Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Mesure des disparités de santé dans la population : les classements de santé des comtés du Wisconsin


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Angela M. Kempf, Patrick L. Remington, Paul E. Peppard, Elizabeth A. Dranger, David A. Kindig

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Kempf AM, Remington PL, Peppard PE, Dranger EA, Kindig DA. Mesure des disparités de santé dans la population : les classements de santé des comtés du Wisconsin [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142d_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Méthodes et surveillance

L'objectif de ce projet était de classer la santé de la population des comtés du Wisconsin, en vue de promouvoir l'utilisation des informations concernant la santé de la population locale, d'identifier les disparités entre les comtés, d'encourager les progrès de santé de la population et de mieux comprendre les éléments déterminants de la santé.

Le Wisconsin Public Health and Health Policy Institute (Institut de la santé publique et des politiques de santé du Wisconsin) recueille chaque année des données sur les comtés, avec l'aide du gouvernement de l'État, de la communauté et des groupes universitaires, et publie un rapport intitulé Wisconsin County Health Rankings (Classements de santé des comtés du Wisconsin).

Ce projet suit le modèle du rapport annuel America’s Health: State Health Rankings (La santé de l'Amérique : les classements de santé des États) de la United Health Foundation et repose sur un modèle de santé de la population dans lequel plusieurs facteurs déterminants influencent les résultats pour la santé. Les années de potentiel de vie perdu et l'état de santé consigné par le sujet lui-même sont utilisés pour mettre au point une mesure récapitulative des résultats pour la santé des comtés. Une mesure récapitulative des facteurs déterminants de la santé a été mise au point en utilisant 18 mesures réparties en quatre catégories (pondérées) : soins de santé (10 %), comportements de santé (40 %), facteurs socio-économiques (40 %) et environnement physique (10 %). Les données proviennent, entre autres, des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies), du recensement des États-Unis, des statistiques de l'état civil du Wisconsin et du Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services (Santé publique et services de la famille du Wisconsin). Un rapport initial a été mis sur pied et divulgué aux services locaux de santé publique vers la fin de l'année 2003. Cette ébauche a été révisée en réponse aux commentaires reçus et le rapport Wisconsin County Health Rankings, 2003 a été publié en janvier 2004. Par la suite, un sondage d'évaluation de l'utilité des classements a été envoyé à tous les fonctionnaires de la santé publique des comtés.

D'importantes disparités existent entre les différents comtés du Wisconsin en ce qui concerne les facteurs déterminants et les résultats pour la santé. En utilisant une corrélation de moment de produit de Pearson, nous avons trouvé que, globalement, les classements récapitulatifs des facteurs déterminants et des résultats pour la santé présentaient une bonne corrélation (r = 0,75). Les comtés les moins riches (par ex. : Menominee) faisaient preuve d'une plus grande amélioration de la santé dans le temps par rapport aux comtés les plus riches (par ex. : Ozaukee). Parmi les fonctionnaires de la santé publique des comtés participant au sondage sur les classements (N = 68, taux de réponse de 94 %), 82 % ont répondu que les classements étaient utiles dans leur travail et 69 % planifiaient de les utiliser dans leurs communautés. Les suggestions reçues par l'intermédiaire de ce sondage et d'autres commentaires moins officiels seront incorporés dans les classements de 2004, comme l'augmentation du nombre et l'amélioration des composants de l'hygiène du milieu, ainsi que l'incorporation de données locales supplémentaires d'enquête.

Le rapport Wisconsin County Health Rankings offre un outil précieux de diffusion et de revue des informations de santé au niveau des comtés, qui encourage également les parties concernées à discuter des différentes approches visant à réduire les disparités observées. Ce rapport continuera d'être publié annuellement ; l’accent sera mis sur l’amélioration des mesures prises en faveur de la santé de la population et son utilisation à cette fin au niveau local.

Auteur-correspondant : Angela M. Kempf, MA, Responsable assistant de projets et étudiante, cycle de doctorat, University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Population Health Sciences, Wisconsin Public Health and Health Policy Institute, 610 Walnut St, Suite 760, Madison, WI 53726, United States. Téléphone : 608-263-7497. Courriel : kempf@wisc.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Measuring Population Health Disparities: The Wisconsin County Health Rankings


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (117K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Angela M. Kempf, Patrick L. Remington, Paul E. Peppard, Elizabeth A. Dranger, David A. Kindig

Suggested citation for this article: Kempf AM, Remington PL, Peppard PE, Dranger EA, Kindig DA. Measuring population health disparities: the Wisconsin County Health Rankings [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142d.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Methods and Surveillance

The purpose of this project was to rank the population health of counties in Wisconsin to promote use of local population health information, identify disparities between counties, encourage population health improvement, and broaden the understanding of the determinants of health.

The Wisconsin Public Health and Health Policy Institute, with assistance from state government, community, and university groups, annually compiles county data and produces the Wisconsin County Health Rankings report.

This project is modeled after the United Health Foundation’s annual America’s Health: State Health Rankings and is based on a population health model in which a variety of determinants impact health outcomes. Mortality years of potential life lost (YPLL) and self-reported health status are used to develop a summary measure of county health outcomes. A summary measure of health determinants is developed using 18 measures in four (weighted) categories: health care (10%), health behaviors (40%), socioeconomic factors (40%), and physical environment (10%). Data sources include the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the U.S. Census, state vital statistics, and the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services. A draft report was developed and shared with local public health officials in late 2003. The report was revised on the basis of feedback, and Wisconsin County Health Rankings, 2003 was released to the public in January 2004. A survey assessing the usefulness of the rankings was sent to all county health officers following its release.

Significant disparities exist in the health outcomes and determinants of Wisconsin counties. We used Pearson product moment correlation and found that, overall, the summary determinant and summary outcome ranks were well correlated (r = 0.75). Compared with the healthiest counties (e.g., Ozaukee), the least healthy counties (e.g., Menominee) showed greater improvement in health over time. Of the county health officers participating in the survey of the rankings (N = 68, 94% response rate), 82% reported that the rankings were useful to their work, and 69% planned to use the rankings in their communities. Suggestions received through this survey and other more informal feedback will be incorporated into the 2004 rankings, such as the expansion and improvement of the environmental health components and the inclusion of additional local survey data.

The Wisconsin County Health Rankings provides a valuable vehicle for delivering and discussing county-level health information and for engaging stakeholders in the discussion of approaches for reducing observed disparities. This report will continue to be produced annually with special attention given to improving population health measures and its use in community health improvement efforts.

Corresponding Author: Angela M. Kempf, MA, Project Assistant and Doctoral Student, University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Population Health Sciences, Wisconsin Public Health and Health Policy Institute, 610 Walnut St, Suite 760, Madison, WI 53726. Telephone: 608-263-7497. E-mail: kempf@wisc.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services