Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Changement de réponse : le résultat mesurable et désiré des programmes d'autogestion des maladies chroniques qui va à l'encontre de l'évaluation pré-intervention/post-intervention


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Melanie Hawkins, Richard Osborne

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Hawkins M, Osborne R. Changement de réponse : le résultat mesurable et désiré des programmes d'autogestion des maladies chroniques qui va à l'encontre de l'évaluation pré-intervention/post-intervention [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142u_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Programmes fondés sur des résultats : recherche, concrétisation et évaluation

Les programmes d'autogestion des maladies chroniques sont conçus non seulement pour rendre les participants autonomes et accroître leurs connaissances, mais aussi pour leur conférer une perception existentielle de leur santé et de leur capacité d'autogestion. Le résultat d'un programme d'autogestion est traditionnellement évalué en comparant les questionnaires pré-intervention et post-intervention, une méthodologie qui suppose que les participants qui répondent aux questions ont la même perspective avant et après le programme. Des revues systématiques des résultats des programmes d'autogestion basées sur des réponses par autoévaluation identifient peu ou pas d'effets. Cette étude portant sur des programmes communautaires d'autogestion en Australie cherchait à déterminer si des changements dans les valeurs ou les perspectives personnelles (appelés changements de réponse) se produisaient chez les participants et si les changements de réponse sont mesurables avec un questionnaire sur papier.

Le HEI-Q-Perspective Questionnaire (Questionnaire de perspective HEI-Q), un questionnaire rétrospectif post-test portant sur neuf éléments, a été mis au point pour mesurer les avantages potentiels des programmes d'autogestion. Au cours d'interviews cognitives, des répondants expliquèrent spontanément les raisons de leurs réponses aux neuf éléments du questionnaire sur papier. La sensibilité, la spécificité et l'exactitude globale du questionnaire ont été calculées en utilisant l'interview comme étalon-or. Un changement de réponse peut être négatif (c'est-à-dire, les participants déclarent après le programme qu'ils réalisent maintenant que leur état était pire qu'ils ne le pensaient avant le programme) ou positif (c'est-à-dire, les participants réalisent maintenant que leur état était meilleur qu'ils ne le pensaient avant le programme) ou neutre (aucun changement).

Des interviews en profondeur (n = 39) et des questionnaires envoyés par courrier (n = 132) indiquèrent qu'un « véritable » changement de réponse se produisit pour environ la moitié des éléments du questionnaire. Dans 33 % des cas, on a constaté un changement de réponse négatif, dans 18 % un changement de réponse positif et dans 32 % environ aucun changement. Il était impossible de déterminer la présence ou l'absence de changement de réponse dans environ 17 % des cas. On a pu observer une concordance significative entre l’interview et le questionnaire (exactitude globale moyenne de 0,79), ce qui indique que le questionnaire identifiait de manière efficace les changements de réponse. Un changement de réponse positif ou négatif semblait avoir des effets profonds sur les résultats rapportés par le patient - d'importants effets positifs ou négatifs du programme révélés au cours d'une interview pouvaient même être masqués par le score pré-intervention/post-intervention d'un individu. Ceci démontre clairement que les changements de réponse peuvent aller à l'encontre des évaluations traditionnelles des résultats des programmes d'autogestion.

Des changements de réponse se produisirent chez environ la moitié des participants. Ce résultat suggère que l'évaluation traditionnelle des résultats (test pré-intervention par rapport au test post-intervention) est imparfaite. Un changement de réponse est un résultat désirable des programmes, qu'on n'est pas arrivé à mesurer d’une façon formelle. La forte concordance entre le questionnaire et les interviews cognitives indique que le questionnaire HEI-Q-Perspective peut détecter un changement de réponse. Ce nouveau questionnaire aidera les chercheurs et les personnes chargées d'évaluer les programmes à mieux estimer l'impact des programmes d'autogestion et à comprendre le rôle des changements de réponse dans ce contexte et dans d'autres.

Auteur-correspondant : Richard H. Osborne, BSc, PhD, The University of Melbourne Department of Medicine, Centre for Rheumatic Diseases, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Melbourne, Australie 3050. Téléphone: +61-3-9342-8561. Courriel : richardo@unimelb.edu.au.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Response Shift: The Measurable and Desired Outcome of Chronic Disease Self-management Programs That Violates Pre–Post Assessment


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (114K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Melanie Hawkins, Richard Osborne

Suggested citation for this article: Hawkins M, Osborne R. Response shift: the measurable and desired outcome of chronic disease self-management programs that violates pre-post assessment [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142u.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Evidence-based Programs: Research, Translation, and Evaluation

Chronic disease self-management programs are designed not only to empower participants and increase their knowledge but also to provide participants with existential insights into their health and ability to self manage. The outcome of a self-management program is traditionally evaluated by comparing pre-intervention and post-intervention questionnaires, a methodology that assumes that participants answer questions from the same perspective before and after the program. Systematic reviews of the outcomes from self-management interventions that use self-appraisal outcomes identify small to no effects. This study of community-based self-management programs in Australia aimed to determine if changes in internal values or perspectives (termed a response shift) occurred in participants and if response shift is measurable with a paper-based questionnaire.

The HEI-Q-Perspective Questionnaire, a retrospective nine-item post-test questionnaire, was developed to measure potential benefits of self-management programs. Cognitive interviews with respondents elicited spontaneous statements about the reasons for their paper-based answers across the nine items. The sensitivity, specificity, and overall accuracy of the questionnaire were calculated using the interview as the gold standard. A response shift can be negative (i.e., after the course, participants report they now realize that before the course they were worse than they thought they were), positive (i.e., participants now realize they were better before the course than they thought they were), or neutral (no change).

In-depth interviews (n = 39) and mailed questionnaires (n = 132) reflected that a “true” response shift occurred in about half of the questionnaire items. Of these, 33% had a negative response shift, 18% had a positive response shift, and approximately 32% had no response shift. The presence or absence of response shift could not be determined in approximately 17% of cases. Substantial concordance between interview and questionnaire were observed (average overall accuracy 0.79), indicating the questionnaire effectively identified response shift. A positive or negative response shift was found to have profound effects on patient-reported outcomes — even large positive or large negative program effects revealed in an interview could be concealed in an individual’s pre–post score. This clearly demonstrates that response shift can violate classic outcome assessment of self-management programs.

Response shift occurred in about half of the participants. This result suggests that classic outcome assessment (pre-test vs post-test) in many individuals is flawed. Response shift is a desirable outcome of courses but has not been formally measured. The strong concordance between the questionnaire and cognitive interviews indicates the HEI-Q-Perspective can detect response shift. This new questionnaire will assist researchers and program evaluators to better estimate the impact of self-management programs and to understand the role of response shift in this and other settings.

Corresponding Author: Richard H. Osborne, BSc, PhD, The University of Melbourne Department of Medicine, Centre for Rheumatic Diseases, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Melbourne, Australia 3050. Telephone: +61-3-9342-8561. E-mail: richardo@unimelb.edu.au.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services