Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Mener une bonne campagne d'une semaine contre le tabac à chiquer (« Through With Chew »)


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Sylvia Bagdonas, Niki Mueller, Amy Russian

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Bagdonas S, Mueller N, Russian A. Mener une bonne campagne d'une semaine contre le tabac à chiquer [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142r_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Communications et technologie

Conçue par l' American Academy of Otolaryngology — Head and Neck Surgery (Académie américaine d'otolaryngologie - Chirurgie de la tête et du cou), la semaine « Through With Chew » est une campagne d'éducation visant à prévenir et à réduire l'utilisation du tabac à chiquer, un type de tabac qui n'a pas bénéficié de la même attention que les cigarettes. L'État du Wyoming a mené avec succès une campagne de ce genre en février 2003 (y compris une journée « Great American Spit Out Day » (grande journée américaine du crachat)). Ce programme couvrant tout l'État du Wyoming, ciblait particulièrement la population des campagnes et des petites villes, présentant un taux particulièrement élevé d'utilisation du tabac à chiquer (le deuxième des États-Unis d'après le Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System [BRFSS] (Système de surveillance des facteurs de risque dus au comportement)) et l'Adult Tobacco Survey [ATS] (Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les adultes) de 2003.

Les différents objectifs du programme étaient les suivants : 1) éduquer le public sur l'ampleur de l'utilisation du tabac à chiquer dans le Wyoming et ses implications onéreuses pour la santé de l'ensemble des citoyens ; 2) faire des enquêtes pour établir les données de base sur les niveaux actuels de prévention et d'intervention ; 3) établir un partenariat avec les prestataires de soins de santé pour promouvoir l'arrêt du tabagisme ; 4) mener des campagnes publicitaires contre l'industrie du tabac et 5) déterminer les modifications nécessaires pour adapter cette campagne aux populations amérindiennes. Le plan complet à l'échelle de l'État du Wyoming comprenait des kits d'outils, des kits médiatiques et des kits « quit spit » (terminés les crachats) mis à la disposition des responsables des programmes locaux. La couverture médiatique étendue comprenait des annonces publicitaires dans les journaux et des publicités sur les boîtes de pizza, des annonces publicitaires à la télévision et des interventions par Gruen Von Behrens, un homme de 25 ans, terriblement défiguré par un cancer buccal. D'autres attaques publicitaires étaient menées chez les coiffeurs pour hommes, sur les terrains de rodéos, aux foires, sur les terrains de baseball, dans les salles de bowling, chez les commerçants agricoles et dans différentes revues.

Des enquêtes de suivi menées dans les communautés du Wyoming qui ne sont pas touchées par ce fléau et parmi les professionnels de l'hygiène buccale ont indiqué que les interventions dans les cabinets de dentistes ont augmenté de 58 % et le volume de réponse aux organisations Quitline et QuitNet du Wyoming a doublé de la part des chiqueurs. La campagne « Through With Chew » du Wyoming, y compris les leçons apprises et les outils tangibles de succès, peut être facilement reproduite dans d'autres États et communautés.

Auteur-correspondant : Sylvia Bagdonas, MA, Conseillère du programme anti-tabac, Wyoming Department of Health, Substance Abuse Division, 6101 Yellowstone Ave, Suite 220, Cheyenne, WY 82002, United States. Téléphone : 307-777-3690. Courriel : sbagdo@state.wy.us.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Conducting a Successful “Through With Chew” Week


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (95K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Sylvia Bagdonas, Niki Mueller, Amy Russian

Suggested citation for this article: Bagdonas S, Mueller N, Russian A. Conducting a successful “Through with Chew” Week [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142r.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Communications and Technology

An idea of the American Academy of Otolaryngology — Head and Neck Surgery, “Through With Chew” Week is an educational campaign designed to prevent and reduce the use of chew/spit tobacco, a type of tobacco use that has not received as much attention as cigarette smoking. The state of Wyoming successfully conducted a “Through With Chew” Week (including a Great American Spit Out Day) in February 2003. The statewide program targeted Wyoming’s small and rural population, which has a disproportionately high chew-tobacco-use rate — the second highest in the nation (Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System [BRFSS], Adult Tobacco Survey [ATS], 2003).

The component aims of the program were the following: 1) to educate the public about the extent of chew-tobacco use in Wyoming and its costly health implications for all citizens; 2) to conduct surveys to establish baseline data on current levels of prevention and intervention; 3) to partner with health care providers to promote quitting; 4) to counteradvertise the tobacco industry; and 5) to determine adaptations necessary for American Indian populations. Wyoming’s comprehensive statewide plan included tool kits, media kits, and “quit spit” kits for use by local program managers. Extensive media coverage included newspaper and pizza-box ads, television coverage, and presentations by Gruen Von Behrens, a 25-year-old man severely marred by oral cancer. Additional “guerrilla” advertising was conducted in barbershops, rodeos, fairgrounds, little league fields, bowling alleys, agriculture shops, and publications.

Follow-up surveys to Tobacco-Free Wyoming Communities and the dental community indicated that dental office interventions increased by 58%, and response volumes to Wyoming’s Quitline and QuitNet from chew tobacco users doubled. Wyoming’s “Through With Chew” campaign, including lessons learned and tangible tools for success, can be replicated easily in other states and communities.

Corresponding Author: Sylvia Bagdonas, MA, Tobacco Program Consultant, Wyoming Department of Health, Substance Abuse Division, 6101 Yellowstone Ave, Suite 220, Cheyenne, WY 82002. Telephone: 307-777-3690. E-mail: sbagdo@state.wy.us.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services