OREGON

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In Oregon, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
currently smoke cigarettes was 19.7% in 2011. Across tobacco was 4.4% in 2012. Across all states and D.C.,,
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. Oregon
among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. Oregon ranked 26™ among the states.

ranked 18" among the states.

Current Cigarette and Smokeless Tobacco Use among Adults
by Demographic Characteristics
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Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use
Oregon had no reported YRBS data in 2011.

Tobacco Use among High School Students by Demographic Characteristics
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Past-Year Cigarette Initiation
In 2008-2009, of all Oregon youth ages 12-17 who had Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,

never smoked, 7.5% smoked a cigarette for the first time 9.3% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-2009.
in the past year. This ranked 44" in the nation, with a This ranked 32" in the nation, with a range of 4.2%-—
range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states. 14.7% among the states.

Past-Year Cigarette Initiates among Persons Aged 12-25,
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Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was lower in Oregon than in the
nation overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure
to secondhand smoke in Oregon was 41.5%,
ranking 8" among the states.

Overall

41.5%

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Homes Vehicles |PublicPlaces

Workplaces

19.4% 7.0% 11.5% 30.4%

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke
in various locations. The table shows the

Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of Oregon adults who reported any
exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a vehicle,
or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public places in

the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Adults Reporting Being
Exposed to Secondhand
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Adults Who Think
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Allowed in the Workplace

Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 82.6% of adults in Oregon thought that
smoking should never be allowed in indoor workplaces,
ranking 18" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 89.2% of adults in Oregon reported
that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking
4™ among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
34.2%, ranking 34" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010
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State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, Oregon had a smoke-free
law that prohibits smoking in indoor areas of
workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state
allowed communities to enact local smoke-free
laws.

Workplaces

Yes Yes Yes Yes

Smoke-Free Legislation

Local Laws

Restaurants Permitted

* Designated Smoking Areas

t Ventilated Smoking Areas

$ No Restrictions

9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors

Note:

2 Allowed for non-
hospitality workplaces.

° Prohibited for non-
hospitality workplaces.

Not all footnotes may be used. Source: STATE System, June 2012

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin
the Last Year

During 2009-2010, 46.4% of Oregon adult smokers
made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 49" among
the states.

Percentage of Smokers
Attempting to Quit
BETTER
National
Average:

55.7% —> P4

In Oregon, 46.4% of
adults made a quit
~¢— attempt, ranking 49*".
WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the Oregon quitline received 9,539 calls, and
3,259 tobacco users (an estimated 0.6% of all tobacco
users in the state) received telephone counseling,

cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.
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Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
Medications

In 2010, Oregon’s Medicaid program provided
incomplete coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-
dependence treatment. Oregon provided partial coverage
for nicotine replacement therapies, partial coverage for
varenicline, partial coverage for bupropion, and partial
coverage for counseling (individual and/or group).

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Comprehensive Coverage

Counseling
(Individual
and/or Group)

NRTs (One or
More)

Bupropion

Varenicline

Partial® | Partial® | Partial® Partial®

2Pregnant women only
b Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011
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Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an
average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience
gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating

points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.

Oregon had an average of 40.3 general audience GRPs

and 7.2 youth TRPs per quarter in television advertising

supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, GRPs Per Quarter
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Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, TRPs Per Quarter
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Source: CDC/OSH
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Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In Oregon, 63.0% of adults thought that breathing
smoke from other people’s cigarettes or other tobacco
products is very harmful to one’s health in 2009-2010.
Additionally, 88.5% thought that cigarette smoking is
very addictive.

Secondhand Smoke

BETTER
In Oregon, 63.0% of
adults thought
National secondhand smoke is
e e
65.6%

72.1% to 55.9%.
~¢— Oregon ranked 34t
among the states.

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking

BETTER

In Oregon, 88.5% of
adults thought that
smoking is very
addictive. The range

National across all states was
Average: 90.5% to 80.6%.
85.4% Oregon ranked 6%

among the states.

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010
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Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, Oregon allowed local regulation of
tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product sampling,
and display of tobacco products in commercial establish-
ments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure
As of June 30, 2012, Oregon did not require

establishments selling cigarettes or smokeless tobacco
products over-the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37
states required over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes,
29 of which also have a requirement for smokeless
tobacco, with various renewal frequencies, fees and
penalties for violations.

State Allows Local Laws

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Renewal
Required

Over-the-
Counter License
Required

Minimum
License Fee

Over-the-Counter Licensure and Penalties

(& Frequency)

Licensure
Includes
Smokeless Tobacco

Penalty to
Business

®Fine

N/A N/A N/A N/A
No
2 Annually Note: Not all footnotes may be used.

Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in
Oregon was $1.18 per pack, ranking 29™ among the
states. The tax on cigars was 65% of the wholesale sales
price per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was 65%

of the wholesale sales price per pack of 20. The tax on
smokeless tobacco was also 65% of the wholesale sales
price.

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

National As of June 30, 2012,
Median: Oregon had a $1.18
$1.339 —> cigarette excise

- tax—ranking 29t
among the states. The
range across states was

$4.35 to $0.17 per pack.

WORSE Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In Oregon, 78.4% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 21.6% bought them by the
carton in 2009-2010. The average price that Oregon
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $5.07 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that Oregon smokers
reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes was
$42.60 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states with
valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





