
MAINE
Motor Vehicle Crash Deaths: Costly But Preventable

Motor vehicle crashes and their resulting injuries 
are preventable; state-level changes are especially 
effective for prevention. 

TAKING ACTION CAN SAVE LIVES
In 2018, 150 people in Maine were killed in motor 
vehicle traffic crashes.  Maine can consider the following 
proven strategies, and the enforcement of related 
policies, to save lives and money:
•	Child passenger safety laws that require proper car seat and 

booster seat use until at least age 9
•	Ignition interlock devices required for all (including first-time) 

offenders convicted of alcohol-impaired driving
•	�A graduated driver licensing (GDL) system that includes:

◦◦ A minimum age of 16 for obtaining a learner’s permit
◦◦ A mandatory learner’s permit holding period of 12 months
◦◦ Restrictions against nighttime driving between 10:00 pm 

and 5:00 am (or longer)
◦◦ A minimum age of 18 for lifting both nighttime driving and 

young passenger restrictions

$198 Million
total cost of traffic crash deaths  
in Maine in 2018.

$2 Million MEDICAL COSTS

$196 Million WORK LOSS COSTS
+

Working together, we can help keep people safe on the road—every day.
www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/statecosts 

COST OF TRAFFIC DEATHS BY TYPE OF ROAD USER 
MAINE

COST OF TRAFFIC DEATHS BY AGE GROUP 
MAINE

$159M 
Motor Vehicle 

Occupants 
76%

$34M 
Motorcyclists 

16% $7M* 
Pedestrians 

3%

$8M* 
Bicyclists 

4%

Source: CDC WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System), 2018
*Cost is based on fewer than 20 deaths and may be unstable.

Children: 0–14, Teens: 15–19, Young Adults: 20–34,  Adults: 35–64, Older Adults: 65+
Source: CDC WISQARS, 2018

*Cost is based on fewer than 20 deaths and may be unstable.

$8M 
Older Adults 

5%

$68M 
Adults 
38%

$4M* 
Children 
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$14M* 
Teens 

8%

$83M 
Young Adults 

47%



The best way to reduce motor vehicle crash costs is to 
prevent crashes. Some effective strategies for preventing 
crashes include:

•	automated red-light and speed-camera enforcement
•	comprehensive graduated driver licensing systems
•	publicized sobriety checkpoints
•	 �mandatory ignition interlocks for all (including  

first-time) offenders convicted of  
alcohol-impaired driving

HOW DOES YOUR STATE COMPARE?

For more information about these and other effective programs, visit www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety.

CDC’S COST ESTIMATE TOOLS
CDC’s interactive calculator, MV PICCS (Motor Vehicle Prioritizing Interventions and Cost Calculator 
for States), was designed to help decision makers prioritize and select from a suite of 14 effective 
motor vehicle injury prevention interventions. At the state level, MV PICCS calculates the expected 
number and monetized value of injuries prevented and lives saved and the costs of implementation, 
while taking into account available resources. Visit www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/calculator.

 
CDC’s Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS) is an online, interactive 
system that provides reports of injury-related data. To find the costs of various injury deaths and 
nonfatal injuries, visit www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars.
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The next best way to reduce costs is to prevent injuries 
when crashes occur.  Proven ways to prevent injuries during 
a crash include:

•	high-visibility enforcement of seat belt and child 
restraint laws

•	primary seat belt laws for all seating positions
•	 laws that require car seat or booster seat use for 

children until at least age 9
•	distribution plus education programs for car seats 

and booster seats
•	bicycle helmet laws for children

STATES IN YOUR REGION

Total population in 2018 Traffic crash death costs in 2018

Rhode Island 1.1M $91M
Vermont 0.6M $99M
Maine 1.3M $198M
New Hampshire 1.4M $202M
Connecticut 3.6M $434M
Massachusetts 6.9M $522M

The cost figures presented in the fact sheets are based on information collected by each individual state. There may be differences between 
states’ methods of collection and categorization of these data.

PREVENTION SAVES MONEY


