Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Prévalence régionale/raciale du syndrome métabolique : l'étude de surveillance de la santé pour l'évaluation régionale de MSM (Morehouse School of Medicine), 2003-2004


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Cassandra Arroyo, Dennis Jones, Yong Liu, Rebecca Din-Dzietham, Sharon Davis

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Arroyo C, Jones D, Liu Y, Din-Dzietham R, Davis S. Prévalence régionale/raciale du syndrome métabolique : l'étude de surveillance de la santé pour l'évaluation régionale de MSM, 2004-2004 [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142l_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Programmes fondés sur des résultats : recherche, concrétisation et évaluation

L'objectif de cette étude était d'examiner les variations régionales et raciales de la prévalence du syndrome métabolique dans les comtés de Fulton, Bulloch, Candler, Evans et Jenkins, en Géorgie.

Des données recueillies en composant des numéros de téléphone au hasard, suivies de données d'examen ont été obtenues, en 2002 et 2003, auprès de 319 femmes et hommes noirs américains et blancs, âgés de 19 ans ou plus. Le syndrome métabolique était défini par les critères du panel III de traitement des adultes. Les corrélats comprenaient la race (noir américain par rapport à blanc non hispanique), le sexe, le niveau d'éducation, l'âge et la région (zone urbaine par rapport à zone rurale). Des modèles à une variable et à régression multiple étaient utilisés pour estimer l'interaction entre région et race et l'association avec les corrélats, en fixant la valeur nominale P à 0,05 pour l'effet principal et à 0,10 pour l'interaction. Les services de SUDAAN (Research Triangle Institute, Triangle Park, NC) ont été utilisés pour rendre compte de la complexité de la conception et obtenir des estimations correctes représentatives des comtés et de la variance.

La prévalence générale du syndrome métabolique était de 21,2 %. La prévalence non ajustée du syndrome métabolique était considérablement plus élevée (P < 0,001) dans les zones urbaines (21,4 %) que dans les zones rurales (19,6 %), chez les noirs américains (31,1 %) que chez les blancs non hispaniques (9,6 %) et chez les femmes (22,2 %) que chez les hommes (19,9 %). Il y avait une interaction significative entre la région et la race (P < 0,001) ; par conséquent, des modèles distincts ont été estimés pour les noirs américains et les blancs non hispaniques. Pour les noirs américains, le syndrome métabolique était 2,47 (intervalle de confiance [IC] à 95 % : 2,23-2,73) fois plus prévalent chez ceux vivant dans des zones urbaines que chez ceux vivant dans des zones rurales, et 0,48 (IC : 0,46-0,50) fois moins prévalent chez les hommes que chez les femmes. Le syndrome métabolique était également 1,48 (IC : 1,40-1,56) fois plus prévalent chez ceux ayant moins de 12 ans de scolarité et 0,68 (IC : 0,65-0,72) fois moins prévalent chez ceux ayant 12 ans de scolarité que chez ceux ayant plus de 12 ans de scolarité. Parmi les blancs non hispaniques, le syndrome métabolique était 0,34 (IC : 0,32-0,37) fois moins prévalent chez ceux vivant dans les zones urbaines, 6,13 (IC : 5,60-6,71) fois plus prévalent chez les hommes, 7,9 (IC :7,12-8,68) fois plus prévalent chez ceux ayant 12 ans de scolarité et 4,6 (IC : 3,82-5,66) fois plus prévalent chez ceux ayant moins de 12 ans de scolarité.

L'étude suggère que le syndrome métabolique est plus prévalent chez les noirs américains vivant dans les zones urbaines de Géorgie que chez les blancs vivant dans ces mêmes zones. Les estimations du taux de prévalence nationale du syndrome métabolique suggèrent que la prévalence est généralement supérieure chez les blancs. Une base de données plus complète est nécessaire pour explorer davantage cette interaction entre race et région, afin de pouvoir cibler des groupes plus spécifiques pour les interventions.

Auteur-correspondant : Cassandra Arroyo, MS, PhD, Instructeur de recherche, Morehouse School of Medicine, Social Epidemiology Research Center, 720 Westview Dr SW, NCPC 315, Atlanta, GA 30310, United States. Téléphone : 404-756-8909. Courriel : carroyo@msm.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Regional/Racial Prevalence of Metabolic Syndrome: The MSM Regional Assessment Health Surveillance Study, 2003–2004


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (114K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Cassandra Arroyo, Dennis Jones, Yong Liu, Rebecca Din-Dzietham, Sharon Davis

Suggested citation for this article: Arroyo C, Jones D, Liu Y, Din-Dzietham R, Davis S. Regional/racial prevalence of metabolic syndrome: the MSM Regional Assessment Health Surveillance Study, 2003–2004 [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142l.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Evidence-based Programs: Research, Translation, and Evaluation

The objective of this study was to examine regional and racial variations in the prevalence of metabolic syndrome (MetS) in Fulton, Bulloch, Candler, Evans, and Jenkins counties of Georgia.

Random-digit–dialing data followed by examination data were obtained from 319 African American and white men and women aged 19 years and older from 2002 through 2003. MetS was defined by Adult Treatment Panel III criteria. Correlates included race (African American vs non-Hispanic white), sex, education level, age, and region (urban vs rural). Univariate and multiple regression models were used to assess the interaction between region and race, and the association with correlates setting nominal P value at .05 for main effect and .10 for interaction. SUDAAN (Research Triangle Institute, Triangle Park, NC) was used to account for the complex design and to obtain correct variance and county-representative estimates.

The MetS overall prevalence was 21.2%. Unadjusted prevalence of MetS was significantly higher (P < .001) in urban areas (21.4%) vs rural areas (19.6%) among African Americans (31.1%) vs non-Hispanic whites (9.6%) and among women (22.2%) vs men (19.9%). There was a significant interaction between region and race (P < .001), so separate models were estimated for African Americans and non-Hispanic whites. For African Americans, MetS was 2.47 (95% Confidence Interval [CI], 2.23–2.73) times more prevalent among those living in urban vs rural areas and 0.48 (CI, 0.46–0.50) times less prevalent among men vs women. Prevalence of MetS was also 1.48 (CI, 1.40–1.56) times higher among those with less than 12 years of education and 0.68 (CI, 0.65–0.72) times lower among those with 12 years of education vs those with more than 12 years. Among non-Hispanic whites, MetS was 0.34 (CI, 0.32–0.37) times less prevalent among those living in the urban area, 6.13 (CI, 5.60-6.71) times more prevalent among men, 7.9 (CI, 7.12–8.68) times more prevalent among those with 12 years of education, and 4.6 (CI, 3.82–5.66) times more prevalent among those with less than 12 years of education.

The study suggests that African Americans living in the urban area of Georgia have a higher prevalence of MetS than their white counterparts. National prevalence rate estimates for MetS suggest that whites in general have a higher prevalence of MetS. A more comprehensive database is needed to further explore this interaction between race and region to target more specific groups for intervention.

Corresponding Author: Cassandra Arroyo, MS, PhD, Research Instructor, Morehouse School of Medicine, Social Epidemiology Research Center, 720 Westview Dr SW, NCPC 315, Atlanta, GA 30310. Telephone: 404-756-8909. E-mail: carroyo@msm.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services