Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
La campagne VERB™ : Étendre la portée d'une campagne nationale aux différents groupes ethniques


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Rosemary Bretthauer-Mueller, Heidi Melancon

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Bretthauer-Mueller R, Melancon H. La campagne VERB™ : Étendre la portée d'une campagne nationale aux différents groupes ethniques [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142h_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Communications et technologie

L'objectif de la campagne « VERB. It’s what you do. » (VERB. C’est ce que vous faites) des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (Centres de prévention et de contrôle des maladies) est d'accroître et de maintenir le niveau d'activités physiques chez les préadolescents (enfants âgés de 9 à 13 ans).

VERB™, une campagne nationale de marketing social avec des aspects ethniques, envoie des messages à tous les préadolescents du pays les incitant à se donner du mouvement. Pour faire en sorte que la campagne touche tous les segments de la population multiculturelle, les CDC ont travaillé avec quatre agences multiculturelles de marketing/publicité, renforçant les communications destinées au marché général par des réalisations et messages culturels pertinents, en utilisant les canaux appropriés. La campagne invite les préadolescents amérindiens, noirs américains, Américains d'origine asiatique et Hispaniques originaires d'Amérique latine à prendre part à la campagne VERB. Ces efforts d'adaptation culturelle et linguistique aident également à combler les lacunes inhérentes aux canaux de communication du marché général, orientés vers les préadolescents, et viennent s’ajouter à ceux ciblant les parents et les autres adultes qui influencent les enfants. Les réalisations de la campagne VERB augmentent l'envergure de ses messages, sa portée, son impact et son efficacité.

En vue d'atteindre les audiences de différentes origines ethniques, les quatre agences multiculturelles ont mis au point un marchéage utilisant les éléments suivants : publicité à la télévision, à la radio, extérieure et imprimée ; promotions à l'école ; marketing viral ; événements et relations publiques. Comme c'est la norme pour la campagne VERB, ces produits ont été définis suite à une recherche poussée de formation et de test des messages. Les produits bien adaptés aux différents groupes ethniques sont également fermement ancrés dans la stratégie de la marque VERB, afin de préserver la synergie avec les efforts sur le marché général, ce qui est d'une importance cruciale pour une campagne transparente.

L'évaluation longitudinale nationale de la campagne indique que 63 % des préadolescents noirs américains et 70 % des préadolescents hispaniques/originaires d'Amérique latine connaissent la marque VERB, ce qui dépasse l'objectif recherché de la campagne, une prise de conscience de 50 %. Des parents de préadolescents vivant dans la région de Los Angeles et parlant une langue asiatique ont été soumis à un sondage spécial dans leur langue maternelle. Les résultats indiquent que ces parents étaient plus au courant de VERB que les parents d'autres origines ethniques.

Auteur-correspondant : Rosemary Bretthauer-Mueller, Responsable d'équipe du partenariat VERB, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Adolescent and School Health, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mail Stop K-85, Atlanta, GA 30341, United States. Téléphone : 770-488-6289. Courriel : RBretthauer-Mueller@cdc.gov.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
VERB™ Campaign: Extending the Reach of a National Campaign to Ethnically Diverse Audiences


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (94K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Rosemary Bretthauer-Mueller, Heidi Melancon

Suggested citation for this article: Bretthauer-Mueller R, Melancon H. VERB™ campaign: extending the reach of a national campaign to ethnically diverse audiences [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142h.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Communications and Technology

The objective of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC's) “VERB. It’s what you do.” campaign is to increase and maintain physical activity among “tweens,” or children aged nine to 13 years.

VERB™, a national social marketing campaign with ethnic market overlays, reaches all tweens across the nation with messages designed to get them up and moving. To ensure that all segments of the multicultural audiences are reached by the campaign, the CDC worked with four multicultural advertising/marketing agencies to supplement and complement the general market communication with culturally relevant messages and executions through appropriate channels. The campaign’s efforts extend an invitation to Native American, African American, Asian American, and Hispanic/Latino tweens to take part in the VERB campaign. These culturally and linguistically relevant efforts also help to fill in the gaps inherent in general market communication channels that reach tweens in addition to those that reach parents and other adult influencers. The VERB executions expand campaign messages, reach, impact, and effectiveness.

To reach ethnic audiences, the four multicultural agencies have produced a marketing mix that includes television, radio, out-of-home, and print advertising; in-school promotions; viral marketing; events; and public relations. As is the standard for the VERB campaign, these products were developed on the basis of extensive formative and message-testing research. The culturally relevant products are also strongly rooted in the VERB brand strategy to maintain synergy with the general market efforts, which is critical to a seamless campaign.

The campaign’s national longitudinal evaluation indicates that 63% of African American tweens and 70% of Hispanic/Latino tweens are aware of the VERB brand, exceeding the campaign’s goal of 50% awareness. A special survey was administered in-language with Asian language-speaking parents of tweens living in the Los Angeles area. The results indicate that the parents surveyed were more aware of VERB than any other parental ethnic group.

Corresponding Author: Rosemary Bretthauer-Mueller, VERB Partnership Team Leader, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Adolescent and School Health, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mail Stop K-85, Atlanta, GA 30341. Telephone: 770-488-6289. E-mail: RBretthauer-Mueller@cdc.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services