Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Mise sur pied d'un programme rural de spécialistes de la promotion de la santé pour fournir des soins préventifs aux personnes ayant un accès limité au système de soins de santé


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Joy N. Maltese, Cary Brewton

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Maltese JN, Brewton C. Mise sur pied d'un programme rural de spécialistes de la promotion de la santé pour fournir des soins préventifs aux personnes ayant un accès limité au système de soins de santé [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142k_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Partenariats

L'objectif de ce programme était de recruter et de former des individus pour aider à promouvoir les soins de santé préventifs dans les zones rurales reculées. Le programme fut mis sur pied dans les communautés des comtés de Troup et de Heard, dans l'Ouest rural de la Géorgie.

La District Four Public Health Chronic Disease Prevention Initiative (Initiative de prévention des maladies chroniques du service de santé publique du quatrième district) apporta de légères modifications au programme Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH) (Approches raciales et ethniques de la santé des communautés) 2010 (conçu pour les zones urbaines) et le mit en œuvre dans nos communautés rurales. Le recrutement des volontaires non professionnels s'est fait principalement dans les communautés religieuses, mais aussi dans des entreprises et commerces privés, comme des laveries automatiques et des centres communautaires. Les volontaires étaient formés à mesurer la tension artérielle, à mesurer l'indice de masse corporelle, à donner des conseils diététiques, à fournir des informations sur les activités physiques et les ressources destinées à aider les personnes testées. Une bibliothèque de ressources fut mise sur pied pour fournir des informations de soutien, y compris des brochures et des tableaux à feuilles, afin de faciliter les rapports entre les volontaires et les individus à risque. Des spécialistes de la promotion de la santé recueillirent et soumirent des informations de contact au personnel de prévention des maladies chroniques des services de santé du district, en vue d'une revue générale.

À la suite d'une formation d'un jour offerte à 15 spécialistes de promotion de la santé, le 7 février 2004, 134 personnes furent testées sur une période de trois mois, de février à juin 2004. Parmi les individus testés, 98 % étaient des Noirs américains vivant dans des zones rurales de l’Ouest de la Géorgie et n’ayant aucun accès ou ayant un accès limité au système de soins de santé. Les données ont mis en évidence que 39 % des individus testés étaient préhypertendus et 37 % souffraient d'hypertension au stade 1 ou 2, d'après leurs mesures systoliques. La mesure de l'indice de masse corporelle révéla que 34 % d'entre eux présentaient une surcharge pondérale et que 40 % étaient considérés comme obèses. En tout, 76 % des individus testés présentaient des risques d'hypertension, ce qui correspondait bien au fait que 74 % d'entre eux présentaient une surcharge pondérale ou étaient obèses.

En outre, huit individus qui souffraient d'hypertension au stade 2 avouèrent ne pas prendre les médicaments prescrits par leur médecin. Le spécialiste de promotion de la santé encouragea ces personnes à reprendre leurs médicaments et nota un retour à des mesures normales de pression sanguine, généralement après deux à quatre semaines de médication régulière.

Il est essentiel que des volontaires non professionnels soient formés pour devenir des spécialistes de promotion de la santé dans les zones rurales, aidant ainsi à prévenir les accidents cérébrovasculaires et les crises cardiaques et à diminuer le nombre de visites superflues au service des urgences en l’absence d'un prestataire de soins de santé. Les individus testés et conseillés par les volontaires réagirent bien aux conseils donnés par des personnes qu'ils connaissaient et en qui ils avaient confiance, dans leurs églises, leurs centres communautaires et les entreprises et commerces locaux. Nous avons actuellement une liste d'attente pour les personnes désireuses de recevoir cette formation et nous espérons étendre cette initiative à chaque communauté de notre district de santé publique et, finalement, à toute la Géorgie.

Auteur-correspondant : Joy N. Maltese, RN, Coordinatrice des initiatives de prévention des maladies chroniques et Coordinateur de la prévention des accidents cérébrovasculaires et des crises cardiaques, Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health, District 4 Health Services, 122A Gordon Commercial Dr, LaGrange, GA 30240, United States. Téléphone : 706-845-4035. Courriel : jnmaltese@gdph.state.ga.us.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Developing a Rural Health Promotion Specialist Program to Provide Preventive Health Care to the Medically Indigent


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (111K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Joy N. Maltese, Cary Brewton

Suggested citation for this article: Maltese JN, Brewton C. Developing a rural health promotion specialist program to provide preventive health care to the medically indigent [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142k.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Partnerships

The objective of this program was to recruit and train individuals to help promote preventive health care in underserved rural areas. The program took place in Troup County and Heard County communities in rural west Georgia.

The District Four Public Health Chronic Disease Prevention Initiative made minor modifications to the Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH) 2010 program (designed for urban areas) and implemented it in our rural communities. To recruit lay volunteers, we primarily focused on the faith community but also included private businesses such as laundromats and community centers. Volunteers were trained in blood pressure screenings, body mass index (BMI) measuring, diet counseling, exercise, and resources to support individuals screened. A resource library was established with supporting information that included pamphlets and flip charts to help facilitate volunteers’ interaction with individuals at risk. Health promotion specialists collected and submitted contact data for aggregate review to the District Health Services Chronic Disease Prevention staff.

After one-day training was provided to 15 health promotion specialists on February 7, 2004, 134 people were screened over a three-month period between February and June 2004. Of the individuals screened, 98% were African American, lived in rural areas of west Georgia, and were medically indigent or had limited access to health care. The data showed that 39% of the individuals screened were prehypertensive and 37% were either in stage 1 or stage 2 hypertension for their systolic measurement. The BMI measurements showed that 34% were overweight and 40% were considered obese. Overall, 76% of those screened showed hypertensive risks that correlated to 74% that were overweight or obese.

Futhermore, eight individuals who had stage 2 hypertension reported not taking medications as directed by their doctor. The health promotion specialist was able to encourage these people to resume their medications and recorded a return to normal blood pressures usually after two to four weeks of taking medications on a regular basis.

Having lay volunteers trained as health promotion specialists in rural areas is critical in preventing stroke and heart attack and reducing unnecessary emergency department visits in the absence of a health care provider. Individuals screened and counseled responded well to the advice given by people they know and trust in their churches, community centers, and local businesses. We currently have a waiting list for people to be trained and hope to expand this initiative to every community in our health district and, eventually, throughout Georgia.

Corresponding Author: Joy N. Maltese, RN, Chronic Disease Prevention Initiatives Coordinator and Stroke and Heart Attack Prevention Coordinator, Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health, District 4 Health Services, 122A Gordon Commercial Dr, LaGrange, GA 30240. Telephone: 706-845-4035. E-mail: jnmaltese@gdph.state.ga.us.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services