Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Tirer le plus grand parti des données d'état civil : la mortalité due aux cardiopathies liées au diabète au Nouveau-Mexique


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Heidi Krapfl, Dorothy Gohdes, Janet Croft

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Krapfl H, Gohdes D, Croft J. Tirer le plus grand parti des données d'état civil : la mortalité due aux cardiopathies liées au diabète au Nouveau-Mexique [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142n_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Méthodes et surveillance

L'objectif de cette étude était d'illustrer comment les données sur la mortalité due à des causes multiples peuvent mieux expliquer la mortalité due aux cardiopathies chez les différents groupes raciaux/ethniques.

Les dossiers sur la mortalité due à des causes multiples au Nouveau-Mexique entre 1999 et 2001 ont été obtenus auprès du National Center for Health Statistics (Centre national des statistiques de santé) des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies). Les décès dus aux cardiopathies au Nouveau-Mexique ont été identifiés par les codes I00–I09, I11, I13 et I20–I51 de l'International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision (ICD-10) (Classification internationale des maladies, dixième révision). La catégorie cardiopathie prématurée a été définie comme un décès lié à une cardiopathie latente survenant chez des personnes de moins de 65 ans. La catégorie cardiopathie liée au diabète a été définie comme un décès dont la cause sous-jacente était une cardiopathie, et le diabète (codes ICD-10 : E10-E14) a été noté en tant qu'une cause parmi 20 causes possibles contribuant au décès. Les habitants du Nouveau-Mexique étaient répartis en quatre catégories raciales/ethniques : Blancs non hispaniques, Hispaniques de race quelconque, Amérindiens non hispaniques et autres. Tous les taux de décès dus à des cardiopathies étaient calculés avec des estimations pour les populations des différentes races et ajustés en fonction de l'âge sur la base de la population-type des États-Unis en 2000.

De 1999 à 2001, les cardiopathies constituaient la cause principale de 24 % de tous les décès enregistrés au Nouveau-Mexique. Parmi ces décès, 16,6 % concernaient des personnes âgées de moins de 65 ans et étaient donc classés comme prématurés. Le pourcentage des décès dus à des cardiopathies prématurées était considérablement plus élevé chez les Amérindiens (29,9 %) et chez les Hispaniques (20,8 %) que chez les Blancs (13,7 %). Le diabète contribuait à près de 18 % des décès dus à des cardiopathies prématurées chez les Amérindiens et chez les Hispaniques et à 10 % chez les Blancs.

Les données sur la mortalité due à des causes multiples indiquent que le rôle du diabète dans les cardiopathies prématurées varie en fonction des groupes raciaux/ethniques du Nouveau-Mexique. Ces résultats justifient une analyse continue de ces données d'une manière cohérente et font ressortir la menace croissante du diabète dans les différentes communautés des États-Unis. Une grande partie des progrès réalisés aux États-Unis en ce qui concerne la diminution des maladies cardio-vasculaires risque d'être effacée à mesure que le diabète et l’obésité croissants entraînent des décès liés aux cardiopathies prématurées au sein de nombreuses populations.

Auteur-correspondant : R. Heidi Krapfl, MS, Épidémiologiste, New Mexico Department of Health, Diabetes Prevention and Control Program, 1190 St Francis Dr, S-1300, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4173, United States. Téléphone : 505-827-0325. Courriel : Heidi.Krapfl@doh.state.nm.us.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Getting the Most Out of Vital Statistics Data: Diabetes-related Heart Disease Mortality in New Mexico


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (93K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Heidi Krapfl, Dorothy Gohdes, Janet Croft

Suggested citation for this article: Krapfl H, Gohdes D, Croft J. Getting the most out of vital statistics data: diabetes-related heart disease mortality in New Mexico [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142n.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Methods and Surveillance

The objective of this study was to illustrate how multiple-cause mortality data can enhance interpretation of heart disease (HD) mortality among racial/ethnic groups.

Multiple-cause mortality files for New Mexico from 1999–2001 were obtained from the National Center for Health Statistics at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Deaths from HD for New Mexico residents were identified by the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision (ICD-10) codes I00–I09, I11, I13, and I20–I51. Premature heart disease (PHD) was defined as any underlying HD death occurring in persons aged less than 65 years. Diabetes-related HD was classified as any death where the underlying cause of death was HD, and diabetes (ICD-10 codes E10–E14) was reported as any of up to 20 contributing causes of death. Residents were grouped into four racial/ethnic categories: non-Hispanic white, Hispanic of any race, non-Hispanic American Indian, and other. All death rates for HD were calculated with bridged-race population estimates and age-adjusted to the 2000 U.S. Standard Population.

From 1999 to 2001, 24% of all deaths in New Mexico reported HD as the leading cause of death. Of these deaths, 16.6% occurred in persons aged less than 65 years and were therefore classified as premature. The proportion of PHD deaths was substantially higher in the American Indian (29.2%) and Hispanic (20.8%) populations than in whites (13.7%). Diabetes contributed to almost 18% of PHD deaths in American Indians and Hispanics and to 10% of PHD deaths among whites.

Multiple-cause mortality data indicate that the contribution of diabetes to PHD is disparate among racial/ethnic groups in New Mexico. These results support continued analysis of these data in a consistent manner and further underscore the growing threat of diabetes to communities in the United States. Much of the progress in decreasing cardiovascular disease in the United States may be lost as increasing diabetes and obesity lead to PHD death in many populations.

Corresponding Author: R. Heidi Krapfl, MS, Epidemiologist, New Mexico Department of Health, Diabetes Prevention and Control Program, 1190 St Francis Dr, S-1300, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4173. Telephone: 505-827-0325. E-mail: Heidi.Krapfl@doh.state.nm.us.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services