Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Inciter les personnes âgées à devenir plus actives dans leur communauté : mise au point d'un outil d'audit


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Melissa Kealey, Judy Kruger, Rebecca Hunter, Susan Ivey, William Satariano, Constance Bayles, Laura Brennan Ramirez, Lucinda Bryant, Courtney Johnson, Chanam Lee, David Levinger, Kathleen McTigue, Gwen Moni, Anne Vernez Moudon, Delores Pluto, Thomas Prohaska, Christen Sible, Sabrina Tindal, Sara Wilcox, Kendra Winters, Kathy Williams

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Kealey M, Kruger J, Hunter R, Ivey S, Satariano W, Bayles C, et al. Inciter les personnes âgées à devenir plus actives dans leur communauté : mise au point d'un outil d'audit [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142q_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Déterminants sociaux des iniquités de santé

Les personnes âgées risquent le plus de se trouver en mauvaise santé en raison d'un accroissement de la prévalence des maladies chroniques et du vieillissement de la population. On a mis en évidence des disparités de santé, déterminées par l'âge et le statut socio-économique, au niveau de nombreux indicateurs de l'activité physique, et qui peuvent être expliquées en partie par des différences dans le cadre bâti dans lequel ces personnes âgées vivent, travaillent et se divertissent. Les partenaires du groupe de discussion sur l'environnement du Healthy Aging Research Network (HAN) (Réseau de recherche pour un vieillissement sain) des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies) ont conçu et testé un instrument spécialisé dans les relations entre le cadre bâti et l'activité physique des personnes âgées.

Des quartiers se trouvant dans sept communautés diverses des États-Unis desservies par le réseau HAN ont été étudiés : Alamosa (Colorado) ; Columbia (Caroline du Sud) ; Hendersonville (Caroline du Nord) ; Seattle (État de Washington) ; McKeesport (Pennsylvanie) ; Chicago (Illinois) et Berkeley (Californie). Un instrument d'audit du milieu, conçu pour être sensible aux problèmes importants touchant les personnes âgées, a été mis au point pour estimer l’échelle des rues en rapport avec l’activité physique des personnes âgées, dans de nombreux contextes. Les éléments d'audit comprennent l'utilisation du terrain, les destinations, l’état des trottoirs et des carrefours, les agréments comme des bancs, le désordre social comme les ordures et les types d'activité humaine observés. Dans le cadre de l'étude pilote, 15 à 30 segments de rues ont été audités par au moins deux chercheurs chevronnés dans chacun des sept sites HAN. En plus de cet audit, des interviews en profondeur semi-structurées ont été conduites pour identifier d’autres éléments importants pour les personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus.

Le coefficient d’objectivité a été examiné chez les chercheurs ayant une formation professionnelle. Dans les sept sites HAN, des chercheurs ont examiné les différences entre les segments du voisinage audités pour déterminer la distribution des variables de l'étude, comme la présence de trottoirs et de passages pour piétons. Des interviews en profondeur auprès des personnes âgées, au sujet de l’impact du milieu sur la marche, il est ressorti que le fait d'avoir une destination constituait une incitation importante à la marche, même si de nombreuses personnes déclarèrent qu'elles marchaient pour se rendre à certaines destinations et aussi pour le plaisir de marcher. Des destinations comme les magasins d'alimentation, les banques, les pharmacies, les restaurants et les instituts de beauté ont été mentionnées, de même que les églises, les bibliothèques, les jardins publics et les domiciles des membres de la famille, des amis et des voisins. La sécurité de la personne était un autre sujet fréquemment abordé, avec de nombreux habitants déclarant qu’ils ne se sentaient pas en danger lorsqu'ils marchaient pendant la journée, mais craignant de marcher la nuit. Les personnes interviewées indiquèrent que le choix de leur itinéraire était influencé par la longueur du trajet, la qualité des trottoirs, les gens rencontrés sur le chemin, l'importance de la circulation routière, les passages pour piétons et la présence de feux rouges ou de panneaux de signalisation, le sentiment de se sentir à l’abri d’une agression, le paysage, l'esthétique et la présence de choses intéressantes à regarder. Les projets futurs comprennent l'utilisation de l’outil d'audit du milieu dans une étude destinée à déterminer quels sont les éléments d'audit du milieu qui présentent une corrélation avec le comportement réel des personnes âgées vis-à-vis de la marche.

Auteur-correspondant : Judy Kruger, PhD, Épidémiologiste, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mail Stop K-46, Atlanta, GA 30341, United States. Téléphone : 770-488-5922. Courriel : Jkruger@cdc.gov.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Engaging Older Adults to Be More Active Where They Live: Audit Tool Development


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (115K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Melissa Kealey, Judy Kruger, Rebecca Hunter, Susan Ivey, William Satariano, Constance Bayles, Laura Brennan Ramirez, Lucinda Bryant, Courtney Johnson, Chanam Lee, David Levinger, Kathleen McTigue, Gwen Moni, Anne Vernez Moudon, Delores Pluto, Thomas Prohaska, Christen Sible, Sabrina Tindal, Sara Wilcox, Kendra Winters, Kathy Williams

Suggested citation for this article: Kealey M, Kruger J, Hunter R, Ivey S, Satariano W, Bayles C, et al. Engaging older adults to be more active where they live: audit tool development [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142q.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Social Determinants of Health Inequities

Because of an increase in the prevalence of chronic diseases and an aging population, older adults are at highest risk for poor health. Health disparities by age and socioeconomic status have been shown to exist for many physical activity outcomes and may be explained in part by differences in the built environment in which older adults live, work, and play. Partners of the Environmental Workgroup of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Healthy Aging Research Network (HAN) have designed and piloted an instrument that focuses on the relationship between the built environment and physical activity in older adults.

Neighborhoods in seven diverse U.S. communities served by HAN were studied: Alamosa, Colo; Columbia, SC; Hendersonville, NC; Seattle, Wash; McKeesport, Pa; Chicago, Ill; and Berkeley, Calif. An environmental audit instrument, developed to be sensitive to issues of importance to older adults, was designed to assess street-scale factors associated with physical activity across multiple settings. Audit items included land use, destinations, sidewalk and intersection conditions, amenities such as benches, social disorder such as litter, and the types of human activity observed. In the pilot study, 15–30 street segments were audited by two or more trained researchers at each of the seven HAN sites. In addition to the audit, qualitative semi-structured interviews were conducted to identify additional items of importance to adults aged 65 years or older.

Inter-rater reliability among the trained researchers was examined. Researchers across the seven HAN sites examined differences in neighborhood segments audited to determine the distribution of study variables, such as presence of sidewalks and crosswalks. Qualitative interviews of older adults about environmental influences on walking behavior revealed that having destinations to walk to appeared to be an important motivator for walking, although many people reported both walking to reach destinations as well as taking walks just for pleasure. Destinations such as grocery stores, banks, pharmacies, restaurants, and beauty parlors were mentioned, as were churches, libraries, parks, and the homes of family, friends, and neighbors. Personal safety was another frequently mentioned topic, with many residents feeling safe walking during the daytime but not at night. Interviewees indicated that their choice of walking routes was influenced by the length of the route, sidewalk quality, people along the route, amount of traffic, crosswalks and signals for crossing the street, perceived safety from crime, scenery, aesthetics, and presence of interesting things to look at. Future directions include using the environmental audit instrument in a study to see which environmental audit items are correlated with actual walking behavior in an older population.

Corresponding Author: Judy Kruger, PhD, Epidemiologist, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mail Stop K-46, Atlanta, GA 30341. Telephone: 770-488-5922. Email: Jkruger@cdc.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services