Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Childhood Immunization Champions

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award

CDC Childhood Immunization Champion award

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award is an annual award given jointly by the CDC Foundation and CDC to recognize individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization.

Each year, up to one CDC Immunization Champion from each of the 50 states, 8 U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States, and the District of Columbia is honored.

Award recipients for 2017 will be announced during National Infant Immunization Week (NIIW), April 22-29, 2017.

See past Immunization Champion award recipients

Award Criteria

Champions can include coalition members, parents, health care professionals (e.g., physicians, nurses, physicians’ assistants, nurse practitioners, medical assistants, etc.), and other immunization leaders who meet the award criteria. State immunization program managers, state and federal government employees of health agencies, individuals who have been affiliated with and/or employed by pharmaceutical companies, and those who have already received the award are not eligible to apply.

 Top of Page


Self-nominations are welcome. Or you may submit an application for a deserving individual.

Submit the completed nomination packet directly to the immunization program in the state or territory where the applicant resides. (See page 7 of the packet for a list of contact information for all state immunization programs.)

All nomination forms are due to respective immunization programs. The suggested due date is February 3, 2017, but immunization programs may have selected a unique deadline. Please contact your immunization program to confirm their deadline (see pages 7-10 of the nomination packet [10 pages]).

Selection Process

Each immunization program will conduct their own review process and will nominate one individual to receive the CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award. Immunization programs will forward their nominations to CDC. CDC will review state nominees and issue awards.


Awards will be announced in conjunction with National Infant Immunization Week, April 22-29, 2017. Champions will receive a certificate of recognition, will be featured on CDC’s web site, and may be recognized by their immunization program during NIIW.

More Information

 Top of Page