Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
PE2GO : un programme destiné à faire face aux disparités d'accès aux possibilités d'activité physique parmi les jeunes


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Maurice Martin, Sarah Martin, Elmer Ray Martin

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Martin M, Martin S, Martin ER. PE2GO : un programme destiné à faire face aux disparités d'accès aux possibilités d'activité physique parmi les jeunes [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142a_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Partenariats

L'objectif de cette étude était d’examiner l'efficacité du programme pilote PE2GO dans six districts scolaires des États-Unis (Chicago [Illinois] ; Los Angeles [Californie] ; Akron [Ohio] ; New York [New York] ; Memphis [Tennessee] et Portland [Oregon]). Le PE2GO est une initiative concernant les affaires communautaires lancée par Nike, Inc., le fabricant de vêtements et de chaussures de sport dont le siège social se trouve à Beaverton (Oregon). Dans le cadre du programme PE2GO, Nike a créé des partenariats avec des organisations à travers les États-Unis pour offrir des programmes dans les zones défavorisées (par ex. : Boys & Girls Clubs pour les jeunes Amérindiens, les communautés noires et hispaniques de Los Angeles), en vue de promouvoir l'activité physique chez les jeunes en faisant appel aux personnes susceptibles de les influencer (par ex. : leurs parents, enseignants et entraîneurs sportifs). Le PE2GO est un programme d'éducation physique autonome qui fournit aux enseignants les outils dont ils ont besoin pour donner des cours d'éducation physique de qualité et adaptés au niveau de développement approprié, aux élèves en quatrième et cinquième années des écoles primaires en milieu urbain défavorisé. Le programme pilote portait sur 6 000 élèves d'écoles primaires.

En septembre 2003, des entraîneurs chevronnés du programme à but non lucratif Sports, Play, and Active Recreation for Kids (SPARK) (Sports, jeux et récréation active pour les enfants) ont organisé une séance de formation d'un jour pour le personnel chargé des cours d'éducation physique en utilisant un livret créé spécifiquement pour le programme PE2GO. Nike fournit le curriculum et l'équipement nécessaire. La formation initiale reposait principalement sur deux thèmes : construire des fondations et déguiser le conditionnement physique. Une seconde séance de formation, environ quatre mois plus tard, était consacrée à un troisième thème : simplifier les sports. Des experts-conseils formés à l'évaluation des programmes, et ne dépendant pas de Nike ni de SPARK, rassemblèrent des données pour évaluer et analyser le programme à trois stades distincts : pré-intervention, mi-intervention et post-intervention. Le programme dura tout le mois de mai 2004 et toutes les données furent recueillies par les enseignants et les administrateurs des écoles où le curriculum avait été mis en pratique (N = 164) ; ce groupe comprenait des instituteurs (n = 128), des spécialistes de l'éducation physique (n = 22) et des administrateurs au niveau de l'école (n = 14).

Le nombre de minutes d'éducation physique enregistré par semaine augmenta de façon significative entre la période pré-intervention et le milieu de l’intervention (37 minutes pré-intervention comparé à 60 minutes, mi-intervention ; P < 0,05) et était toujours à un niveau bien plus élevé au moment du post-test qu’avant l’intervention (73 minutes). La satisfaction avait augmenté de façon significative entre la période pré-intervention et la période mi-intervention (P < 0,05) et était toujours élevée après l'intervention. Parmi les huit questions d'évaluation des obstacles, quatre indiquaient que les obstacles avaient considérablement diminué entre la période pré-intervention et la période mi-intervention (P < 0,05) et n’augmentaient pas pendant la période post-intervention. Presque tous les administrateurs ont affirmé qu'ils soutiendraient le perfectionnement du personnel (94 %) et encourageraient le personnel à mettre en œuvre le programme PE2GO (88 %) ; plus de la moitié des administrateurs déclarèrent qu'ils récompenseraient le personnel qui mettrait en œuvre fidèlement le programme PE2GO (56 %). Dans le cadre de la recherche qualitative, presque tous les sondés répondirent que les administrateurs avaient exprimé leur soutien au programme, mais environ la moitié des sondés ajoutèrent que les administrateurs ne s'étaient pas beaucoup impliqués. Les enseignants furent formés avec succès et se montrèrent satisfaits du programme et de l'effet qu'il avait sur les élèves en quatrième et cinquième années d'école primaire. Le nombre de minutes d'éducation physique enregistré augmenta considérablement.

Le programme PE2GO donne des résultats encourageants en cette époque où les enfants ont de moins en moins l’occasion d'être actifs pendant les heures scolaires, en particulier dans les écoles ne pouvant consacrer que des ressources limitées aux spécialistes de l'éducation physique.

Auteur-correspondant : Maurice W Martin, PhD, MEd, Spécialiste de l'évaluation de la recherche, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Diabetes Translation, 4770 Buford Highway NE, Mail Stop K-10, Atlanta, GA 30341, United States. Téléphone : 770-488-5385. Courriel : beq2@cdc.gov.

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
PE2GO: A Program to Address Disparities in Youth Physical Activity Opportunities


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (113K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Maurice Martin, Sarah Martin, Elmer Ray Martin

Suggested citation for this article: Martin M, Martin S, Martin ER. PE2GO: a program to address disparities in youth physical activity opportunities [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142a.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Partnerships

The purpose of this study was to investigate the effectiveness of the PE2GO pilot program in six school districts across the United States (Chicago, Ill; Los Angeles, Calif; Akron, Ohio; New York, NY; Memphis, Tenn; and Portland, Ore). PE2GO is a community affairs initiative of Nike, Inc, the athletic apparel and shoe manufacturer based in Beaverton, Ore. Within the PE2GO program, Nike partners with organizations across the country to offer programs in underserved areas (e.g., Native American Boys & Girls Clubs, African American and Latino communities in Los Angeles) to foster physical activity among youth through their influencers such as parents, teachers, and coaches. PE2GO is a self-contained physical education (PE) program that provides classroom teachers with the tools they need to lead developmentally appropriate, quality PE lessons in their fourth- and fifth-grade classrooms in inner-city schools. The pilot program reached 6000 elementary school students.

In September 2003, experienced trainers from nonprofit Sports, Play, and Active Recreation for Kids (SPARK) conducted a one-day training of PE staff using a playbook created especially for the PE2GO program. Nike provided the curriculum and the necessary equipment. The initial training focused on two themes: building a foundation and disguising fitness. A second training approximately four months later focused on a third theme: simplifying sports. Trained evaluation consultants independent from Nike or SPARK collected data for the program’s evaluation and analyses in three distinct phases: pre-intervention, mid-intervention, and post-intervention. The intervention occurred through May 2004, and all data were reported by the faculty and administrators at the schools where the curricula were implemented (N = 164); this group included classroom teachers (n = 128), PE specialists (n = 22), and school-level administrators (n = 14).

Reported minutes of PE per week increased significantly from pre-intervention to mid-intervention (37 minutes pre-intervention vs 60 minutes mid-intervention; P < .05) and remained significantly higher than pre-intervention at the post-test (73 minutes). Satisfaction increased significantly from pre-intervention to mid-intervention (P < .05) and remained elevated post-intervention. Four of the eight questions assessing barriers showed that barriers decreased significantly from pre-intervention to mid-intervention (P < .05) and remained reduced post-intervention. Almost all administrators reported that they would support staff development (94%) and encourage staff to implement PE2GO (88%); more than half said they would reward staff for implementing PE2GO with fidelity (56%). From the qualitative research, almost all responded that administrators have expressed support for the program, yet about half added that administrators have had little involvement. Classroom teachers were successfully trained and satisfied with the program and the effect it was having on their fourth- and fifth-grade students. Reported minutes of PE increased substantially.

The PE2GO program holds promise in this day of declining opportunities for children to be active during their school hours, especially in schools with limited resources for PE specialists.

Corresponding Author: Maurice W Martin, PhD, MEd, Research Evaluation Specialist, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Diabetes Translation, 4770 Buford Highway NE, Mail Stop K-10, Atlanta, GA 30341. Telephone: 770-488-5385. E-mail: beq2@cdc.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services