Secondhand Smoke infographics
Secondhand smoke and the harmful chemicals in it are known causes of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome, RESPIRATORY INFECTIONS, ear infections, and asthma attacks in infants and children. They are also known causes of HEART DISEASE, stroke, and lung cancer in adult nonsmokers.
Chart 1: Chart detailing the higher exposure rates to second hand smoke of certain groups of nonsmoking Americans. Nonsmoking Americans ages 3-11 years 41% higher exposure rate, ages 12-19 years 34% higher exposure rate, age 20 years and older 21% higher exposure rate. Nonsmoking white Americans 22% higher exposure rate, black 47% higher exposure rate, Mexican American 24% higher exposure rate. Nonsmoking Americans below the poverty level 43% higher exposure rate, at the poverty level 21% higher exposure rate. Nonsmoking Americans who own their home 19% higher exposure rate, renters 37% higher exposure rate.
Chart 2: Graph detailing how exposure to secondhand smoke differs among children ages 3-11 by race and ethnicity. Graph shows that non-Hispanic black children have the highest exposure compared to non-Hispanic white children and Mexican-American children.
Map of the United states with those states who support smoke free laws colored either blue, brown or yellow depending on how comprehensive their laws are.
Statewide Smokefree Laws
Statewide smokefree indoor air laws for restaurants, bars, and private worksites vary from state to state.
100% smokefree in restaurants, bars, and private worksites
- District of Columbia
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Dakota
100% smokefree in one or two of these types of venues
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
No venues or less restrictive laws
- South Carolina
- West Virginia
SOURCE: STATE System, Tobacco Control Interactive Maps, Legislation – Smokefree Indoor Air.