Skip Navigation LinksSkip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Safer Healthier People
Blue White
Blue White
bottom curve
CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z spacer spacer
Blue curve MMWR spacer

Persons using assistive technology might not be able to fully access information in this file. For assistance, please send e-mail to: Type 508 Accommodation and the title of the report in the subject line of e-mail.


Antimicrobial Spectrum and Characteristics of Hand-Hygiene Antiseptic Agents*

Hospital Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee Members

Chair: Robert A. Weinstein, M.D., Cook County Hospital, Chicago, Illinois.
Co-Chair: Jane D. Siegel, M.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas.
Executive Secretary: Michele L. Pearson, M.D. CDC, Atlanta, Georgia.
Members: Raymond Y.W. Chinn, M.D., Sharp Memorial Hospital, San Diego, California; Alfred DeMaria, Jr, M.D., Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts; Elaine L. Larson, Ph.D., Columbia University School of Nursing, New York, New York; James T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Ramon E. Moncada, M.D., Coronado Physician's Medical Center, Coronado, California; William A. Rutala, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina; William E. Scheckler, M.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin; and Marjorie A. Underwood, Mt. Diablo Medical Center, Concord, California.

Hand Hygiene Task Force Members

Chair: John M. Boyce, M.D., Hospital of Saint Raphael, New Haven, Connecticut.
Members: Barry M. Farr, M.D., University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia; William R. Jarvis, M.D., CDC, Atlanta, Georgia; Elaine L. Larson, Ph.D., Columbia School of Nursing, New York, New York; Maryanne McGuckin, DrScEd, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Carol O'Boyle, Ph.D., Minnesota Department of Health, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Didier Pittet, M.D., University of Geneva, Geneva, Switzerland; Jane D. Siegel, M.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas; Marjorie A. Underwood, Mt. Diablo Medical Center, Concord, California; Andreas F. Widmer, M.D., University Hospitals, Basel, Switzerland; Jolynn Zeller, Avera St. Lukes Hospital, Aberdeen, South Dakota; and Beth H. Stover, Kosair Children's Hospital, Louisville, Kentucky.

Disclosure of Financial Interests and Relationships

John Boyce: Research and educational grants from Gojo Industries; honorarium from Procter and Gamble; and consultant to Bode Chemical.
Barry Farr: Research support from Gojo Industries.
Elaine Larson: Received products for testing in research studies from Procter and Gamble, 3M Corporation, and Steris.
Carol O'Boyle: Honorarium from 3M Corporation.

Use of trade names and commercial sources is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

References to non-CDC sites on the Internet are provided as a service to MMWR readers and do not constitute or imply endorsement of these organizations or their programs by CDC or the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. CDC is not responsible for the content of pages found at these sites. URL addresses listed in MMWR were current as of the date of publication.

Disclaimer   All MMWR HTML versions of articles are electronic conversions from ASCII text into HTML. This conversion may have resulted in character translation or format errors in the HTML version. Users should not rely on this HTML document, but are referred to the electronic PDF version and/or the original MMWR paper copy for the official text, figures, and tables. An original paper copy of this issue can be obtained from the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC 20402-9371; telephone: (202) 512-1800. Contact GPO for current prices.

**Questions or messages regarding errors in formatting should be addressed to

Page converted: 10/2/2002


Safer, Healthier People

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1600 Clifton Rd, MailStop E-90, Atlanta, GA 30333, U.S.A


Department of Health
and Human Services

This page last reviewed 10/2/2002