Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Pousser les gens à bouger : les résultats à mi-chemin dans le projet Walk the Ozarks to Wellness (Marcher dans les Ozarks jusqu'au bien-être)


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Nikki M. Caito, Michael Elliott, Sarah Lovegreen, Paula Klump, Matthew W. Kreuter, Ross Brownson

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Caito NM, Elliott M, Lovegreen S, Klump P, Kreuter MW, Brownson R. Pousser les gens à bouger : les résultats à mi-chemin dans le projet Marcher dans les Ozarks jusqu'au bien-être [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142v_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Communications et technologie

Le projet Walk the Ozarks to Wellness est une étude longitudinale sur quatre ans de la marche, actuellement en cours dans six communautés rurales médiocrement desservies du Sud-Est du Missouri. L'objectif de ce projet est d'augmenter la durée de la marche des habitants des zones rurales du Missouri, présentant une surcharge pondérale, appartenant aux catégories à faible revenu et souffrant de diabète ou à risque pour cette maladie.

Les participants étaient initialement recrutés pour cette étude lors d'événements communautaires de promotion de la santé, parrainés par un comité de direction local. Les participants reçurent un bulletin d'informations mensuel pendant toute la première année de ce projet, à partir de novembre 2003. Pendant la seconde année, ils reçurent un bulletin bimensuel. Les messages inclus dans ce bulletin étaient rédigés sur la base des réponses au sondage administré en début d'étude et au neuvième mois. Les sujets abordés dans les neuf premiers bulletins traitaient, entre autres, des points suivants : motivation, antécédents médicaux, discussions avec des médecins, efficacité personnelle et obstacles. D'autres bulletins parlaient du support social et du niveau d'activités physiques.

À l'heure actuelle, 1 065 participants ont été recrutés pour le projet et répartis en neuf groupes. Nous avons reçu les sondages de mi-chemin (T2) de 153 participants faisant partie du premier groupe. Les analyses des tests T en paires ont mis en évidence une amélioration considérable à T2 chez les participants ayant répondu au début du projet qu'ils ne marchaient pas et qu'ils n'avaient pas d'activités physiques modérées, aussi bien pour le nombre de jours par semaine que pour le nombre de minutes par semaine (P < 0,001). Parmi ceux qui avaient rapporté ne pas avoir d'espace comme un obstacle aux activités physiques, au début du projet, 81 % ne citaient plus cet obstacle à T2. Les tests de McNemar mettent en valeur une amélioration considérable à T2 chez les participants qui n'avaient pas parlé à leur médecin d'un régime alimentaire sain (P < 0,001), d'exercices physiques (P = 0,029) et de perdre du poids (P < 0,001), au début du projet. Les analyses des stades de changement démontrèrent des progrès chez les participants étant aux stades de la précontemplation et de la contemplation (globalement, 69 % des participants au stade de précontemplation et 67 % des participants au stade de contemplation firent des progrès).

Ces résultats mettent en valeur l'impact préliminaire d'une intervention adaptée à une population à risque élevé. Cette intervention adaptée se révéla efficace dans les domaines suivants : 1) pousser les participants à progresser dans les stades initiaux de changement, 2) accroître la prise de conscience de l'importance de parler à son médecin au sujet d’un style de vie sain et 3) diminuer les obstacles perçus.

Auteur-correspondant : Nikki M. Caito, MPH, MS, RD, LD, Coordinatrice de recherche, Saint Louis University School of Public Health, Health Communication Research Laboratory, 3545 Lafayette Ave, Room 424, St. Louis, MO 63104, United States. Téléphone : 314-977-4047. Courriel : caitonm@slu.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Moving People to Move: Midpoint Results of the Walk the Ozarks to Wellness Project


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (95K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Nikki M. Caito, Michael Elliott, Sarah Lovegreen, Paula Klump, Matthew W. Kreuter, Ross Brownson

Suggested citation for this article: Caito NM, Elliott M, Lovegreen S, Klump P, Kreuter MW, Brownson R. Moving people to move: midpoint results of the Walk the Ozarks to Wellness Project [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142v.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Communications and Technology

The Walk the Ozarks to Wellness Project is a four-year longitudinal study of walking currently underway in six rural underserved communities in southeast Missouri. The project's objective is to increase time spent walking among low-income, overweight, rural Missourians who have diabetes or who are at risk for developing the disease.

Participants initially enrolled in this study at community health events sponsored by a local steering committee. Throughout the first year of the intervention, beginning in November 2003, participants received a monthly newsletter. In the second year, participants receive a bimonthly newsletter. Newsletter messages were written based on participant surveys completed at baseline and at month nine. Topics addressed in the first nine newsletters included motivation, health history, discussions with doctors, self-efficacy, and barriers. Additional newsletters included topics about social support and physical activity level.

To date, 1065 participants have enrolled in the project in nine groups. We have received midpoint (T2) surveys from 153 participants in the first group. Paired t-test analyses show significant improvement at T2 in those who reported no walking and no moderate activities at baseline, in both days per week and minutes per week (P < .001). Of those who marked having no place to exercise as a barrier at baseline, 81% no longer had this barrier at T2. McNemar tests show significant improvement at T2 in those who had not talked to their doctors about healthy eating (P < .001), exercise (P = .029), and losing weight (P < .001) at baseline. Stages of Change analyses show advancement in those who were in the precontemplation and contemplation stages, where overall, 69% in precontemplation and 67% in contemplation moved forward.

These results show the preliminary impact of a tailored intervention in a high-risk population. This tailored intervention was effective in 1) moving participants forward in the initial stages of change; 2) increasing awareness about the importance of talking with one’s doctor about leading a healthy lifestyle; and 3) decreasing perceived barriers.

Corresponding Author: Nikki M. Caito, MPH, MS, RD, LD, Research Coordinator, Saint Louis University School of Public Health, Health Communication Research Laboratory, 3545 Lafayette Ave, Room 424, St. Louis, MO 63104. Telephone: 314-977-4047. Email: caitonm@slu.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services