
       
 

 

 

                  

                

             
 

            

 

       

     

     

        

     

    

     

       

 

     

   

     

   

        

      

       

       

     

                    

                

 

                

                

            

 

                

 

               

                

                

          

 

                     

            

 

                     

               

                  

                

 

             

           

                 

 

Fact Sheet: Tobacco Control State Highlights 2012
�

The purpose of Tobacco Control State Highlights 2012 is to provide tobacco control programs in the 50 states 

and the District of Columbia with state-specific valid and reliable data about the high-impact strategies they 

are currently or could be implementing and measures to track their progress. 

Tobacco Control State Highlights 2012 provides state-specific data for the following indicators: 

•	 Prevalence of tobacco use by demographic • State anti-tobacco media campaign 

characteristics among adults and youth exposure 

•	 Past year cigarette initiation • Medicaid coverage for cessation 

•	 Knowledge of the dangers of tobacco use counseling and medications 

•	 Exposure to secondhand smoke • State preemption of local advertising laws 

•	 Statewide smoke-free policy • State retail tobacco licensure policy 

•	 Households with no-smoking rules • Cigarette and smokeless excise tax 

•	 Percentage of smokers attempting to quit • Price paid for last cigarettes purchased 

•	 2011 state-specific smoking prevalence among adults ranges from a low of 11.8 percent in Utah to a high of 

29.0 percent in Kentucky. Across the states, the median adult prevalence rate was 21.2 percent. 

•	 Nationally, current cigarette smoking prevalence was 18.1% for high school students in 2011, ranging from 

5.9% in Utah to 24.1% in Kentucky across 44 states. Nationally, current cigarette smoking prevalence was 

lowest among non-Hispanic Asians, highest among males, and highest in 12th grade. 

•	 There are currently 26 states and D.C. that have passed comprehensive smoke-free laws. 

•	 While many local governments have implemented strong smoke-free laws, there are still twenty-four states 

that provide inadequate protection from secondhand smoke exposure. Today, six of these states – Kentucky, 

Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, West Virginia and Wyoming – have no statewide smoke-free policy of any 

kind in place to protect their citizens from secondhand smoke. 

•	 The national median for state cigarette taxes as of June 30, 2012 was $1.34. The range was from $4.35 per 

pack in New York to $0.17 per pack in Missouri. 

•	 As this report describes, no states were able to mount a media campaign in 2010 that fulfilled the CDC Best 

Practices media funding recommendation of 800 youth targeted rating points per quarter (80% of the 

audience reached with 10 exposures each), and only 9 states were able to meet the recommendation of 1,200 

general audience gross ratings points (80% of the audience reached with 15 exposures each) per quarter. 

•	 Combined interventions – increasing the price of tobacco products, implementing smoke-free policies, 

implementing mass media advertising campaigns, restricting tobacco advertising and promotion, controlling 

access to tobacco products, and promoting and assisting smokers to quit – are proven to significantly reduce 

smoking. 




