FLORIDA

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In Florida, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
currently smoke cigarettes was 19.3% in 2011. Across tobacco was 3.0% in 2011. Across all states and D.C.,
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. Florida
among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. Florida ranked 14™ among the states.

ranked 16" among the states.
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FLORIDA

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use

In Florida, the percentage of youth in grades 9-12 who
currently smoke cigarettes was 14.3% in 2011. The range
across 44 states was 5.9% to 24.1%. Florida ranked 11*
among 44 states.

Florida had no reported YRBS data for smokeless tobacco,
cigars, or tobacco in 2011.

Tobacco Use among High School Students by Demographic Characteristics
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FLORIDA

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008-2009, of all Florida youth ages 12-17 who had
never smoked, 6.3% smoked a cigarette for the first time
in the past year. This ranked 33" in the nation, with a
range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states.

Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,
5.8% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-2009.
This ranked 5* in the nation, with a range of 4.2%-—
14.7% among the states.
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FLORIDA

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was higher in Florida than in the
nation overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure
to secondhand smoke in Florida was 48.7%,
ranking 34™ among the states.

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke

Overall

48.7%

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke
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Workplaces
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of Florida adults who reported any
exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a vehicle,
or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public places in

the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 87.1% of adults in Florida thought that
smoking should never be allowed in indoor workplaces,
ranking 2™ among the states.
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Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 85.8% of adults in Florida reported
that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking
7™ among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
34.2%, ranking 34" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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FLORIDA

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, Florida had a smoke-free

law that prohibits smoking in indoor areas of
workplaces and restaurants, but not bars. The state
law did not allow local communities to enact local
smoke-free laws.

Smoke-Free Legislation

Local Laws
Workplaces | Restaurants Permitted
Yes Yes No* No

* Designated Smoking Areas

t Ventilated Smoking Areas

# No Restrictions

9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors

Note:

2 Allowed for non-
hospitality workplaces.

° Prohibited for non-
hospitality workplaces.

Not all footnotes may be used. Source: STATE System, June 2012

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin
the Last Year

During 2009-2010, 52.8% of Florida adult smokers
made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 34" among
the states.

Percentage of Smokers
Attempting to Quit
BETTER
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Average:

55.7% —> PAK

In Florida, 52.8% of
adults made a quit
attempt, ranking 34,

-

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the Florida quitline received 144,731 calls,

and 47,446 tobacco users (an estimated 1.7% of all
tobacco users in the state) received telephone counseling,
cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.
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Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
Medications

In 2010, Florida’s Medicaid program provided
incomplete coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-
dependence treatment. Florida provided partial coverage
for nicotine replacement therapies, no coverage for
varenicline, full coverage for bupropion, and partial
coverage for counseling (individual and/or group).

Medicaid Coverage* for Counseling
and Medications

Comprehensive Coverage

Counseling
NRTs (One or Varenicline | Bupropion (Individual
More)
and/or Group)
Partial®< / Partial
No Yes

2Pregnant women only
b Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

* Some of the treatments are required per
managed care contracts although the plans have
a choice of which specific treatment to cover

Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011




FLORIDA

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an

average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience

gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating
points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.

Florida had an average of 1400.6 general audience
GRPs and 306.9 youth TRPs per quarter in television

advertising supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, GRPs Per Quarter
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Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, TRPs Per Quarter
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Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In Florida, 69.9% of adults in 2009-2010 thought
that breathing smoke from other people’s cigarettes or
other tobacco products is very harmful to one’s health.

Additionally, 86.2% thought that cigarette smoking is
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very addictive.

Secondhand Smoke
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking
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~€¢—  adults thought that
National smoking is very
Average: addictive. The range
85.4% across all states was

90.5% to 80.6%. Florida
ranked 21t among
the states.
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Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010



FLORIDA

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, Florida allowed local regulation of
tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product sampling,
and display of tobacco products in commercial establish-
ments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure
As of June 30, 2012, Florida required all establishments

selling cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products over-
the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37 states required
over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes, 29 of which also
have a requirement for smokeless tobacco, with various
renewal frequencies, fees and penalties for violations.

State Allows Local Laws

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Renewal
Required
(& Frequency)

Over-the-
Counter License
Required

Minimum
License Fee

Yes No Yes?

Over-the-Counter Licensure and Penalties

Licensure
Includes
Smokeless Tobacco

Yes

2 Annually
b Fine

Note: Not all footnotes may be used.
Source: STATE System, June 2012
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FLORIDA

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in
Florida was $1.339 per pack, ranking 26™ among the
states. There were no taxes on cigars or little cigars. The
tax on smokeless tobacco was 85% of the wholesale sales
price.

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

National

- As of June 30, 2012,
Median: Florida had a $1.339
$1.339 —> ~€—  cigarette excise tax,

ranking 26™ among the
states. The range across
states was $4.35 to
$0.17 per pack.

WORSE Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In Florida, 70.8% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 29.2% bought them by the
carton in 2009-2010. The average price that Florida
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $5.12 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that Florida smokers
reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes was
$40.88 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states with
valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





