CALIFORNIA

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In California, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who
currently smoke cigarettes was 13.7% in 2011. Across
all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking
among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. California
ranked 2" among the states.

The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless
tobacco was 1.4% in 2011. Across all states and D.C.,
the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. California
ranked 1% among the states.
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CALIFORNIA

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use
California had no reported YRBS data in 2011.

Tobacco Use among High School Students by Demographic Characteristics
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CALIFORNIA

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008-2009, of all California youth ages 12-17 who Of all young adults ages 18-25 who had never smoked,
had never smoked, 7.3% smoked a cigarette for the first 10.1% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008-
time in the past year. This ranked 43" in the nation, with 2009. This ranked 41* in the nation, with a range of

a range of 3.3%-9.2% among the states. 4.2%-14.7% among the states.

Past-Year Cigarette Initiates among Persons Aged 12-25,
by Age of First Use: 2002-2009
—— Total Initiates Initiates aged 12-17  —®|nitiates aged 18-25
25 [
20 [
15 [
il
c
()]
Y
(]
a
10 |
l I
s
| | | |
2002-2003 2004-2005 2006-2007 2008-2009

62



CALIFORNIA

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported

being exposed to secondhand smoke within the
past 7 days was higher in California than in the
nation overall. In 2009-2010, overall exposure
to secondhand smoke in California was 47.9%,
ranking 32" among the states.

Overall

47.9%

Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Homes Vehicles |PublicPlaces

Workplaces

27.7% 4.7% 7.9% 37.5%

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke
in various locations. The table shows the

Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

percentage of California adults who reported

any exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a
vehicle, or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public
places in the past 7 days.

Secondhand Smoke Exposure
and Opinions about Smoking
in the Workplace
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Opinions about Smoking in the
Workplace

In 2009-2010, 89.1% of adults in California thought
that smoking should never be allowed in indoor
workplaces, ranking 1 among the states.
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Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009-2010, 90.4% of adults in California reported
that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking
3" among the states. The percentage of homes without
smoke-free home rules with children living in them was
27.5%, ranking 9" among the states.

Smoke-Free Home Rules and Homes
without Rules that have Children
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CALIFORNIA

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, California had laws that do
not fully protect individuals from secondhand
smoke by allowing smoking in indoor areas

of workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state
allowed communities to enact local smoke-free
laws.

Workplaces

Smoke-Free Legislation

Local Laws

Restaurants Permitted

No' Yes

* Designated Smoking Areas

T Ventilated Smoking Areas

$ No Restrictions

9 Allowed smoking in venues that prohibit minors

Note: Not all footnotes may be used.

2 Allowed for non-
hospitality workplaces.

° Prohibited for non-
hospitality workplaces.

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attemptin
the Last Year

During 2009-2010, 61.2% of California adult smokers
made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 7 among
the states.

Percentage of Smokers
Attempting to Quit
BETTER
. ~€— In California, 61.2% of
National adults made a quit
Average: attempt, ranking 7.

55.7% —> P4

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the California quitline received 93,050 calls,
and 25,158 tobacco users (an estimated 0.7% of all
tobacco users in the state) received telephone counseling,
cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.
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Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and
Medications

In 2010, California’s Medicaid program provided
incomplete coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-
dependence treatment. California provided full coverage
for all nicotine replacement therapies, full coverage for
varenicline, full coverage for bupropion, and no coverage
for counseling (individual or group).

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Comprehensive Coverage

Counseling
(Individual
and/or Group)

NRTs (One or
More)

Bupropion

Varenicline

2Pregnant women only
® Fee-for-service only
¢ Available only via the quitline

Note: Not all footnotes may be used. Source: Halpin,et al, 2011




CALIFORNIA

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media
Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an
average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience
gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating

points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns.

California had an average of 1489.4 general audience
GRPs and 276.1 youth TRPs per quarter in television

advertising supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, GRPs Per Quarter

General Audience
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Average:
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Source: CDC/OSH

Anti-Tobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, TRPs Per Quarter

Youth
(12-17 Years)
BETTER
-~€«— California

Average:
276.1 TRPs
(6*)

National —>

Median:

39.7 TRPs

WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH
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Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In California, 72.1% of adults thought that breathing
smoke from other people’s cigarettes or other tobacco
products is very harmful to one’s health in 2009-2010.
Additionally, 84.4% thought that cigarette smoking is
very addictive.

Secondhand Smoke

BETTER<— In California, 72.1% of

adults thought
secondhand smoke is
very harmful. The range
across all states was
72.1% to 55.9%.
California ranked 1+
among the states.

National
Average:
65.6%

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010

Addictiveness of Smoking

BETTER

In California, 84.4% of
adults thought that

National smoking is very
Average: addictive. The range
85.4% across all states was

- 90.5% to 80.6%.
California ranked 39*
among the states.

WORSE
Source: National Adult Tobacco Survey, 2009-2010



CALIFORNIA

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and
Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, California allowed local regulation
of tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product
sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial
establishments.

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure
As of June 30, 2012, California required all

establishments selling cigarettes and smokeless tobacco
products over-the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37
states required over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes,
29 of which also have a requirement for smokeless
tobacco, with various renewal frequencies, fees and
penalties for violations.

State Allows Local Laws

Source: STATE System, June 2012

Renewal
Required

Over-the-
Counter License
Required

Minimum
License Fee

Over-the-Counter Licensure and Penalties

(& Frequency)

Licensure
Includes
Smokeless Tobacco

Penalty to
Business

b License Suspension and Revocation

/ $100.00 / / /
Yes Yes? Yes® Yes
2 Annually Note: Not all footnotes may be used.

Source: STATE System, June 2012
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CALIFORNIA

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in
California was $0.87 per pack, ranking 33" among the
states. The tax on cigars was 31.73% of the wholesale
cost per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was $0.87 per
pack of 20. The tax on smokeless tobacco was 31.73% of
the wholesale cost.

Note: See Appendix B for updated legislation that takes effect after
June 30, 2012.

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

National As of June 30, 2012,
Median: California had a $0.87
$1.339 —> cigarette excise

tax—ranking 33"
among the states. The
range across states was
$4.35 to $0.17 per pack.

WORSE Source: STATE System, June 2012
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Price Paid for Last
Cigarettes Purchased

In California, 77.2% of adult smokers bought their last
cigarettes by the pack, and 22.8% bought them by the
carton in 2009-2010. The average price that California
smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes
was $5.46 in 2009-2010; the range among states was
$7.98 to $4.04. The average price that California
smokers reported paying for their last carton of cigarettes
was $40.54 in 2009-2010; the range among 45 states
with valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.





