Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Éduquer les membres des conseils scolaires de Californie : aligner les politiques pour la santé et la réussite des étudiants


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Peggy Agron, Victoria Berends

Référence suggérée pour cet article : Agron P, Berends V. Éduquer les membres des conseils scolaires de Californie : aligner les politiques pour la santé et la réussite des étudiants [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142f_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Politique et droit

L'objectif de ce projet était de faire connaître la mise au point, l'application et les résultats d'une intervention de trois ans visant à éduquer les membres des conseils scolaires de Californie sur l'importance du rôle des politiques nutritionnelles scolaires dans l’amélioration de la santé et des résultats scolaires des étudiants.

Le California Project LEAN (CPL) (Projet californien Minceur), la California School Boards Association (CSBA) (Association des conseils scolaires de Californie), l'University of South Florida (Université de Floride du Sud), la California Parent Teachers Association (Association des parents d'élèves et des enseignants de Californie) et 10 associations régionales joignirent leurs efforts pour éduquer les membres des conseils scolaires dans toute la Californie, et en particulier ceux des districts scolaires regroupant les couches les plus défavorisées de la jeunesse.

Des études formatives, en particulier une revue des documents, une analyse des médias, des entrevues avec les personnes détenant des informations clés et un sondage global des membres et administrateurs en chef des conseils scolaires de Californie, furent menées dans le but de comprendre les facteurs influençant les décisions politiques des membres des conseils scolaires de Californie. Ces recherches ont jeté les bases d’un plan de marketing social et de stratégies d'intervention. Ces travaux de recherche révélèrent que la CSBA était extrêmement respectée par ses membres. Les activités suivantes furent mises en œuvre conjointement par la CSBA et le CPL : 1) mise au point du Healthy Food Policy Resource Guide (Guide de ressources pour des politiques nutritionnelles saines : le Guide), 2) publication d'articles et de messages publicitaires dans les communications de la CSBA, 3) formation de plus de 300 membres des conseils scolaires dans tout l'État de Californie et 4) mobilisation locale menée par les coordinateurs régionaux du CPL.

L'évaluation de ce projet de trois ans se fit sous la forme des éléments suivants : 1) sondages des membres des conseils scolaires ayant reçu le Guide et suivi la formation, 2) entrevues avec les personnes détenant des informations clés et 3) post-sondage des membres des conseils scolaires et des administrateurs en chef.

Les résultats de cette évaluation suggéraient que le Guide était utile pour les membres des conseils scolaires et que ceux qui avaient suivi la formation avaient l’intention de discuter des politiques nutritionnelles lors d'une réunion du conseil scolaire. Un certain nombre de districts scolaires californiens ont institué des politiques encourageant un régime alimentaire sain. Les sondages et les entrevues suivant la distribution du Guide et la formation ont été analysés et les données finales ont été rendues publiques le 1er janvier 2005. L'impact de ce projet continue de se faire sentir car de plus en plus de districts scolaires demandent de l'aide pour mobiliser l'opinion en faveur d’une meilleure nutrition pour leurs étudiants.

Les États-Unis souffrent d'une épidémie de troubles liés à l'obésité sans précédent. Les aliments offerts aux enfants dans les écoles ont très souvent une teneur très élevée en graisses et en sucre et un apport calorique considérable. Ce phénomène peut contribuer à des régimes alimentaires inadéquats et à de mauvaises habitudes diététiques. Par le biais de campagnes ciblées et de partenariats avec des éducateurs respectés, les responsables politiques locaux peuvent disposer des ressources requises pour favoriser une bonne nutrition.

Auteur-correspondant : Peggy Agron, MA, RD, Responsable du programme, California Department of Health Services, California Project LEAN, PO Box 997413, Mail Stop 7211, Sacramento, CA 95899-7413, United States. Téléphone : 916-552-9883. Courriel : pagron@dhs.ca.gov.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Educating California School Board Members: Aligning Policies for Student Health and Achievement


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (112K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Peggy Agron, Victoria Berends

Suggested citation for this article: Agron P, Berends V. Educating California school board members: aligning policies for student health and achievement [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142f.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Policy and Legal

The objective of this project was to share the development, implementation, and outcomes of a three-year intervention aimed to educate California school board members about the important role school nutrition policies can play to increase the health and academic achievement of students.

California Project LEAN (CPL), the California School Boards Association (CSBA), the University of South Florida, The California Parent Teachers Association, and 10 regional collaboratives worked together to educate school board members across California. Special outreach efforts were directed toward school districts serving low-income children.

Formative research was conducted to understand the factors that influence policy decision making for California school board members and included a literature review, a media analysis, key informant interviews, and a statewide survey of California school board members and superintendents. The formative research served as the foundation for developing a social marketing plan and intervention strategies. Research indicated that CSBA was highly respected by its members. The following activities were implemented jointly by CSBA and CPL: 1) the development of a Healthy Food Policy Resource Guide (Guide); 2) placement of advertisements and articles published in CSBA communications; 3) training of more than 300 school board members across the state; and 4) local mobilization led by CPL regional coordinators.

The evaluation of this three-year project consisted of 1) surveys of school board members who received the guide and attended a training; 2) key informant interviews; and 3) a postsurvey of school board members and superintendents.

Evaluation findings suggested that the Guide was useful to school board members and that members who attended trainings planned to raise the issue of nutrition policy for discussion at a school board meeting. A number of California districts have established policies that support healthy eating. Postsurveys and postinterviews were analyzed, and final data was available by January 1, 2005. The impact of this project continues to be realized as more school districts request assistance for mobilizing to offer healthier foods for their students.

The nation is experiencing an unparalleled obesity epidemic. Many of the foods children eat at school are high in fat, sugar, and calories. These practices can contribute to inadequate diets and the development of poor dietary habits. Developing targeted campaigns with respected education partners can provide local policy makers with resources to help them establish policies to support healthy eating.

Corresponding Author: Peggy Agron, MA, RD, Program Chief, California Department of Health Services, California Project LEAN (Leaders Encouraging Activity and Nutrition), PO Box 997413, Mail Stop 7211, Sacramento, CA 95899-7413. Telephone: 916-552-9883. E-mail: pagron@dhs.ca.gov.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services