Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Différences raciales dans les facteurs influençant la survie des patients atteints du cancer buccal en Géorgie : 1978-2001


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Ranjitha Krishna, Jonathan Liff, Amy Chen, Paul Eke, Valerie Robison

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Krishna R, Liff J, Chen A, Eke P, Robison V. Différences raciales dans les facteurs influençant la survie des patients atteints du cancer buccal en Géorgie : 1978-2001 [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142i_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Changement du système de soins médicaux

L'objectif de cette étude était d'examiner les différences raciales dans la distribution des facteurs de risque associée à la survie des patients atteints du cancer buccal en Géorgie (1978-2001).

Des études ont montré que le taux de survie à cinq ans des personnes atteintes du cancer buccal est nettement plus bas chez les Noirs que chez les Blancs. Selon le programme Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) (Surveillance, épidémiologie et résultats finaux), le taux national de survie à cinq ans des patients atteints du cancer de la cavité buccale et du pharynx, de 1992 à 1997, était de 36,1 % pour les Noirs et de 59,7 % pour les Blancs.

Des données provenant de 1 503 Blancs et de 531 Noirs atteints du cancer buccal et vivant dans cinq comtés urbains et dix comtés ruraux de Géorgie ont été analysées pour la période allant de 1978 à 2001. Ces données ont été recueillies par le Georgia Center for Cancer Statistics (GCCS) (Centre de statistiques sur le cancer en Géorgie), un registre du cancer en population générale affilié au programme SEER. Les disparités raciales ont été examinées en fonction du stade du cancer au moment du diagnostic, du grade du cancer, du sexe, de l'âge, du statut socio-économique, du domicile (rural/urbain) et du type de traitement.

Les Noirs avaient deux fois plus de chances que les Blancs (rapport des cotes = 2,5, intervalle de confiance (IC) à 95 % : 2,0–3,0) de mourir pendant la période de suivi de cinq ans. Par rapport aux Blancs âgés de plus de 70 ans, les Noirs avaient 2,2 fois (IC à 95 % : 1,6–3,1) plus de chances d'être diagnostiqués avec un cancer buccal entre 61 et 70 ans, 3,7 fois (IC à 95 % : 2,7–5,1) plus de chances d'être diagnostiqués entre 51 et 60 ans et 4,8 fois (IC à 95 % : 3,4–6,7) plus de chances d'être diagnostiqués à moins de 50 ans. Par rapport aux Blancs qui étaient principalement diagnostiqués à un stade localisé de la maladie, les Noirs avaient 3,0 fois (IC à 95 % : 2,4–3,8) plus de chances d'être diagnostiqués à un stade régional de la maladie et 4,8 fois (IC à 95 % : 3,4–6,7) plus de chances d'être diagnostiqués après l'apparition de métastases à distance. Les Noirs avaient également plus de chances d'avoir des cancers de grade 2 (rapport des cotes : 3,0 ; IC à 95 % : 2,3–3,9) et de grade 3 (rapport des cotes : 2,2 ; IC à 95 % : 1,6–3,1). Par conséquent, les Noirs avaient plus de chances que les Blancs d'avoir subi une radiothérapie (rapport des cotes : 3,1 ; IC à 95 % : 2,2–4,3) ou une radiothérapie et une intervention chirurgicale (rapport des cotes : 2,3 ; IC à 95 % : 1,7–2,9). Les Blancs avaient plus de chances que les Noirs d’avoir subi uniquement une intervention chirurgicale.

En Géorgie, les patients noirs ont reçu le diagnostic d'un cancer buccal à un âge nettement plus jeune, à un stade plus avancé et à un grade plus élevé de la maladie. Chez les patients noirs, le traitement du cancer buccal ne se limitait pas à une intervention chirurgicale. Ces disparités constituent un défi à relever pour mieux comprendre les raisons des disparités raciales au niveau des taux de survie des patients atteints de cancer buccal, ce qui permettrait d’estomper ces disparités.

Auteur-correspondant : Ranjitha Krishna, BDS, MPH, Chercheuse invitée, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Oral Health, 4770 Buford Hwy, NE, Mail Stop F-10, Atlanta, GA 30341, United States. Téléphone : 770-488-3075. Courriel : rkrishna@cdc.gov.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Racial Differences in Factors That Influence Survival With Oral Cancer in Georgia: 1978–2001


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (113K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Ranjitha Krishna, Jonathan Liff, Amy Chen, Paul Eke, Valerie Robison

Suggested citation for this article: Krishna R, Liff J, Chen A, Eke P, Robison V. Racial differences in factors that influence survival with oral cancer in Georgia: 1978–2001 [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142i.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Health System Change

The purpose of this study was to examine the racial differences in distribution of risk factors associated with oral cancer survival in Georgia (1978–2001).

Studies have shown that the five-year survival rate for people with oral cancers is much lower in blacks than whites. According to the Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) program, the national five-year survival rate for people with cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx from 1992 to 1997 was 36.1% for blacks and 59.7% for whites.

Data from 1503 whites and 531 blacks with oral cancers in five urban and 10 rural counties of Georgia from 1978 to 2001 were analyzed. Data were collected by the Georgia Center for Cancer Statistics, a population-based cancer registry affiliated with the SEER program. Racial disparities were examined in stage at diagnosis, grade of cancer, sex, age, socioeconomic status, rural/urban residence, and type of treatment.

Compared with whites, blacks were twice as likely (Odds Ratio [OR] = 2.5, 95% Confidence Interval [CI], 2.0–3.0) to die during the five-year follow-up time. Compared with whites older than 70 years, blacks were 2.2 times (95% CI, 1.6–3.1) more likely to be diagnosed at age 61 to 70 years, 3.7 times (95% CI, 2.7–5.1) more likely to be diagnosed at age 51 to 60 years, and 4.8 times (95% CI, 3.4–6.7) more likely to be diagnosed at younger than 50 years. Compared with whites who were mostly diagnosed at the localized stage of the disease, blacks were 3.0 times (95% CI, 2.4–3.8) more likely to be diagnosed at the regional stage and 4.8 times (95% CI, 3.4–6.7) more likely to be diagnosed after distant metastasis. Blacks were also more likely to have grade 2 (OR 3.0; 95% CI, 2.3–3.9) and grade 3 (OR 2.2; 95% CI, 1.6–3.1) cancers. Consequently, blacks were 95% more likely than whites to have received radiation (OR 3.1; CI, 2.2–4.3) or both radiation and surgery (OR 2.3; 95% CI, 1.7–2.9). Whites were more likely than blacks to have received surgery only.

In Georgia, diagnoses of oral cancers in black patients occurred at a much younger age and at a more advanced stage and higher grade of disease. Oral cancers in black patients were also treated with other than cancer-directed surgery only. These disparities highlight both a challenge to further understand the reasons for racial disparities in survival rates of patients with oral cancers and an opportunity to reduce those disparities.

Corresponding Author: Ranjitha Krishna, BDS, MPH, Guest Researcher, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Oral Health, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mail Stop F-10, Atlanta, GA 30341. Telephone: 770-488-3075. E-mail: rkrishna@cdc.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services