Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Surmonter les obstacles à l'accès aux services de soins de santé spécialisés


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Donna Russell Doran, Jeffrey Gold, Francis Serbaroli, Edward L. Hannan, Paul F. Macielak, William F. Streck

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Doran DR, Gold J, Serbaroli F, Hannan EL, Macielak PF, Streck WF. Surmonter les obstacles à l'accès aux services de soins de santé spécialisés [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142o_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Politique et droit

L'objectif de cette initiative interdisciplinaire couvrant tout l'État de New York était d'identifier les facteurs limitant l'accès aux soins spécialisés et d'élaborer des stratégies destinées à surmonter ces obstacles. Nous avons concentré nos efforts sur les obstacles pouvant être résolus par une politique de soins de santé, des réglementations ou des lois, et sur des stratégies innovantes pouvant être mises en œuvre dans le cadre des ressources limitées de notre système de soins de santé.

Un Quality Initiatives Workgroup (QIW) (Groupe de travail pour des initiatives de qualité) du New York State Public Health Council (PHC) (Conseil de la santé publique de l'État de New York) fut convoqué pour examiner les problèmes et les solutions potentielles associés aux disparités d'accès aux soins spécialisés que les résidents de l'État de New York connaissent. Le groupe de travail était composé de membres du PHC et d'experts dans les domaines concernés. En plus de recueillir des informations des membres du comité du QIW sur des questions cliniques, analytiques et financières, le groupe décida de rassembler des données par l'intermédiaire de discussions auxquelles de nombreux experts prenaient part (y compris des spécialistes des réglementations, des assureurs, des prestataires de soins de santé, des chercheurs, des représentants des patients, des éducateurs médicaux et des sociétés professionnelles), de revues de la littérature et de réponses à un sondage destiné à donner un aperçu général des obstacles et des solutions potentielles permettant l'accès aux soins spécialisés.

Après avoir revu les témoignages des experts, les réponses au sondage et les travaux de recherche, le QIW conclut qu'il y avait des disparités d'accès aux soins et que celles-ci avaient un impact significatif et onéreux sur la santé générale des résidents de l'État de New York. Les facteurs associés aux obstacles d'accès aux soins appropriés pouvaient être répartis dans les catégories suivantes : problèmes d'administration des soins de santé (y compris la prise de conscience et l'application par les prestataires de soins de santé, les communications patient-prestataire et des problèmes d'acheminement dans le système), disponibilité des services, couverture des assurances et initiatives de recherche appliquée et de qualité. Les problèmes spécifiques, les objectifs et les actions recommandées sont identifiés dans chacun de ces domaines. On dispose de preuves suffisantes à l'appui d'une mise en œuvre de stratégies bien planifiées visant à réduire les inégalités existantes. Lors de l'évaluation des stratégies de lutte contre les obstacles, le QIW recommande de se concentrer initialement sur sept spécialisations cliniques : cardiopathies, accidents cérébrovasculaires, cancer, problèmes orthopédiques graves, diabète, insuffisance rénale terminale et VIH/SIDA. Ces maladies touchent une grande partie de la population et bénéficient de protocoles thérapeutiques cliniques relativement développés et acceptés (ce qui permet de les surveiller). En outre, des inégalités d'accès aux soins ont été identifiées dans la littérature en ce qui concerne ces maladies.

Les actions recommandées - certaines sont déjà mises en pratique - seront exposées. Ces recommandations fourniront un stimulus, des fondations et un cadre préliminaire permettant aux groupes de s'en servir ; offriront des conseils pour évaluer les prestations de services spécialisés ; identifieront les problèmes auxquels se heurte le secteur des soins de santé et serviront de plan pour les solutions appropriées.

Auteur-correspondant : Donna Russell Doran, Conseillère, Cardiac Quality Initiatives (Initiatives de qualité cardiaque), New York State Department of Health, Cardiac Service Program, 1 University Pl, Suite 209, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3455, United States. Téléphone : 518-402-1016. Courriel : drd03@Health.State.NY.US.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Overcoming Barriers in Access to Specialized Health Care Services


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (114K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Donna Russell Doran, Jeffrey Gold, Francis Serbaroli, Edward L. Hannan, Paul F. Macielak, William F. Streck

Suggested citation for this article: Doran DR, Gold J, Serbaroli F, Hannan EL, Macielak PF, Streck WF. Overcoming barriers in access to specialized health care services [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142o.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Policy and Legal

The objective of this interdisciplinary statewide initiative was to identify factors limiting access to specialty care and to develop strategies to overcome these barriers. We focused on barriers that are amenable to resolution through health care policy, regulation, or statute and on innovative strategies that could be implemented within the resource constraints of our health care system.

A Quality Initiatives Workgroup (QIW) of the New York State Public Health Council (PHC) was convened to examine issues and potential resolutions associated with disparities in access to specialty care for New York State residents. The work group was composed of members of the PHC and experts from pertinent fields. In addition to gathering input from QIW panel members on clinical, analytical, and financial issues, the group set out to gather information through roundtable discussions with a broad range of experts (including regulators, insurers, providers, researchers, patient advocates, medical educators, and professional societies), literature reviews, and responses from a survey aimed at gaining a broad perspective on barriers and potential solutions to accessing specialty care.

The QIW’s review of expert testimony, questionnaire responses, and research concluded that disparities in access to care exist and that these disparities have a significant and costly impact on the overall health of New York State residents. Factors associated with barriers to appropriate health care fall into the following categories: health care delivery issues (including provider awareness and implementation, patient-provider communications, and system navigation issues), availability of services, insurance coverage, and applied research and quality initiatives. Specific issues, goals, and recommended actions are identified in each of these areas. Sufficient evidence is available to support implementation of well-planned strategies aimed at reducing existing inequities. In evaluating strategies for overcoming barriers, the QIW recommends an initial focus on seven clinical areas: heart disease, stroke, cancer, major orthopedic conditions, diabetes, end-stage renal disease, and HIV/AIDS. These diseases impact a substantial portion of the population and have relatively mature and accepted clinical treatment protocols (thus making them amenable to monitoring). Additionally, inequities to care have been identified in the literature for these diseases.

Recommended actions — some of which are being implemented — will be discussed. These recommendations will provide a stimulus, foundation, and preliminary framework for groups to build upon; offer guidance for evaluating the provision of specialized services; identify challenges that cut across the health care sector; and provide a road map for remediation.

Corresponding Author: Donna Russell Doran, Cardiac Quality Initiatives, Advisor, New York State Department of Health, Cardiac Service Program, 1 University Pl, Suite 209, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3455. Telephone: 518-402-1016. E-mail: drd03@Health.State.NY.US.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services