Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Problèmes à surmonter pour mesurer les disparités concernant les soins de santé dans le National Healthcare Disparities Report (Rapport national sur les disparités concernant les soins de santé) : disparités au niveau des données


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Ernest Moy, Irma Arispe, Julia Holmes

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Moy E, Arispe I, Holmes J. Problèmes à surmonter pour mesurer les disparités concernant les soins de santé dans le National Healthcare Disparities Report (Rapport national sur les disparités concernant les soins de santé) : disparités au niveau des données [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142x_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Méthodes et surveillance

L'objectif de cette étude était d'évaluer la capacité des ensembles de données existant à l'échelon national à mesurer les disparités concernant les soins de santé (accessibilité, utilisation et qualité) pour des groupes de race ou d'origine ethnique différente, sur la base de notre expérience quant à la mise sur pied du National Healthcare Disparities Report (NHDR) (Rapport national sur les disparités concernant les soins de santé) mandaté par le Congrès des États-Unis.

Pour chacune des mesures de soins de santé incluses dans le NHDR, nous avons examiné la capacité des sources de données nationales à fournir des informations pour différents groupes. Nous avons concentré nos recherches sur les groupes spécifiés dans les normes de l'Office of Management and Budget (OMB) (Gestion et budget) de 1997 : minorités raciales, y compris les noirs, les Asiatiques, les autochtones d'Hawaï et des autres îles du Pacifique, les Amérindiens et les autochtones d'Alaska, de race unique ; individus de race mixte et minorités ethniques (Hispaniques).

Les difficultés de mesure étaient classées en différentes catégories : problèmes de collecte (si les données concernant un groupe particulier n'étaient pas recueillies ou bien étaient inutilisables), problèmes d'estimation (si les données concernant un groupe étaient recueillies mais supprimées en raison de la taille trop petite de l'échantillon ou d'une erreur-type relative trop importante) et problèmes de pouvoir statistique (si les données concernant un groupe étaient recueillies et adéquates pour la génération d'estimations, mais n'avaient pas la capacité suffisante pour détecter les différences relatives par rapport aux groupes de comparaison de 10 % avec P < 0,05).

Pour pratiquement chaque mesure NHDR, des problèmes de mesure ont limité notre capacité à évaluer les disparités pour au moins un groupe. Les problèmes majeurs n'étaient pas les mêmes pour tous les groupes. Des problèmes de collecte empêchèrent d'évaluer les disparités pour les autochtones d'Hawaï et des autres îles du Pacifique, ainsi que pour les individus de race mixte, et cela pour plus de 60 % des mesures NHDR. Des problèmes d'estimation empêchèrent d'évaluer les disparités pour les Amérindiens et les autochtones d'Alaska, et cela pour près de la moitié des mesures. Des problèmes de pouvoir statistique étaient fréquents pour les Asiatiques, les autochtones d'Hawaï et des autres îles du Pacifique, les Amérindiens et les autochtones d'Alaska, et les individus de race mixte. Les mesures qui visaient des sous-groupes des populations plus générales (c'est-à-dire femmes, enfants, personnes âgées) étaient particulièrement touchées par les problèmes de mesure.

La réalisation de l'objectif de réduction des disparités concernant les soins de santé dépend de notre capacité à mesurer et à suivre les différences dans les soins. Pour certaines minorités raciales et ethniques, les données nationales existantes sont suffisantes pour évaluer de nombreuses catégories de disparités. Cependant, dans le cas de plus petits groupes, on se heurte à de sérieux problèmes de collecte des données, d'estimation et de pouvoir statistique qui limitent considérablement la possibilité d'évaluer les disparités. Il faut s'attaquer à ce problème de disparités des données pour permettre la conception de programmes destinés à réduire les disparités dans les soins de santé pour tous les groupes minoritaires plutôt que pour les plus grands groupes uniquement.

Auteur-correspondant : Ernest Moy, MD, MPH, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, 540 Gaither Rd, Rockville, MD 20850, United States. Téléphone : 301-427-1329. Courriel : emoy@ahrq.gov.

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Challenges to Measuring Health Care Disparities in the National Healthcare Disparities Report: Disparities in Data


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (97K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Ernest Moy, Irma Arispe, Julia Holmes

Suggested citation for this article: Moy E, Arispe I, Holmes J. Challenges to measuring health care disparities in the National Healthcare Disparities Report: disparities in data [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142x.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Methods and Surveillance

The objective of this study was to assess the ability of extant national data sets to measure health care disparities in access, use, and quality for different racial and ethnic groups, based on our experiences in developing the Congressionally mandated National Healthcare Disparities Report (NHDR).

For each of the health care measures included in the NHDR, we examined the ability of national data sources to provide information for different groups. We focused on groups specified by 1997 Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Standards: racial minorities, including single-race blacks, Asians, Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders (NHOPI), American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN), multiple-race individuals, and ethnic minorities (Hispanics).

Measurement challenges were categorized as issues of collection (if data for a particular group were not collected and usable); estimation (if data for a group were collected but suppressed because of small cell size or large relative standard error); and power (if data for a group were collected and adequate to generate estimates but lacked sufficient power to detect relative differences compared with comparison groups of 10% with P < .05).

For almost every NHDR measure, measurement challenges limited our ability to assess disparities for at least one group. Major measurement challenges varied among groups. Collection issues prevented assessments of disparities for NHOPI and for multiple-race individuals for more than 60% of NHDR measures. Estimation issues prevented an assessment of disparities for AI/AN for almost half of measures. Issues of statistical power were common among Asians, NHOPI, AI/AN, and multiple-race individuals. Measures that focus on subsets of the general populations (i.e., women, children, elderly) were particularly vulnerable to measurement challenges.

The goal of reducing disparities in health care depends upon our capacity to measure and track differences in care. For some racial and ethnic minority groups, extant national data are sufficient for assessing many areas of disparity. However, for smaller groups, challenges related to data collection, estimation, and power severely limit our ability to assess disparities. These disparities in data must be addressed to allow design of interventions that reduce disparities in care for all minority groups rather than just the larger groups.

Corresponding Author: Ernest Moy, MD, MPH, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, 540 Gaither Rd, Rockville, MD 20850. Telephone: 301-427-1329. E-mail: emoy@ahrq.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services