UTAH

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In Utah, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
currently smoke cigarettes was 11.8% in 2011. Across tobacco was 3.0% in 2011. Across all states and D.C.,
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. Utah ranked
among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. Utah 14™ among the states.

ranked 1 among the states.
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UTAH

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use

In Utah, the percentage of youth in grades 9-12 who The percentage of youth who currently smoke cigars
currently smoke cigarettes was 5.9% in 2011. The range was 5.0% in 2011. The range across 37 states was 5.0%
across 44 states was 5.9% to 24.1%. Utah ranked 1* to 18.3%. Utah ranked 1 among 37 states.

among 44 states.
The percentage of youth who currently use tobacco

The percentage of youth who currently use smokeless (i.e., cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, and/or cigars) was
tobacco was 3.7% in 2011. The range across 40 states was 7.8% in 2011. The range across 36 states was 7.8% to
3.5% to 16.9%. Utah ranked 2" among 40 states. 31.9%. Utah ranked 1* among 36 states.

Tobacco Use among High School Students by Demographic Characteristics
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UTAH

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008-2009, of all Utah youth ages 12-17 who had Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,
never smoked, 3.3% smoked a cigarette for the first time 7.1% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-2009.
in the past year. This ranked 1* in the nation, with a This ranked 18" in the nation, with a range of 4.2%-—
range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states. 14.7% among the states.
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UTAH

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was lower in Utah than in the nation
overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure to
secondhand smoke in Utah was 40.7%, ranking

6™ among the states.
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of Utah adults who reported any
exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a vehicle,
or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public places in

the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 86.2% of adults in Utah thought that
smoking should never be allowed in indoor workplaces,
ranking 3™ among the states.
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Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 92.9% of adults in Utah reported that
their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking 1*
among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
29.4%, ranking 13" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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UTAH

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, Utah had a smoke-free

law that prohibits smoking in indoor areas of
workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state law did
not allow local communities to enact local smoke-
free laws.

Workplaces

Smoke-Free Legislation

Local Laws

Restaurants Permitted

* Designated Smoking Areas

t Ventilated Smoking Areas

$ No Restrictions

9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors

Note: Not all footnotes may be used.

2 Allowed for non-
hospitality workplaces.

° Prohibited for non-
hospitality workplaces.

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin
the Last Year

During 2009-2010, 52.2% of Utah adult smokers made
a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 38" among the
states.
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the Utah quitline received 12,723 calls, and
5,364 tobacco users (an estimated 2.7% of all tobacco
users in the state) received telephone counseling,
cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.
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Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
Medications

In 2010, Utah’s Medicaid program provided incomplete
coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-dependence
treatment. Utah provided full coverage for all nicotine
replacement therapies, full coverage for varenicline,

full coverage for bupropion, and partial coverage for
counseling (individual and/or group).

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications
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b Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011




UTAH

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an
average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience
gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating

points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.

Utah had an average of 2656.1 general audience
GRPs and 543.0 youth TRPs per quarter in television

advertising supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.
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Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco
In Utah, 71.9% of adults thought that breathing

smoke from other people’s cigarettes or other tobacco
products is very harmful to one’s health in 2009-2010.
Additionally, 89.7% thought that cigarette smoking is
very addictive.
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Secondhand Smoke
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thought secondhand
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65.6% 55.9%. Utah ranked 2

among the states.
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking

BETTER
~€— In Utah, 89.7% of adults

thought that smoking is
very addictive. The
range across all states
was 90.5% to 80.6%.

National Utah ranked 2™ among
Average: the states.
85.4%

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010



UTAH

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, Utah preempted local regulation of
tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product sampling,
and display of tobacco products in commercial establish-
ments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure
As of June 30, 2012, Utah required all establishments

selling cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products over-
the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37 states required
over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes, 29 of which also
have a requirement for smokeless tobacco, with various
renewal frequencies, fees and penalties for violations.
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Note: Not all footnotes may be used.
Source: STATE System, June 2012
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UTAH

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in Utah
was $1.70 per pack, ranking 17" among the states. The
tax on cigars was 35% of the manufacturer’s sales price
per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was $1.70 per pack
of 20. The tax on smokeless tobacco was 86% of the
manufacturer’s sales price.

Amount of Cigarette
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In Utah, 70.3% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 29.7% bought them by

the carton in 2009-2010. The average price that Utah
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $5.15 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that Utah smokers
reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes was
$40.87 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states with
valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





