Childhood Immunization Champions

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award

CDC Childhood Immunization Champion award

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award is an annual award given jointly by the CDC and the Association of Immunization Managers (AIM)External that recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization.

Each year, up to one CDC Immunization Champion from each of the 50 U.S. states, 8 U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States, and the District of Columbia will be honored.

Awardees will be announced during National Infant Immunization Week, April 27-May 4, 2019.

Award Criteria

The Champion Award is intended to recognize individuals who are working at the local level. It honors those who are doing an exemplary job or going above and beyond to promote or foster childhood immunizations in their communities. The nomination and selection of a local Champion should be based on meeting one or more of the following criteria:

  • Leadership:The candidate is considered an authority on immunization in their community, medical system, or individual practice. Activities may include acting as a spokesperson, trainer, mentor, or educator.
  • Collaboration: The candidate has worked to build support for and increase immunization rates in infants and young children. Activities may include establishing or strengthening partnerships, coalitions, committees, working groups, or other.
  • Innovation: The candidate has used creative or innovative strategies to promote immunization or address challenges to immunization in their practice, community, state, or region. Activities may include either new strategies or adapting existing strategies in new ways such as for reaching under-immunized populations.
  • Advocacy: The candidate is active in advancing policies and best practices to support immunization in infants and young children in their community, state, or region. The candidate cannot be involved in advocacy activities that are related to funding for immunizations.

Champions can include coalition members, parents, health care professionals (e.g., physicians, nurses, physicians’ assistants, nurse practitioners, medical assistants, etc.), and other immunization leaders who meet the award criteria. State immunization program managers, state and federal government employees of health agencies, individuals who have been affiliated with and/or employed by pharmaceutical companies, and those who have already received the award are not eligible to apply (for details, see page 1 of the nomination packet) Cdc-pdf[10 pages].

 Top of Page

Nominations – Suggested Due Date February 8, 2019

Self-nominations are welcome. Or, you may submit an application for a deserving individual.

Complete pages 2-6 of the nomination packet Cdc-pdf[10 pages] UPDATED JAN 2019.

Review the Checklist for Individuals Submitting Nominations to State Immunization Programs Cdc-word[1 page] UPDATED JAN 2019.

Submit the completed nomination packet directly to the immunization program in the state or territory where the applicant resides. (See pages 7-10 of the packet for a list of contact information for all state immunization programs.)

All nomination forms are due to respective immunization programs. The suggested due date is February 8, 2019, but immunization programs may have selected a unique deadline. Please contact your immunization program to confirm their deadline (see pages 2-6 of the nomination packet Cdc-pdf[10 pages]).

Selection Process

Each immunization program will conduct their own review process and will nominate one individual to receive the CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award. Immunization programs will forward their nominations to CDC. CDC will review nominees and issue awards.


Awards will be announced in conjunction with National Infant Immunization Week (NIIW), April 27-May 4, 2019. Champions will receive a certificate of recognition, will be featured on CDC’s web site, and may be recognized by their immunization program during NIIW.

 Top of Page

More Information

Page last reviewed: January 9, 2019