Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Un partenariat communautaire destiné à faire face aux obstacles à l'activité physique dans une communauté noire américaine


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Marcus Plescia, Martha Groblewski

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Plescia M, Groblewski M. Un partenariat communautaire destiné à faire face aux obstacles à l'activité physique dans une communauté noire américaine [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142m_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Partenariats

L'objectif de ce projet était de décrire les changements de comportement face à l'activité physique découlant d'un partenariat entre une coalition communautaire, des conseillers de santé non professionnels et une branche de la YMCA.

Le projet Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH 2010) (Approches raciales et ethniques de la santé communautaire) des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies) finance 37 communautés pour qu'elles prennent part à des programmes communautaires participatifs, destinés à s’attaquer aux disparités de santé raciales et ethniques. Notre projet cible une communauté urbaine noire de 18 892 habitants, bien définie du point de vue géographique et disposant de peu de ressources médicales, dans la ville de Charlotte (Caroline du Nord).

L’objectif de ce projet est de recruter, former et soutenir des conseillers non professionnels pour promouvoir un changement des comportements de santé des membres de cette communauté. Un partenariat avec une branche locale de la YMCA a été mis sur pied pour soutenir les efforts des conseillers de santé non professionnels et pour faire face aux obstacles actuels empêchant la participation à une activité physique régulière. Les habitants de cette communauté sont incités à participer aux activités communautaires de la YMCA qui ont lieu dans différents cadres et sont financées par la coalition REACH 2010. Les méthodes d'évaluation comprennent : 1) un sondage annuel aléatoire par téléphone des membres de la communauté reposant sur des questions du Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Système de surveillance des facteurs de risque liés au comportement) sur le comportement face à l'activité physique ; 2) des sondages par téléphone avant le test et lors du suivi à deux ans des participants au programme, afin de mesurer la fréquence relative de l'activité physique et toute modification éventuelle du comportement face à l'activité physique et 3) des groupes de discussion dans le but de déterminer les facteurs motivant les membres de la communauté participant au programme de la YMCA.

Le projet a soutenu une moyenne de 15 conseillers de santé non professionnels actifs, travaillant au moins 10 heures par semaine dans la communauté. Durant la seconde année du projet, le pourcentage des membres adultes de la communauté en question indiquant qu'ils ne respectaient pas les recommandations concernant l'activité physique diminua de 32,0 % (intervalle de confiance [IC] à 95 % : 28,6 - 35,5) au début de l'étude à 24,4 % (IC à 95 % : 21,1 - 28,2). Lors du suivi à deux ans, 56,6 % des participants au programme de la YMCA indiquèrent qu'ils faisaient plus de sport qu’au début du projet et le pourcentage des participants indiquant qu'ils étaient arrivés à un stade où ils maintenaient ce changement augmenta de 41,67 % (IC à 95 % : 37,31 - 46,03) à 54,24 % (IC à 95 % : 48,01 - 58,65). Pour les sondés faisant partie des groupes de discussion, les aspects des programmes de la YMCA les incitant à poursuivre leur participation étaient des facteurs propres à la personne, comme une connaissance accrue de ses propres capacités, et des facteurs interpersonnels, comme le soutien social et la camaraderie.

Le partenariat entre une coalition communautaire du programme REACH 2010 et une branche locale de la YMCA joua un rôle déterminant, établissant et soutenant un programme communautaire organisé par des conseillers de la santé non professionnels dans le but de s’attaquer aux obstacles communautaires à l'activité physique. Ce programme à composants multiples a eu comme résultat un changement significatif du comportement face à l'activité physique aux niveaux individuel et communautaire.

Auteur-correspondant : Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH, Directeur, North Carolina Division of Public Health, Chronic Disease and Injury Section,  1915 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699, United States. Téléphone : 919-715-0125. Courriel : Marcus.Plescia@ncmail.net.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
A Community-based Partnership to Address Barriers to Physical Activity in an African American Community


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (111K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Marcus Plescia, Martha Groblewski

Suggested citation for this article: Plescia M, Groblewski M. A community-based partnership to address barriers to physical activity in an African American community [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142m.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Partnerships

The objective of this project was to describe changes in physical activity behaviors resulting from a partnership between a community coalition, lay health advisors, and a YMCA branch.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH 2010) project funds 37 communities to engage in participatory, community-based interventions to address racial and ethnic health disparities. Our project targets a geographically defined, urban, medically underserved, African American community of 18,892 in Charlotte, NC.

The focus of the project is to recruit, train, and support lay health advisors to promote health behavior change among community residents. A partnership with a local branch of the YMCA was designed to support the efforts of the lay health advisors and address existing barriers to participation in regular physical activity. Residents are encouraged to participate in community-based YMCA activities that occur in a range of settings and are funded by the REACH 2010 coalition. Evaluation methods include 1) a yearly random survey of community residents by telephone using Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System questions on physical activity behaviors; 2) pretest and two-year follow-up surveys by telephone of program participants to measure relative frequency of physical activity and current stage of change for physical activity behavior change; and 3) focus groups to determine motivational factors among community participants in the YMCA program.

The project has maintained an average of 15 active lay health advisors working at least 10 hours per week in the community. In the second year of the project, the percentage of adults in the focus community who indicated they did not meet physical activity recommendations decreased from 32.0% (95% Confidence Interval [CI], 28.6–35.5) at baseline to 24.4% (95% CI, 21.1–28.2). At two-year follow-up of YMCA program participants, 56.6% indicated that they were exercising more than they did two years before, and the percentage who indicated Maintenance Stage of Change increased from 41.67% (95% CI, 37.31–46.03) to 54.24% (95% CI, 48.01–58.65). Focus group respondents identified intrapersonal factors such as improved self-efficacy and interpersonal factors such as social support and fellowship as aspects of the YMCA programs that helped motivate them to continue participation in the program.

Partnership between a REACH 2010 community coalition and a local YMCA branch was instrumental in establishing and supporting a community lay health advisor program and addressing community barriers to physical activity. This multicomponent intervention resulted in significant physical activity behavior change at the individual and community levels.

Corresponding Author: Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH, Chief, North Carolina Division of Public Health, Chronic Disease and Injury Section, 1915 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699. Telephone: 919-715-0125. E-mail: Marcus.Plescia@ncmail.net.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services