NEW JERSEY

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In New Jersey, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who
currently smoke cigarettes was 16.8% in 2011. Across
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking

The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
tobacco was 1.6% in 2011. Across all states and D.C.,
the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. New Jersey

among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. New Jersey ranked 5* among the states.

ranked 3" among the states.
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NEW JERSEY

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use

In New Jersey, the percentage of youth in grades 9-12 who
currently smoke cigarettes was 16.1% in 2011. The range
across 44 states was 5.9% to 24.1%. New Jersey ranked
20" among 44 states.

New Jersey had no reported YRBS data on smokeless
tobacco, cigars, or tobacco in 2011.
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NEW JERSEY

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008-2009, of all New Jersey youth ages 12-17 who Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,
had never smoked, 6.2% smoked a cigarette for the first 8.4% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-2009.
time in the past year. This ranked 30" in the nation, with This ranked 23" in the nation, with a range of 4.2%-—

a range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states. 14.7% among the states.
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NEW JERSEY

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was lower in New Jersey than in the
nation overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure
to secondhand smoke in New Jersey was 44.5%,
ranking 15 among the states.

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke

Overall
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of New Jersey adults who reported

any exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a
vehicle, or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public
places in the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 83.2% of adults in New Jersey thought
that smoking should never be allowed in indoor
workplaces, ranking 15" among the states.
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Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 83.3% of adults in New Jersey reported
that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking
20™ among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
28.5%, ranking 12" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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NEW JERSEY

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, New Jersey had a smoke-
free law that prohibits smoking in indoor areas
of workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state

allowed communities to enact local smoke-free
laws.

Workplaces

Yes Yes Yes Yes

Smoke-Free Legislation

Local Laws

Restaurants Permitted

* Designated Smoking Areas

t Ventilated Smoking Areas

$ No Restrictions

9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors

Note: Not all footnotes may be used.

2 Allowed for non-
hospitality workplaces.

° Prohibited for non-
hospitality workplaces.

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin
the Last Year

During 2009-2010, 59.6% of New Jersey adult smokers
made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 8" among
the states.

Percentage of Smokers

Attempting to Quit
BETTER
In New Jersey, 59.6%
. ~¢— of adults made a quit
National attempt, ranking 8.
Average:

55.7% —> P4

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the New Jersey quitline received 5,525 calls,
and 1,569 tobacco users (an estimated 0.2% of all
tobacco users in the state) received telephone counseling,
cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.
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Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
Medications

In 2010, New Jersey’s Medicaid program provided
incomplete coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-
dependence treatment. New Jersey provided partial
coverage for nicotine replacement therapies, partial
coverage for varenicline, partial coverage for bupropion,
and no coverage for counseling (individual or group).

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Comprehensive Coverage

Counseling
(Individual
and/or Group)

NRTs (One or
More)

Partial® | Partial®

2Pregnant women only
b Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011




NEW JERSEY

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an
average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience
gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating

points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.
New Jersey had an average of 0.8 general audience GRPs
and 0.0 youth TRPs per quarter in television advertising

supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
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Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, TRPs Per Quarter
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Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In New Jersey, 65.0% of adults thought that breathing
smoke from other people’s cigarettes or other tobacco
products is very harmful to one’s health in 2009-2010.
Additionally, 86.7% thought that cigarette smoking is
very addictive.
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Secondhand Smoke
BETTER
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National adults thought
Average: ~¢— secondhand smoke is
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across all states was
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking
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National addictive. The range
Average: across all states was
85.4% 90.5% to 80.6%. New

Jersey ranked 16t
among the states.

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010



NEW JERSEY

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, New Jersey allowed local regulation
of tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product
sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial
establishments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure
As of June 30, 2012, New Jersey required all

establishments selling cigarettes over-the-counter to be
licensed; the state does not have such a requirement

for smokeless tobacco products. Nationally, 37 states
required over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes, 29 of
which also have a requirement for smokeless tobacco,
with various renewal frequencies, fees and penalties for
violations.

State Allows Local Laws

Source: STATE System, June 2012
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NEW JERSEY

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in
New Jersey was $2.70 per pack, ranking 6™ among the
states. The tax on cigars was 30% of the wholesale price
per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was 30% of the
wholesale price per pack of 20. The tax on smokeless
tobacco was also 30% of the wholesale price.

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

~€— AsofJune 30,2012,
New Jersey had a $2.70

National cigarette excise
Median: tax—ranking 6" among
$1.339 —> the states. The range

across states was $4.35
to $0.17 per pack.

WORSE Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In New Jersey, 82.5% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 17.5% bought them by the
carton in 2009-2010. The average price that New Jersey
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $7.10 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that New Jersey
smokers reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes
was $56.27 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states
with valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





