ltd, Surrey, R.U.) en anglais ou en espagnol auprès de 731 participants au programme Advantage. 317 de ces participants étaient inscrits depuis moins d'un an, 281 depuis un an et 133 depuis plus d'un an. Parmi les 731 participants, 295 (40,4 %) fumaient toujours. Ces fumeurs étaient classés selon leur sexe, leur origine ethnique, leur âge, leur niveau d'éducation, leur connaissance de leur médecin de premier recours et leur risque de coronaropathie autre que le tabagisme. Chaque caractéristique a été associée aux conseils de cessation à l’aide des tests de khi-carré de la signification. Les facteurs prédisposants (sexe, âge, origine ethnique), les facteurs favorables (éducation, médecin de premier recours connu), les besoins en soins de santé (autres que le risque de coronaropathie) et la durée de participation au programme ont été testés dans le cadre d'un modèle logistique de conseils de cessation, en utilisant un processus de régression progressive.

Les individus fumant et participant au programme Advantage qui sont des femmes (72,0 %), qui sont blancs (70,4 %), qui sont âgés de plus de 65 ans (85,0 %), qui connaissent leur médecin de premier recours (68,5 %) et qui ont un autre facteur de risque de coronaropathie (89,3 %) rapportent avoir reçu plus de conseils que les fumeurs masculins (49,0 %), qui appartiennent à un groupe minoritaire (54,5 %), qui ont moins de 35 ans (35,0 %), qui ne connaissent pas leur médecin de premier recours (51,0 %) ou qui n'ont pas d'autre facteur de risque de coronaropathie (46,2 %). Les personnes inscrites depuis plus d'un an (71,2 %) rapportent avoir reçu plus de conseils que celles inscrites depuis moins d'un an (53,1 %). Dans l'analyse logistique, d’autres facteurs de risque d’une coronaropathie doublaient la probabilité de recevoir des conseils de cessation (rapport des cotes : 2,02 ; intervalle de confiance (IC) à 95 % : 1,5-2,8), ainsi que le fait d'être du sexe féminin (rapport des cotes : 1,95 ; IC : 1,1-3,3). Le fait d'avoir plus de 65 ans augmentait la probabilité de recevoir des conseils (rapport des cotes : 1,5 ; IC : 1,09-2,12), alors que le statut minoritaire réduisait la probabilité (rapport des cotes : 0,41 : IC : 0,24-0,70). Les facteurs favorables - éducation, durée de participation ou connaissance du médecin de premier recours - n'étaient pas entrés dans le modèle.

Les programmes de type « safety-net » augmentent l'accès aux soins primaires et leur continuité dans les communautés à faible revenu où le tabagisme est le plus répandu. Le taux de conseils fournis aux fumeurs par le programme Advantage est de  63 %, ce qui dépasse celui rapporté pour les autres fumeurs utilisant des soins de premier recours et il indique un niveau de sensibilisation adéquate des fumeurs à risque élevé de coronaropathie. Toutefois, plus d'un tiers (37 %) des fumeurs participant au programme Advantage rapportent ne pas avoir reçu de conseils de cessation. Nous proposons un examen des modèles de visite, des difficultés dues à la langue et des dossiers cliniques sur le tabagisme comme moyen de suivre et de cibler les fumeurs plus jeunes, de sexe masculin et appartenant à un groupe minoritaire. Ils recevraient ainsi plus facilement les conseils de leur prestataire et un soutien à la cessation. Un plus grand accès aux soins de cessation entraînerait une baisse de la coronaropathie, ainsi que des problèmes respiratoires et de reproduction dans cette population.

Auteur-correspondant : Millicent Fleming-Moran, PhD, Professeur adjoint, Indiana University, Department of Applied Health Science, HPER 116, Bloomington, IN 47401, United States. Téléphone : 812-855-8361. Courriel : mfmoran@indiana.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Trying to Quit: Low-Income Smokers’ Access to Cessation Care in a Managed Care Environment


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (114K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Millicent Fleming-Moran, Kaigang Li, Joseph Gibson, Miriam Garland

Suggested citation for this article: Fleming-Moran M, Li K, Gibson J, Garland M. Trying to quit: low-income smokers’ access to cessation care in a managed care environment [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142dd.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Methods and Surveillance

This study describes 295 smokers in a managed care safety-net insurance program, where 63% received cessation advice during at least one visit in the previous year. Our study asks: Does longer program enrollment increase a smoker's likelihood of receiving cessation advice?

The study population is drawn from Advantage program clients who are predominantly minority, working poor with Medicaid/Medicare or are under-insured county residents who meet 200% or less of federal poverty guidelines. State medical school practitioners coordinate the program in seven primary care clinics in a Midwestern urban county.

Telephone surveys using Bellview CATI survey software (Pulse Train Software, Ltd, Surrey, UK) were administered in English or Spanish to 731 Advantage enrollees. Of these, 317 were enrolled for less than one year, 281 were enrolled for one year, and 133 were enrolled for more than one year. Of the 731 enrollees, 295 (40.4%) were current smokers. The current smokers were categorized by sex, ethnicity, age, education, knowledge of primary care physician (PCP), and coronary heart disease (CHD) risk other than smoking. The association of each characteristic with cessation advice was determined by chi-square tests of significance. Predisposing factors (sex, age, ethnicity), enabling factors (education, known PCP), health care need (other CHD risk), and program enrollment time were tested in a logistic model of cessation advisement, using a forward selection process.

Advantage smokers who are female (72.0%), white (70.4%), and over age 65 (85.0%) and who know their PCP (68.5%) and have another CHD risk factor (89.3%) report more advice than smokers who are male (49.0%), minority (54.5%), and under age 35 (35.0%) and who do not know their PCP (51.0%) or have any other CHD risk factors (46.2%). Individuals who were enrolled for more than one year (71.2%) report more advice than individuals enrolled for less than one year (53.1%). In logistic analysis, other CHD risk doubled the likelihood of cessation advice (odds ratio [OR] 2.02; 95% confidence interval [CI], 1.5–2.8), as did being female (OR 1.95; CI, 1.1–3.3). Being over age 65 increased the likelihood of advisement (OR 1.5; CI, 1.09–2.12), while minority status reduced the likelihood (OR 0.41; CI, 0.24–.70). Enabling factors of education, enrollment time, or PCP recognition did not enter the model.

Safety-net programs increase access to and continuity of primary care in low-income communities where smoking is most prevalent. Advantage's 63% advisement rate exceeds that reported for other smokers using primary care and indicates appropriate outreach to high CHD risk smokers. More than one third (37%) of smokers in Advantage's program, however, report no cessation counseling. We propose examination of visit patterns, language difficulties, and clinical smoking records as ways to track and target younger, male, and minority smokers for provider prompts and cessation support. Increasing access to cessation care would reduce CHD, respiratory, and adverse reproductive outcomes in this population.

Corresponding Author: Millicent Fleming-Moran, PhD, Associate Professor, Indiana University, Department of Applied Health Science, HPER 116, Bloomington, IN 47401. Telephone: 812-855-8361. E-mail: mfmoran@indiana.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services