Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Le dépistage du cancer colorectal dans l'État de Washington : les prédicteurs du dépistage à jour et les explications de l'absence de dépistage


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Peggy Hannon, Jeffrey Harris, Diane Martin, Juliet VanEenwyk, Deborah Bowen

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Hannon P, Harris J, Martin D, VanEenwyk J, Bowen D. Le dépistage du cancer colorectal dans l'État de Washington : les prédicteurs du dépistage à jour et les explications de l'absence de dépistage [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142e_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Déterminants sociaux des iniquités de santé

L'objectif de cette étude était d'identifier les prédicteurs du dépistage à jour du cancer colorectal dans l'État de Washington et d'examiner les raisons des participants de ne pas se faire tester.

Nous avons analysé les données du 2002 Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Système de surveillance des facteurs de risque liés au comportement de 2002) pour les habitants de l'État de Washington, âgés de 50 ans ou plus (N = 2 109). Pour que le dépistage du cancer colorectal soit à jour, il fallait, selon la définition donnée dans l'étude, que le patient ait eu un test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal au cours de l'année passée et/ou une sigmoïdoscopie ou une colonoscopie au cours des cinq dernières années. On demandait aux participants qui n’avaient pas de test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal, ni d'endoscopie à jour quelle était leur raison principale de ne pas se faire tester.

Globalement, 51,9 % de l'échantillon de participants déclarèrent qu'ils avaient un test de dépistage du cancer colorectal à jour (test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal : 25,8 % ; endoscopie : 42,8 %). Les analyses à une variable mirent en évidence plusieurs caractéristiques démographiques étroitement liées au statut du dépistage, dont les suivantes : race blanche (P = 0,04), âge supérieur ou égal à 65 ans (P < 0,001), revenu annuel supérieur à 75 000 dollars US (P < 0,001) et études universitaires (P = 0,02).

Une analyse à plusieurs variables, ajustée en fonction des caractéristiques indiquées ci-dessus et d'autres variables confusionnelles (par ex. : sexe, situation de famille), détermina que les participants avaient bien plus de chances d'avoir un test de dépistage à jour s'ils avaient une assurance médicale (54,2 % comparé à 16,8 % pour les patients sans assurance, P < 0,001) et s'ils avaient eu une conversation sur le dépistage du cancer colorectal avec un prestataire de soins de santé (67,3 % comparé à 33,4 % pour les participants n'ayant jamais discuté de ce sujet avec un prestataire de soins de santé, P < 0,001). Les participants avaient également bien plus de chances d'avoir un test de dépistage à jour s'ils vivaient dans une grande ville ou dans une zone urbaine (53,0 % comparé à 42,7 % pour les participants vivant dans une petite ville/zone rurale ; P = 0,05).

La majorité des participants sans test de dépistage à jour expliquaient qu’ils n’avaient pas subi de test essentiellement parce qu’ils n’étaient pas au courant de ces tests (53,0 % pour le test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal ; 46,9 % pour l'endoscopie). D’autres participants déclarèrent que leur médecin n'avait pas recommandé de test de dépistage (24,8 % pour le test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal ; 33,3 % pour l'endoscopie). Relativement peu de participants déclarèrent ne pas vouloir se faire tester (20,4 % pour le test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal ; 18,1 % pour l'endoscopie) ou ne pas avoir accès à ces tests (1,8 % aussi bien pour le test de dépistage du sang occulte fécal que pour l'endoscopie).

Nos résultats indiquent que près de la moitié des habitants de l'État de Washington à l'âge de se faire tester n'avaient pas de test de dépistage du cancer colorectal à jour. Le fait d’avoir été mis au courant de ce dépistage, en particulier au cours d’un entretien avec un prestataire de soins de santé, était un prédicteur important du dépistage. Ces résultats concordent avec les rapports publiés sur la base des données de la National Health Interview Survey (Enquête nationale sur la santé par interview). Des programmes d'intervention doivent être mis au point pour renforcer la sensibilisation au dépistage du cancer colorectal et les recommandations des médecins à ce sujet, en particulier au sein des populations de patients défavorisés.

Auteur-correspondant : Peggy A. Hannon, PhD, MPH, Chercheuse scientifique, University of Washington, 1107 NE 45th St, Suite 200, Seattle, WA 98105, United States. Téléphone : 206-676-7859. Courriel : peggyh@u.washington.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Colorectal Cancer Screening in Washington State: Predictors of Current Screening and Explanations for No Screening


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (18K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Peggy Hannon, Jeffrey Harris, Diane Martin, Juliet VanEenwyk, Deborah Bowen

Suggested citation for this article: Hannon P, Harris J, Martin D, VanEenwyk J, Bowen D. Colorectal cancer screening in Washington State: predictors of current screening and explanations for no screening [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142e.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Social Determinants of Health Inequities

The purpose of this study was to identify predictors of current colorectal cancer screening in Washington State and to examine participants’ reasons for not being screened.

We analyzed data from the 2002 Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System for Washington State residents aged 50 years and older (N = 2109). Current colorectal cancer screening was defined as having a fecal occult blood test (FOBT) within the past year and/or sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy within the past five years. Participants who did not have current FOBT or current endoscopy were asked the primary reason for not obtaining screening.

Overall, current colorectal cancer screening was reported by 51.9% of the sample (FOBT by 25.8%; endoscopy by 42.8%). Univariate analyses showed that several demographic characteristics were significantly associated with screening status, including white race (P = .04), aged 65 years or older (P < .001), annual income more than $75,000 (P < .001), and having a college degree (P = .02).

In a multivariate analysis adjusting for the above characteristics and other likely confounding variables (e.g., sex, marital status), participants were significantly more likely to have current screening if they possessed health insurance (54.2% vs 16.8% for uninsured participants, P < .001) and had discussed colorectal cancer screening with a health care provider (67.3% vs 33.4% for participants who had never discussed screening with a health care provider, P < .001). Participants were also significantly more likely to report current screening if they lived in a large town or urban area (53.0% vs 42.7% for participants living in small towns/rural areas; P = .05).

The majority of participants without current screening cited lack of awareness as the primary reason for not being screened (53.0% for FOBT; 46.9% for endoscopy). An additional group of participants stated their physicians had not recommended screening (24.8% for FOBT; 33.3% for endoscopy). Relatively few participants said they were not willing to be screened (20.4% for FOBT; 18.1% for endoscopy) or cited lack of access (1.8% each for FOBT and endoscopy).

Our results indicate that nearly half of age-appropriate Washington State residents lack current colorectal cancer screening. Awareness of colorectal cancer screening, particularly via speaking with a health care provider, was an important predictor of screening. These findings are consistent with published reports based on National Health Interview Survey data. Interventions should be developed to increase awareness of and physician recommendations for colorectal cancer screening, particularly among disadvantaged patient populations.

Corresponding Author: Peggy A. Hannon, PhD, MPH, Research Scientist, University of Washington, 1107 NE 45th St, Suite 200, Seattle, WA 98105. Telephone: 206-676-7859. E-mail: peggyh@u.washington.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services