Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Une note minimale pour la santé des femmes : un carnet de notes national et État par État – 2004


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Michelle Berlin, Judith Waxman

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Berlin M, Waxman J. Une note minimale pour la santé des femmes : un carnet de notes national et État par État - 2004 [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142t_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Méthodes et surveillance

Making the Grade on Women’s Health: A National and State-by-State Report Card (Une note minimale pour la santé des femmes : un carnet de notes national et État par État) est une étude complète de l'état de santé des femmes aux États-Unis, sur la base d'indicateurs sélectionnés de la politique et de l’état de santé. Les indicateurs de l'état de santé reflètent des conditions ayant un impact significatif sur la qualité de la vie et le bien-être, qui affectent un grand nombre de femmes en général, ou bien, qui affectent de façon disproportionnée une population et/ou un groupe d'âge spécifiques, qui relèvent de la prévention ou de l'amélioration de la santé, et qui peuvent être mesurées par des données fiables et homogènes. Les 27 indicateurs peuvent être répartis en quatre catégories : accès des femmes aux services de soins de santé, activités liées à des soins de santé préventifs, états de santé clés des femmes et santé des communautés où vivent les femmes.

Les États-Unis (globalement) et les différents États furent notés pour chaque indicateur d'état de santé, selon que le seuil de référence était atteint (Satisfaisant) ou non (Moins que satisfaisant, Insatisfaisant ou Échec, en fonction de la différence de niveau par rapport au seuil de référence). Les notes données dans le Carnet de notes de 2004 tiennent compte du fait que les différents États et le pays tout entier disposent de plusieurs années pour atteindre ces niveaux seuils, sur la base de Healthy People 2010 (Un peuple en bonne santé - 2010). Le Carnet de notes fournit également 67 indicateurs de politique pour évaluer les performances des gouvernements des États et du gouvernement fédéral quant à la promotion de la santé des femmes ; ces indicateurs reposent sur les lois, les réglementations, les politiques et les programmes des États qui s’attaquent aux problèmes identifiés par les indicateurs de l'état de santé.

La nation atteint le niveau seuil pour seulement deux indicateurs (mammographies chez les femmes âgées de plus de 40 ans et visites annuelles chez le dentiste) et reçut la note générale « Insatisfaisant ». Tous les États et le District de Colombie atteignirent le niveau seuil pour un indicateur (visites annuelles chez le dentiste) et échouèrent à huit indicateurs (y compris : proportion des femmes ayant une assurance médicale, taux d'hypertension et de diabète, mortalité infantile, pauvreté et écart de salaires). Vingt-cinq États ont amélioré au moins cinq politiques, mais la majorité des États ont accusé une régression au niveau d’une à trois politiques. La politique améliorée le plus souvent était la prévention des ventes de tabac aux mineurs. Un seul objectif de politique, l’assurance Medicaid pour le traitement du cancer du sein et du col de l'utérus, a été atteinte par tous les États.

La nation et les États individuels n'atteignirent pas les objectifs nationaux pour la plupart des indicateurs de l'état de santé. Malgré l'intérêt porté aux disparités de santé, les différences clés persistent toujours (y compris la race/l'origine ethnique et l'âge). Un certain nombre de gouvernements étatiques ont amélioré certaines politiques dans des secteurs clés pour répondre aux besoins de santé des femmes, mais nombreux sont les États qui ont reculé. Les conclusions du Carnet de notes de 2004 identifient des problèmes urgents auxquels doivent s'attaquer les responsables politiques, les administrateurs de la santé publique et les prestataires de soins de santé. Ces questions doivent être abordées rapidement et correctement pour améliorer et préserver la santé des femmes aux États-Unis.

Auteur-correspondant : Michelle Berlin, MD, MPH, Directrice, OHSU National Center of Excellence in Women’s Health (Centre national d'excellence dans la santé des femmes de l'OHSU), et Professeur adjoint, Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, and Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology, Oregon Health and Sciences University, 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd, UHN 50, Portland, OR 97239-3098, United States. Téléphone : 503-494-4480. Courriel : berlinm@ohsu.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Making the Grade on Women’s Health: A National and State-by-State Report Card 2004


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (118K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Michelle Berlin, Judith Waxman

Suggested citation for this article: Berlin M, Waxman J. Making the Grade on Women’s Health: A National and State-by-State Report Card 2004 [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142t.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Methods and Surveillance

Making the Grade on Women’s Health: A National and State-by-State Report Card is a comprehensive study of the status of women’s health in the United States based on selected health status and policy indicators. Health status indicators reflect conditions with a significant impact on quality of life and well-being, affect large numbers of women generally or disproportionately affect a specific population and/or age group, are amenable to prevention or improvement, and are measurable through consistent, reliable data. The 27 indicators fall within four categories: women’s access to health care services, preventive health care activities, key women’s health conditions, and whether women live in healthy communities.

The states and the nation received grades for each status indicator  based on whether the benchmark was met (Satisfactory) or not met (Satisfactory Minus, Unsatisfactory, or Fail, based on scores’ distance from the benchmark). In the 2004 Report Card, grades take into account that states and the nation have several years to achieve those benchmarks based upon Healthy People 2010. The Report Card also provides 67 policy indicators to evaluate the performance of state and federal governments in promoting women's health; these are based on state statutes, regulations, and policies and programs that address problems identified by health status indicators.

The nation met only two indicators (mammograms in women aged >40 years and annual dental visits) and received an overall grade of Unsatisfactory. All states and the District of Columbia met one benchmark (annual dental visits) and missed eight (including proportion of women with health insurance, rates of high blood pressure and diabetes, infant mortality, poverty, and wage gap). Twenty-five states improved at least five policies, and the majority of states weakened in one to three policies. The policy most consistently improved was preventing tobacco sales to minors. Only one policy goal, Medicaid coverage for breast and cervical cancer treatment, was met by all the states.

For most health status indicators, the nation and the states fall short of meeting national goals. Despite interest in health disparities, key differences (including race/ethnicity and age) persist. A number of state governments improved policies in key areas to meet women’s health needs, but many states have fallen behind. The 2004 Report Card findings identify pressing issues that must be tackled by policy makers, public health administrators, and care providers. To improve and maintain the health of U.S. women, these issues must be addressed swiftly and accurately.

Corresponding Author: Michelle Berlin, MD, MPH, Director, OHSU National Center of Excellence in Women's Health, and Associate Professor, Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, and Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology, Oregon Health and Sciences University, 3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd, UHN 50, Portland, OR 97239-3098. Telephone: 503-494-4480. E-mail: berlinm@ohsu.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services