MINNESOTA

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In Minnesota, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
currently smoke cigarettes was 19.1% in 2011. Across tobacco was 4.8% in 2011. Across all states and D.C.,,
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. Minnesota
among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. Minnesota ranked 32" among the states.

ranked 11" among the states.

Current Cigarette and Smokeless Tobacco Use among Adults
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MINNESOTA

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use
Minnesota had no reported YRBS data in 2011.

Tobacco Use among High School Students by Demographic Characteristics
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MINNESOTA

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008-2009, of all Minnesota youth ages 12-17 who Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,
had never smoked, 5.4% smoked a cigarette for the first 11.7% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-
time in the past year. This ranked 13" in the nation, with 2009. This ranked 48" in the nation, with a range of
a range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states. 4.2%--14.7% among the states.

Past-Year Cigarette Initiates among Persons Aged 12-25,
by Age of First Use: 2002-2009
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MINNESOTA

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was lower in Minnesota than in the
nation overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure
to secondhand smoke in Minnesota was 39.4%,
ranking 4™ among the states.

Overall

39.4%

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Homes Vehicles |PublicPlaces

Workplaces

18.9% 8.2% 15.0% 22.8%

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke
in various locations. The table shows the

Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of Minnesota adults who reported

any exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a
vehicle, or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public
places in the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 79.3% of adults in Minnesota thought
that smoking should never be allowed in indoor
workplaces, ranking 25" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 85.2% of adults in Minnesota reported
that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking
10* among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
37.9%, ranking 47* among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010
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MINNESOTA

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, Minnesota had a smoke-
free law that prohibits smoking in indoor areas

Local Laws
of workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state Workplaces | Restaurants Permitted
allowed communities to enact local smoke-free

Smoke-Free Legislation

laws.

* Designated Smoking Areas 2 Allowed for non-
1 Ventilated Smoking Areas hospitality workplaces.
F No Restrictions b Prohibited for non-
9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors hospitality workplaces.
Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: STATE System, June 2012
Offer
Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
L] L]
the Last Year Medications
During 2009-2010, 50.3% of Minnesota adult smokers In 2010, Minnesota’s Medicaid program provided
made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 44™ among comprehensive coverage through both managed care
the states. and fee-for-service contracts for tobacco-dependence

treatment including all nicotine replacement therapies,
bupropion, varenicline, and counseling (individual and

Percentage of Smokers group).
Attempting to Quit
BETTER
Nati Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
ational A A
Average: and Medications

55.7% —> P4

Comprehensive Coverage

In Minnesota, 50.3%
~¢— of adults made a quit
attempt, ranking 44, Yes

WORSE
Counseling

Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010 NRTs (One or Varenicline | Bupropion (Individual
) and/or Group)

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the Minnesota quitline received 11,947 calls,
and 3,169 tobacco users (an estimated 0.4% of all
tobacco users in the state) received telephone counseling,
cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.*

2Pregnant women only
® Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

*  QUITPLAN® Helpline serves the uninsured and underinsured. Seven health Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011

plans also provide quitline services for their members.
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MINNESOTA

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an
average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience
gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating

points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.

Minnesota had an average of 669.0 general audience
GRPs and 108.0 youth TRPs per quarter in television

advertising supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, GRPs Per Quarter
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Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, TRPs Per Quarter
Youth
(12-17 Years)
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39.7 TRPs

WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH

Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In Minnesota, 59.0% of adults thought that breathing
smoke from other people’s cigarettes or other tobacco
products is very harmful to one’s health in 2009-2010.
Additionally, 83.8% thought that cigarette smoking is
very addictive.
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Secondhand Smoke

BETTER

In Minnesota, 59.0% of

National
Average: adults thought
65.6% secondhand smoke is

very harmful. The range
across all states was
72.1% to 55.9%.
Minnesota ranked 49*
among the states.

-

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking

BETTER

In Minnesota, 83.8% of
adults thought that
smoking is very

National addictive. The range
Average: across all states was
85.4% 90.5% to 80.6%.

~€— Minnesota ranked 42"
among the states.

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010



MINNESOTA

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, Minnesota allowed local regulation
of tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product
sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial
establishments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure

As of June 30, 2012, Minnesota required all
establishments selling cigarettes and smokeless tobacco
products over-the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37
states required over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes,
29 of which also have a requirement for smokeless
tobacco, with various renewal frequencies, fees and
penalties for violations.

State Allows Local Laws

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Renewal
Required

Over-the-
Counter License
Required

Minimum
License Fee

Yes

Over-the-Counter Licensure and Penalties

(& Frequency)

Licensure
Includes
Smokeless Tobacco

Penalty to
Business

2 Annually
b Administrative Penalty

Note: Not all footnotes may be used.
Source: STATE System, June 2012
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MINNESOTA

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in
Minnesota was $1.23 per pack, ranking 28" among

the states. The tax on cigars was 70% of the wholesale
sales price per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was 70%
of the wholesale sales price per pack of 20. The tax on
smokeless tobacco was also 70% of the wholesale sales
price.

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

National I:\s of June 30,2012,

. Minnesota had a $1.23
Median: cigarette excise
$1.339 —> J

- tax—ranking 28t
among the states. The
range across states was

$4.35 to $0.17 per pack.

WORSE Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In Minnesota, 74.7% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 25.3% bought them by the
carton in 2009-2010. The average price that Minnesota
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $5.18 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that Minnesota
smokers reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes
was $45.79 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states
with valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





